E90Post
 


Extreme Powerhouse
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > NA Engine (non-turbo) / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications > I cloned my MSV70 DME



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      11-21-2018, 09:22 AM   #2091
Jonas225
New Member
2
Rep
16
Posts

Drives: E92 335i
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Bavaria, Germany

iTrader: (0)

I compared ZB numbers: 8619230 (325i N53) and 8619306 (330i N53).

I THINK the power class byte is @ 43A14
According to NCSDummy, the 325i has "00" and 330i has "02".
Appreciate 0
      11-21-2018, 10:06 AM   #2092
hassmaschine
Major General
United_States
2940
Rep
6,133
Posts

Drives: "NBO" 330i
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: earth

iTrader: (0)

Seems likely - I don't see any where else that a value that could be the power class changed from 00 to 02.
Appreciate 0
      12-15-2018, 08:43 PM   #2093
Superwofy
New Member
1
Rep
15
Posts

Drives: E92 335i 0475
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Dublin, Ireland

iTrader: (0)

Hi Haas,

Do you have any idea where the power class byte would be in an IKM0S bin? This is the 1M MSD81 software.
Appreciate 0
      12-15-2018, 09:25 PM   #2094
nsjames
Colonel
905
Rep
2,112
Posts

Drives: 08 328xi Touring
Join Date: May 2017
Location: ohio

iTrader: (0)

big shout out to hass.

I put my vin number in the website and now I have files to do this 3IM swap next week.

fully awesome sir.
fully awesome.
Appreciate 0
      12-16-2018, 02:41 AM   #2095
bluewater328
Major
United_States
223
Rep
1,170
Posts

Drives: 2011 bluewater 328i LCI sedan
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Hawaii

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by nsjames View Post
big shout out to hass.

I put my vin number in the website and now I have files to do this 3IM swap next week.

fully awesome sir.
fully awesome.
So you're all set with testes DISA's?

Been prepping all my stuff and it's gonna go soon. Gonna do the silicone hose from the airbox while I'm there.

hassmaschine So the "stock" files are the ones we use to revert to stock tune, if needed? Cause I seem to have 2 of them in my project (and dont understand the difference). Hoping I wont need it, but just making sure.
Appreciate 0
      12-16-2018, 09:42 AM   #2096
vilord
Captain
193
Rep
757
Posts

Drives: 2007 328xiT, 2002 TT
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: boston

iTrader: (1)

^ i'm also curious about the stock files. unfortunately my '07 was totaled... i'll probably piece it back together as a beater for my gf's daughter, because it is still safer than most other things on the road, but i want to move the 3IM over to my '10 LCI, so I'll need to revert it back to the factory code.
Appreciate 0
      12-16-2018, 10:50 AM   #2097
nsjames
Colonel
905
Rep
2,112
Posts

Drives: 08 328xi Touring
Join Date: May 2017
Location: ohio

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by bluewater328 View Post
So you're all set with testes DISA's?

Been prepping all my stuff and it's gonna go soon. Gonna do the silicone hose from the airbox while I'm there.

hassmaschine So the "stock" files are the ones we use to revert to stock tune, if needed? Cause I seem to have 2 of them in my project (and dont understand the difference). Hoping I wont need it, but just making sure.
I need to order the gasket set and an ESS.

I've got quite the list of things to do over the holidays.
IM
valve cover
ESS
OFHG
and whatever breaks along the way.
Appreciate 0
      12-16-2018, 10:55 AM   #2098
hassmaschine
Major General
United_States
2940
Rep
6,133
Posts

Drives: "NBO" 330i
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: earth

iTrader: (0)

The stock files are for each program version that was available on your car. You can flash them, but have to match the 'softwareid' of your current program.

You can also flash a stock program if you want to use one that doesn't match the RSA delete, but it's not really needed.
Appreciate 0
      12-16-2018, 11:48 AM   #2099
nsjames
Colonel
905
Rep
2,112
Posts

Drives: 08 328xi Touring
Join Date: May 2017
Location: ohio

iTrader: (0)

so does the batch file make a backup of the existing software, or should I use bmw tools to do that?
Appreciate 0
      12-16-2018, 03:18 PM   #2100
rjahl
Lieutenant Colonel
rjahl's Avatar
610
Rep
1,695
Posts

Drives: Z4 35is
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Tampa

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2012 Z4 35is  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by nsjames View Post
so does the batch file make a backup of the existing software, or should I use bmw tools to do that?
If you are running stock files there is no reason to back them up. There are easily found in the "public" Daten files.
Appreciate 0
      12-16-2018, 07:28 PM   #2101
nsjames
Colonel
905
Rep
2,112
Posts

Drives: 08 328xi Touring
Join Date: May 2017
Location: ohio

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by rjahl View Post
If you are running stock files there is no reason to back them up. There are easily found in the "public" Daten files.
I suppose. but as I've never used winkfp to flash my junk, and my original file is still from 2007, a backup would be nice.

I come from the IT world. I backup things excessively.
Appreciate 0
      12-16-2018, 10:12 PM   #2102
rjahl
Lieutenant Colonel
rjahl's Avatar
610
Rep
1,695
Posts

Drives: Z4 35is
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Tampa

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2012 Z4 35is  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by nsjames View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by rjahl View Post
If you are running stock files there is no reason to back them up. There are easily found in the "public" Daten files.
I suppose. but as I've never used winkfp to flash my junk, and my original file is still from 2007, a backup would be nice.

I come from the IT world. I backup things excessively.
Just treat it like a MS windows update. There is no going back.

Seriously, don't need to save the old program or calibration file. They are easily available in the daten files. Nothing special about the software in your DME.
Appreciate 0
      12-18-2018, 07:56 AM   #2103
Terraphantm
Captain
191
Rep
687
Posts

Drives: E46 M3 Coupe
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: N/A

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by nsjames View Post
I suppose. but as I've never used winkfp to flash my junk, and my original file is still from 2007, a backup would be nice.

I come from the IT world. I backup things excessively.
If your car was ever at a dealership while under warranty, chances are itís updated.

Regardless, a backup doesnít do you a whole lot of good. The only bytes that are actually useful to backup are read protected - and that canít be bypassed without flashing a modified program.
Appreciate 0
      12-18-2018, 11:19 AM   #2104
hassmaschine
Major General
United_States
2940
Rep
6,133
Posts

Drives: "NBO" 330i
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: earth

iTrader: (0)

yeah, you wouldn't really be backing up anything. The 'backup' is just going to end up being an old ZB#, which you wouldn't want to flash anyway. When you put it back into the format used for flashing (0da), you're doing the same thing as flashing an updated ZB# (or one of the 330i files).

The only way to do a true backup is with boot mode, but that's not straight forward and requires soldering - probably riskier than just flashing it with WinKFP (which I have still yet to have an actual bricked MSV80 with, btw - and believe me, people have tried!).
Appreciate 1
      12-18-2018, 10:31 PM   #2105
Terraphantm
Captain
191
Rep
687
Posts

Drives: E46 M3 Coupe
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: N/A

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by hassmaschine View Post
yeah, you wouldn't really be backing up anything. The 'backup' is just going to end up being an old ZB#, which you wouldn't want to flash anyway. When you put it back into the format used for flashing (0da), you're doing the same thing as flashing an updated ZB# (or one of the 330i files).

The only way to do a true backup is with boot mode, but that's not straight forward and requires soldering - probably riskier than just flashing it with WinKFP (which I have still yet to have an actual bricked MSV80 with, btw - and believe me, people have tried!).
You can do a true backup without boot mode using my "exploits" - just can't restore it without boot mode (nor can you actually access boot mode without grabbing those keys in the first place).

I did manage to write a bad boot sector to one of mine before I knew how to recover the boot keys. But that technically wasn't a bad flash in the sense of the tool screwing up. I just wrote bad code.
Appreciate 0
      12-18-2018, 10:53 PM   #2106
hassmaschine
Major General
United_States
2940
Rep
6,133
Posts

Drives: "NBO" 330i
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: earth

iTrader: (0)

We're you able to force an erase though?

I did brick that one MSV80, but we were still hand editing 0da files and I made the checksum range 0xFFFFFFFF by accident.. lol

Still recovered it though.
Appreciate 0
      12-19-2018, 08:32 AM   #2107
Terraphantm
Captain
191
Rep
687
Posts

Drives: E46 M3 Coupe
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: N/A

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by hassmaschine View Post
We're you able to force an erase though?

I did brick that one MSV80, but we were still hand editing 0da files and I made the checksum range 0xFFFFFFFF by accident.. lol

Still recovered it though.
For one brick yes. This particular one I ended up overwriting the boot sector and it got stuck in a loop and wasnít responsive to any commands
Appreciate 0
      12-19-2018, 12:57 PM   #2108
nsjames
Colonel
905
Rep
2,112
Posts

Drives: 08 328xi Touring
Join Date: May 2017
Location: ohio

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Terraphantm View Post
If your car was ever at a dealership while under warranty, chances are itís updated.

Regardless, a backup doesnít do you a whole lot of good. The only bytes that are actually useful to backup are read protected - and that canít be bypassed without flashing a modified program.
none of my modules have been updated since 07, build date is 08/07 for an 08 model year.

I wanted to get the IM manifold on, the DME flashed and the 330 euro software in my trans controller before I attempted a full car update.
Appreciate 0
      12-19-2018, 01:23 PM   #2109
hassmaschine
Major General
United_States
2940
Rep
6,133
Posts

Drives: "NBO" 330i
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: earth

iTrader: (0)

If you do a 'full car update', it's just going to delete the tune. Best to do that first, also sometimes really old software causes issues when tuning.
Appreciate 0
      12-19-2018, 01:51 PM   #2110
nsjames
Colonel
905
Rep
2,112
Posts

Drives: 08 328xi Touring
Join Date: May 2017
Location: ohio

iTrader: (0)

I guess we'll figure that out next week.
Appreciate 0
      12-28-2018, 08:41 AM   #2111
nsjames
Colonel
905
Rep
2,112
Posts

Drives: 08 328xi Touring
Join Date: May 2017
Location: ohio

iTrader: (0)

got everything done yesterday. Had some slight issues with the batch file not copying files, but that may very well have been my win7 install and some permissions things.
I didn't feel confident in flashing it myself manually, so I just copied the files where the batch file wanted them and ran it.

worked flawlessly after that.
RSA delete took about 30 minutes.
328-330 file took about 5
hassmaschine is my hero.
Appreciate 1
      12-28-2018, 01:44 PM   #2112
hassmaschine
Major General
United_States
2940
Rep
6,133
Posts

Drives: "NBO" 330i
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: earth

iTrader: (0)

nice! is your BMW Tools installation in the default location? (C:\). Either that or you can run it as administrator.
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:41 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST