E90Post

Extreme Powerhouse

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BMW E90/E92/E93 3-series General Forums > General E90 Sedan / E91 Wagon / E92 Coupe / E93 Cabrio > 2007 335i Automatic Transmission Diagnosis

04-01-2015, 10:31 PM   #1
Psychedelic
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2007 335i Alpine White

2007 335i Automatic Transmission Diagnosis

Hi All, I am new to this subreddit but was curious to see if anyone could help me with my predicament. I inherited a 2007 E92 335i Coupe with a little over 100k miles on it as my first car awhile back (automatic transmission). I've tried to learn doing basic maintenance on it but being a student made anything more extremely hard.
Recently it has been lurching forward, sometimes off of lights if I accelerated, it would sound like it would rev up extremely hard and lurch forward multiple times, than continue to drive fine. It has been leaking what I want to say is oil on my garage for the last week but the oil levels indicated by the electronic dipstick seem great. Today on my drive home I had a "transmission failure" error (tiny sprocket message on the dashboard) and had to pull over, turn off the car, and restart it in order to make it home.
This is my first major problem with the car for almost 20,000 miles. I've replaced air filters and have done oil changes myself. I am willing to spend money to fix the car but would it be a good idea to sell the car? I am a full time college student working two jobs right now and I understand that the 2007 335i isn't exactly a reliable car, but I love it to death and I don't quite want to part ways with it but realistically want to see if I can afford to keep it for the future. I can answer any other questions but do you guys have any possible diagnosis for what is occurring?

Pictures of the leaking fluid
View post on imgur.com

Last edited by Psychedelic; 04-01-2015 at 10:39 PM..
Appreciate 0
      04-01-2015, 10:57 PM   #2
ryanm8
Rep
Drives: 2007 E92 335i