E90Post
 


 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > DIY Guides > DIY: E9X ACC Retrofit



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      04-02-2021, 07:25 AM   #265
hupchye
Private
hupchye's Avatar
Malaysia
50
Rep
88
Posts

Drives: 2010 BMW 320i E92
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: Malaysia

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Hi aeroshurik,

I see you are very good in coding. And I think there is nothing wrong with your coding.

Possible similar to my E92 320i N46N 4cyl Patrol engine, your E91 318d N47 4cyl Diesel engine may also has compatibility with DCC & ACC.

For my case (4cyl patrol engine), when coded with VO $541, everything works (SZL, cruise speed pointer, cruise speed display, ACC car in front sensing, set distance increase/decrease and DSC braking) EXCEPT cannot hold speed (cruise). No error at all.
I go very deep in order to find out the root of the problem by sniffing the PT-CAN, study CAN Bus ID commands. Finally confirmed is my DME (0x0AA) does not understand the cruise command from LDM (0x193).

I see your case looks more complex than mine. ie: when coded with VO $544, DSC no braking. Error D360 & D362 in DSC. From my experience of CAN Bus ID study, these 2 errors shows DSC does not receive Torque command ID (for braking as well) 0x0AC & 0x0B4 from DDE. The only way to know is by sniffing the PT-CAN using CAN Bus Sniffer. You may refer to my old thread #212 for CAN-Bus Sniffer DIY if you are interested.
Appreciate 0
      04-10-2021, 08:14 AM   #266
Broseff
New Member
3
Rep
7
Posts

Drives: 2010 335i M Sport xDrive
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Louisville, KY

iTrader: (0)

Edit: Took car on a test drive, ACC worked without error. Not sure why the code presents but system works.

Running into some similar, albeit different issues and wracking my brain. Hopefully someone smarter than I can help out here.

2010 E90 335xi

Retrofitted ACC (added LDM as well), tapped PT-CAN off FRM since I have adaptive headlights.

FA Write to CAS, NFRM, FRM, VO coded to BDSC, LDM, ACC, KOMBI, CIC.

Able to see LDM and ACC modules in NCSExpert when running UIF, no coding errors when writing VO. Presume this indicates PT CAN connections are sufficient.

Modules also appear correctly in ISTA.

When checking codes, receive CD96 - Message (torque request ACC, 0xB7) faulty, receiver DME, transmitter ACC. This also generates a 2DBE, DME: Active Cruise Control blocked for driving cycle.

The only thing I havent done is try to update firmware on the LDM or ACC (WinKFP issues), or conducted an alignment of the ACC. Dont feel its relevant since this appears to be a communication issue, but open to any insights.

Last edited by Broseff; 04-10-2021 at 01:04 PM.. Reason: Discovered reason
Appreciate 0
      04-21-2021, 09:24 PM   #267
hupchye
Private
hupchye's Avatar
Malaysia
50
Rep
88
Posts

Drives: 2010 BMW 320i E92
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: Malaysia

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Update :

I have cloned my own M2 with Arduino Due + 2x SN65HVD230 Can board (USD$20). It works with SavvyCAN.

I used it as Can bridge/repeater/injector (works on PT-Can) to manipulate/add CAN-ID 0x193, 0xAA & 0x200 data. But none of the code works !!
Attached Images
 
Appreciate 0
      05-03-2021, 09:59 AM   #268
hupchye
Private
hupchye's Avatar
Malaysia
50
Rep
88
Posts

Drives: 2010 BMW 320i E92
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: Malaysia

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Update :

aeroshurik and I have confirmed after so many trial ... ACC is neither work in 4-cyl BMW E9x patrol nor diesel engine due to their DME/DDE.

I have come out with a crazy workaround idea for my E92 ie: Replaced LDM with programmed M2 and act as translator between my DME, KOMBI, DSC & ACC.

By coding DME with VO $540, KOMBI and DSC with $541. So far success in 1st step - cruise speed works and KOMBI shows ACC display. Next step I am working on halt cruse speed in DME and DSC braking by ACC object sensing.

Hope it will work and move on to Stop+Go feature.
Attached Images
 
Appreciate 2
Nickco431142.00

      05-04-2021, 07:14 AM   #269
Aus335iguy
Colonel
Aus335iguy's Avatar
607
Rep
2,249
Posts

Drives: 2009 e92 335i MSport DCT
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Sydney Aus

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2009 BMW 335i  [5.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by hupchye View Post
Update :

aeroshurik and I have confirmed after so many trial ... ACC is neither work in 4-cyl BMW E9x patrol nor diesel engine due to their DME/DDE.

I have come out with a crazy workaround idea for my E92 ie: Replaced LDM with programmed M2 and act as translator between my DME, KOMBI, DSC & ACC.

By coding DME with VO $540, KOMBI and DSC with $541. So far success in 1st step - cruise speed works and KOMBI shows ACC display. Next step I am working on halt cruse speed in DME and DSC braking by ACC object sensing.

Hope it will work and move on to Stop+Go feature.
Awesome work!
__________________
When you doppelkaplung you doppel your fun.
Appreciate 0
      05-05-2021, 07:31 AM   #270
sono0312
Private First Class
sono0312's Avatar
5
Rep
103
Posts

Drives: E90 325i 2005
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Japan

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Broseff View Post
Edit: Took car on a test drive, ACC worked without error. Not sure why the code presents but system works.

Running into some similar, albeit different issues and wracking my brain. Hopefully someone smarter than I can help out here.

2010 E90 335xi

Retrofitted ACC (added LDM as well), tapped PT-CAN off FRM since I have adaptive headlights.

FA Write to CAS, NFRM, FRM, VO coded to BDSC, LDM, ACC, KOMBI, CIC.

Able to see LDM and ACC modules in NCSExpert when running UIF, no coding errors when writing VO. Presume this indicates PT CAN connections are sufficient.

Modules also appear correctly in ISTA.

When checking codes, receive CD96 - Message (torque request ACC, 0xB7) faulty, receiver DME, transmitter ACC. This also generates a 2DBE, DME: Active Cruise Control blocked for driving cycle.

The only thing I havent done is try to update firmware on the LDM or ACC (WinKFP issues), or conducted an alignment of the ACC. Dont feel its relevant since this appears to be a communication issue, but open to any insights.
now I have the same issue as the one you mentioned above (cd96, 2dbe). my case was that I changed FA to activate acc2 for retrofit of acc from dcc. but realized that acc2 sensor did not match with what my e90 was requested. then I gave up and put all the setting back to previous one which is dcc. however the error still persisted.

a memory reset does not help for cleanup. the dme (6bmot) default coding was not possible for some reasons. so I am still looking for the solution..
Appreciate 0
      05-07-2021, 02:31 AM   #271
hupchye
Private
hupchye's Avatar
Malaysia
50
Rep
88
Posts

Drives: 2010 BMW 320i E92
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: Malaysia

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Update :

One more step closer again, today successfully activated ACC sensing during CC on. The last step will be DSC braking.

It is really a challenge to break all these BMW CAN-id codes !!
Attached Images
 
Appreciate 1
Nickco431142.00

      05-07-2021, 03:02 AM   #272
sono0312
Private First Class
sono0312's Avatar
5
Rep
103
Posts

Drives: E90 325i 2005
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Japan

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by hupchye View Post
Update :

One more step closer again, today successfully activated ACC sensing during CC on. The last step will be DSC braking.

It is really a challenge to break all these BMW CAN-id codes !!
excellent work! the acc is working under 4-cylinder!!!
Appreciate 0
      05-07-2021, 03:24 AM   #273
hupchye
Private
hupchye's Avatar
Malaysia
50
Rep
88
Posts

Drives: 2010 BMW 320i E92
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: Malaysia

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by sono0312 View Post
now I have the same issue as the one you mentioned above (cd96, 2dbe). my case was that I changed FA to activate acc2 for retrofit of acc from dcc. but realized that acc2 sensor did not match with what my e90 was requested. then I gave up and put all the setting back to previous one which is dcc. however the error still persisted.

a memory reset does not help for cleanup. the dme (6bmot) default coding was not possible for some reasons. so I am still looking for the solution..
Hi ! Many Bimmer had problem to restore their CC after coding ACC, See forum thread #21 below.

https://www.1addicts.com/forums/show....php?t=1138536
Quote:
you could reverse it. You need to code $540 to cluster and DSC and then reset the 'Varianten Codierung' in the DME. After resetting, the car needs to go to sleep mode. (The light of the start button will switch off, when the car sleeps). After this $540 would work again.

Should be similar to your case.
But certain BMW model DME cannot find 'Varianten Codierung' in anywhere. aeroshurik and I found and solved by "ecu_config_reset" in Tool32. Since your DME is 6bmot then either is MSV70 or MSV80. And you can find "ecu_config_reset" in Tool32.
Attached Images
 
Appreciate 0
      05-07-2021, 03:35 AM   #274
aeroshurik
New Member
aeroshurik's Avatar
Germany
0
Rep
5
Posts

Drives: BMW 3er E91 318d
Join Date: Mar 2021
Location: Berlin

iTrader: (0)

LOESCHEN_KLI_FGR_VARIANTE could also be used to the same Purpose.

FGR - Abbriviation for FAHR GESCHWINDIGKEIT REGELUNG (Cruise Control in English).

The ECU_CONFIG_RESET is more powerful function compare to LOESCHEN_KLI_FGR_VARIANTE. but they both do the same job.

Some reference in German https://bimmerguide.de/acc-deaktivie...ren-exx-reihe/
Attached Images
 

Last edited by aeroshurik; 05-07-2021 at 04:15 AM..
Appreciate 0
      05-07-2021, 08:02 AM   #275
sono0312
Private First Class
sono0312's Avatar
5
Rep
103
Posts

Drives: E90 325i 2005
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Japan

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by hupchye View Post
Hi ! Many Bimmer had problem to restore their CC after coding ACC, See forum thread #21 below.

https://www.1addicts.com/forums/show....php?t=1138536
Quote:
you could reverse it. You need to code $540 to cluster and DSC and then reset the 'Varianten Codierung' in the DME. After resetting, the car needs to go to sleep mode. (The light of the start button will switch off, when the car sleeps). After this $540 would work again.

Should be similar to your case.
But certain BMW model DME cannot find 'Varianten Codierung' in anywhere. aeroshurik and I found and solved by "ecu_config_reset" in Tool32. Since your DME is 6bmot then either is MSV70 or MSV80. And you can find "ecu_config_reset" in Tool32.
thankyou for your advise. I performed the "ecu_config_reset" by Tool32. but could not remove the errors.

what I did was the one for vo set at 544 and the other set 541, and coded dcs and kombi for each. but it did not resolve the issue. (waited for 2 min until the start button light switched off)

Yes, the engine is 6bmot (msv70). I tried to find similar command but I was not able to find others including the one aeroshurik mentioned.
Appreciate 0
      05-07-2021, 08:26 AM   #276
hupchye
Private
hupchye's Avatar
Malaysia
50
Rep
88
Posts

Drives: 2010 BMW 320i E92
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: Malaysia

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by sono0312 View Post
thankyou for your advise. I performed the "ecu_config_reset" by Tool32. but could not remove the errors.

what I did was the one for vo set at 544 and the other set 541, and coded dcs and kombi for each. but it did not resolve the issue. (waited for 2 min until the start button light switched off)

Yes, the engine is 6bmot (msv70). I tried to find similar command but I was not able to find others including the one aeroshurik mentioned.
To restore $544 :
1) You need to disconnect LDM and ACC
2) Delete VO $541 in NCSExpert and add VO $544, FA_WRITE to CAS and NFRM, default coding DSC and KOMBI
3) "ecu_config_reset" in Tool32
Appreciate 0
      05-07-2021, 08:43 AM   #277
sono0312
Private First Class
sono0312's Avatar
5
Rep
103
Posts

Drives: E90 325i 2005
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Japan

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by hupchye View Post
To restore $544 :
1) You need to disconnect LDM and ACC
2) Delete VO $541 in NCSExpert and add VO $544, FA_WRITE to CAS and NFRM, default coding DSC and KOMBI
3) "ecu_config_reset" in Tool32
sorry I did not explain clearly. I tested tool32 in two states. the one for set at $541 just in case and then changed back to the original at $544, but no success at both. my e90 borne in 2005 that requires LDU for dcc connected.

I read other thread saying that "Once the ACC module is on the PT-CAN, the DME automatically changes the ACC variante to 1 or "true"." so what you suggested is true, only things I need is know the exact command that can change the variante to the right one. this is just my guess..
Appreciate 0
      05-07-2021, 10:05 AM   #278
hupchye
Private
hupchye's Avatar
Malaysia
50
Rep
88
Posts

Drives: 2010 BMW 320i E92
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: Malaysia

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by sono0312 View Post
sorry I did not explain clearly. I tested tool32 in two states. the one for set at $541 just in case and then changed back to the original at $544, but no success at both. my e90 borne in 2005 that requires LDU for dcc connected.

I read other thread saying that "Once the ACC module is on the PT-CAN, the DME automatically changes the ACC variante to 1 or "true"." so what you suggested is true, only things I need is know the exact command that can change the variante to the right one. this is just my guess..
In that case, probably is ur coding in LDM still remains in ACC.
Appreciate 0
      05-07-2021, 09:19 PM   #279
hupchye
Private
hupchye's Avatar
Malaysia
50
Rep
88
Posts

Drives: 2010 BMW 320i E92
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: Malaysia

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by sono0312 View Post
sorry I did not explain clearly. I tested tool32 in two states. the one for set at $541 just in case and then changed back to the original at $544, but no success at both. my e90 borne in 2005 that requires LDU for dcc connected.

I read other thread saying that "Once the ACC module is on the PT-CAN, the DME automatically changes the ACC variante to 1 or "true"." so what you suggested is true, only things I need is know the exact command that can change the variante to the right one. this is just my guess..
1) Do you see LDM module in NCSExpert during VO $544 coding ? or only see it in VO $541 coding ? ?
2) In LDM coding setting :
FAHRFUNKTION is in wert_01 (!ACC) or in wert_02 (ACC) ?
COD_KOMMUNIKATION_ACC is in aktiv or nicht_aktiv ?
Appreciate 0
      05-07-2021, 09:32 PM   #280
sono0312
Private First Class
sono0312's Avatar
5
Rep
103
Posts

Drives: E90 325i 2005
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Japan

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by hupchye View Post
1) Do you see LDM module in NCSExpert during VO $544 coding ? or only see it in VO $541 coding ? ?
2) In LDM coding setting :
FAHRFUNKTION is in wert_01 (!ACC) or in wert_02 (ACC) ?
COD_KOMMUNIKATION_ACC is in aktiv or nicht_aktiv ?
in ncsexpert, when it comes to ldm module writing, I need to change vo factory date to original #0305 because it is currently set to #0911 for cic retrofit reason. ldm is not able to be seen under higher factory date.
maybe do I need to change vo factory date to original #0305 and $544, then do the ecu config reset by tool32?

meanwhile, I will check the status of ldm by changing original #0305 and $544..
Appreciate 0
      05-07-2021, 11:08 PM   #281
hupchye
Private
hupchye's Avatar
Malaysia
50
Rep
88
Posts

Drives: 2010 BMW 320i E92
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: Malaysia

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by sono0312 View Post
in ncsexpert, when it comes to ldm module writing, I need to change vo factory date to original #0305 because it is currently set to #0911 for cic retrofit reason. ldm is not able to be seen under higher factory date.
maybe do I need to change vo factory date to original #0305 and $544, then do the ecu config reset by tool32?

meanwhile, I will check the status of ldm by changing original #0305 and $544..
Ya.. possible.
Appreciate 0
      05-08-2021, 01:17 AM   #282
sono0312
Private First Class
sono0312's Avatar
5
Rep
103
Posts

Drives: E90 325i 2005
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Japan

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by hupchye View Post
Ya.. possible.
I realized that the result of tool32 job was not a success and there was an error.
the sw ver of engine is MSV70.C03. I do not know if the sw ver is too old or there would be an another code instead of ecu_config_reset..
for some reason msv70(6bmot) does not accept the coding process by ncsexpert. can I attempt a flash of msv70 which may be a quite risky?

I just did a double click of "ecu_Config_reset".



also checked parameters in ldm that you recommended. apparently as I mentioned I need to change vo factory date to #0305 to see the module. when vo changed to each of them with default coding, the values are as follows.

<$541>
FAHRFUNKTION
wert_02
COD_KOMMUNIKATION_ACC
aktiv

<$544>
FAHRFUNKTION
wert_01
COD_KOMMUNIKATION_ACC
nicht_aktiv


meanwhile I have received a new acc radar and connected to car and recognized properly, did program with my fa. everything was a success.
even though the correct acc is connected the above error still persists.
I thing I need to tell is that I still have not install a proper stalk that can support acc. I will check a full performance once receive it.

Last edited by sono0312; 05-08-2021 at 02:29 AM..
Appreciate 0
      05-08-2021, 04:15 AM   #283
hupchye
Private
hupchye's Avatar
Malaysia
50
Rep
88
Posts

Drives: 2010 BMW 320i E92
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: Malaysia

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by sono0312 View Post
I realized that the result of tool32 job was not a success and there was an error.
the sw ver of engine is MSV70.C03. I do not know if the sw ver is too old or there would be an another code instead of ecu_config_reset..
for some reason msv70(6bmot) does not accept the coding process by ncsexpert. can I attempt a flash of msv70 which may be a quite risky?

I just did a double click of "ecu_Config_reset".



also checked parameters in ldm that you recommended. apparently as I mentioned I need to change vo factory date to #0305 to see the module. when vo changed to each of them with default coding, the values are as follows.

<$541>
FAHRFUNKTION
wert_02
COD_KOMMUNIKATION_ACC
aktiv

<$544>
FAHRFUNKTION
wert_01
COD_KOMMUNIKATION_ACC
nicht_aktiv


meanwhile I have received a new acc radar and connected to car and recognized properly, did program with my fa. everything was a success.
even though the correct acc is connected the above error still persists.
I thing I need to tell is that I still have not install a proper stalk that can support acc. I will check a full performance once receive it.
Hi,

For my case to restore back to $540 after coding $541, flashing DME did not work. Finally only done by "ecu_config_reset" in Tool32.
If Tool32 job error, normally either you did the job during engine On or wrong SGBD .prg file selected. The correct .prg you may look in INPA Identification SGBD for your DME.
Attached Images
 
Appreciate 1
      05-08-2021, 04:52 AM   #284
sono0312
Private First Class
sono0312's Avatar
5
Rep
103
Posts

Drives: E90 325i 2005
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Japan

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by hupchye View Post
Hi,

For my case to restore back to $540 after coding $541, flashing DME did not work. Finally only done by "ecu_config_reset" in Tool32.
If Tool32 job error, normally either you did the job during engine On or wrong SGBD .prg file selected. The correct .prg you may look in INPA Identification SGBD for your DME.
Hello,
at last, ecu_config_reset was successfully performed. the problem I did was as you mentioned I always engine-on when it comes to coding. this time I did with ignition-on instead of engine-on.
you are my savior indeed!
one question, the errors of acc related (cd96,2dbe) were not disappeared even the correct acc2 was connected. the issue faced was the one that may not happen in normal circumstance?
Appreciate 0
      05-08-2021, 05:02 AM   #285
hupchye
Private
hupchye's Avatar
Malaysia
50
Rep
88
Posts

Drives: 2010 BMW 320i E92
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: Malaysia

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by sono0312 View Post
Hello,
at last, ecu_config_reset was successfully performed. the problem I did was as you mentioned I always engine-on when it comes to coding. this time I did with ignition-on instead of engine-on.
you are my savior indeed!
one question, the errors of acc related (cd96,2dbe) were not disappeared even the correct acc2 was connected. the issue faced was the one that may not happen in normal circumstance?
I hv no idea ..
Appreciate 0
      05-09-2021, 09:55 PM   #286
hupchye
Private
hupchye's Avatar
Malaysia
50
Rep
88
Posts

Drives: 2010 BMW 320i E92
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: Malaysia

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Update progress :

1) To reprogram unuse buttons on Steering Wheel (replace ACC stalk) to increase/decrease distance setting in ACC and on KOMBI.
2) To enable On CC when car standstill. Prepare for Stop&Go.

Looks like if we understand the CAN-ID code functions, we can do whatever we want in our car ..
.
.
.
Attached Images
   
Appreciate 2
Nickco431142.00

Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:27 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST