E90Post
 


GetBMWParts
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > DIY Guides > My CIC Combox 6FL retrofit log (and DIY focused on coding)



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      03-16-2020, 11:15 AM   #89
SlimE92
Captain
SlimE92's Avatar
No_Country
147
Rep
891
Posts

Drives: E92 N54
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Queens NY

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by derbo View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by HRMendez View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by derbo View Post
I have the kremersino unit for Apple CarPlay.
Whats the audio connection between the unit and the vehicle? The ones I've seen are going over the aux connection.
The original unit I used was AUX and an external mic. The latest one they sell uses the combox Bluetooth audio for streaming and utilizes the factory BT for OE mic use. It's still a little wonky but they are confident they will be able to fix it in an update. They are from Shenzhen so the corona virus kinda halted them.
Quote:
Originally Posted by FaxData View Post
I've read your thread, looks very interesting! Worth the price though?
It's about $300-$400 for the module. I had to upgrade to combox too so add another $200-250 for parts and your awesome guide.

My goal was to have somewhat an OE like Apple CarPlay feel. It is very close to what it is like in my Honda Civic and I'm happy I don't have to have an android unit screen replacement just for Apple CarPlay.
Interesting..

If the audio gets routed through the combox rather than the aux port, then I will definitely pick one of these up for the car play.

Let's see how it evolves.
Appreciate 0
      03-17-2020, 12:19 PM   #90
FaxData
Private First Class
54
Rep
121
Posts

Drives: 2017 330e (F30)
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Southern California

iTrader: (0)

How seamless is the audio setup? Do you have to connect to CarPlay then switch the audio output on the phone manually?
Appreciate 0
      03-27-2020, 01:21 AM   #91
derbo
Derbo Tuning
derbo's Avatar
No_Country
1436
Rep
1,648
Posts

Drives: ▆▆
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: ▆▆▆ ▆▆▆ ▆

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by FaxData View Post
How seamless is the audio setup? Do you have to connect to CarPlay then switch the audio output on the phone manually?
Sometimes it switches correctly. Other times it doesn't and you manually have to switch it. They fixed the nbt version so it's a matter of time I hope.
__________________
-Derek
IG: @ruhrohz_m3
E90 OEM+
Appreciate 0
      03-27-2020, 02:17 PM   #92
FaxData
Private First Class
54
Rep
121
Posts

Drives: 2017 330e (F30)
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Southern California

iTrader: (0)

Gotcha. I also worry about not having a rear view camera, although maybe I could piggyback two units (rear view and CarPlay).
Appreciate 0
      03-29-2020, 03:20 AM   #93
derbo
Derbo Tuning
derbo's Avatar
No_Country
1436
Rep
1,648
Posts

Drives: ▆▆
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: ▆▆▆ ▆▆▆ ▆

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by FaxData View Post
Gotcha. I also worry about not having a rear view camera, although maybe I could piggyback two units (rear view and CarPlay).
The module can accept rear view camera directly or work with the diy OEM camera module. My brothers 335d has OEM style camera with a working CarPlay module.
__________________
-Derek
IG: @ruhrohz_m3
E90 OEM+
Appreciate 0
      03-29-2020, 04:09 PM   #94
FaxData
Private First Class
54
Rep
121
Posts

Drives: 2017 330e (F30)
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Southern California

iTrader: (0)

Nice! Maybe thisíll be a project for when the pandemic dies down.
Appreciate 2
derbo1435.50
SlimE92147.00

      04-01-2020, 02:23 PM   #95
SlimE92
Captain
SlimE92's Avatar
No_Country
147
Rep
891
Posts

Drives: E92 N54
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Queens NY

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by FaxData View Post
Nice! Maybe this’ll be a project for when the pandemic dies down.
Report back when you do
Appreciate 0
      04-04-2020, 02:20 PM   #96
Hackintosh
Registered
0
Rep
2
Posts

Drives: E93
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Cy

iTrader: (0)

Hello.after cic retrofit on e93 2008 i have this problem with service.can anyone of you help me?
Attached Images
 
Appreciate 0
      04-04-2020, 06:33 PM   #97
FaxData
Private First Class
54
Rep
121
Posts

Drives: 2017 330e (F30)
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Southern California

iTrader: (0)

Have you default coded all the modules? Maybe the I-level of your car isnít high enough? Has your car ever been dealer updated?
Appreciate 0
      04-05-2020, 07:12 AM   #98
Hackintosh
Registered
0
Rep
2
Posts

Drives: E93
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Cy

iTrader: (0)

I have not coded anything yet.i dont know about dealer update
Appreciate 0
      04-05-2020, 10:52 AM   #99
FaxData
Private First Class
54
Rep
121
Posts

Drives: 2017 330e (F30)
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Southern California

iTrader: (0)

Do all the coding first (at least the FA/VO default coding). Depending on what vehicle your headunit came out of, you can get some very strange behavior before coding. The unit needs to know how to behave in your car.
Appreciate 0
      05-24-2020, 11:06 AM   #100
bms5
Private
Canada
2
Rep
83
Posts

Drives: 2015 X5 35d, 2010 335d
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Vancouver, BC

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Album art question

Iím reading conflicting posts as to whether my 2010 335d that i just retrofitted a combox media to, can show me album art over BT. My streaming works fine from my iPhone X but Iím not getting album art even when plugged in to the console Y-cable.
Awesome DIY, FaxData! Thanks for all your work.
Appreciate 0
      05-25-2020, 09:20 PM   #101
FaxData
Private First Class
54
Rep
121
Posts

Drives: 2017 330e (F30)
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Southern California

iTrader: (0)

Album art should come up with USB connection, although itís been a while so Iím not sure if it requires bmw apps to work. I donít think so though. I would try updating your combox to the latest version.

Album art isnít available via Bluetooth at all, regardless of device. Itís just not part of the A2DP protocol.
Appreciate 0
      05-27-2020, 11:11 PM   #102
derbo
Derbo Tuning
derbo's Avatar
No_Country
1436
Rep
1,648
Posts

Drives: ▆▆
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: ▆▆▆ ▆▆▆ ▆

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by FaxData View Post
Album art should come up with USB connection, although it’s been a while so I’m not sure if it requires bmw apps to work. I don’t think so though. I would try updating your combox to the latest version.

Album art isn’t available via Bluetooth at all, regardless of device. It’s just not part of the A2DP protocol.
I noticed my combox crashes and reboots when I have the USB connection enabled with BMW apps running. I tried m laptimer and Spotify with same results. I thought it was interesting.
__________________
-Derek
IG: @ruhrohz_m3
E90 OEM+
Appreciate 0
      05-28-2020, 10:39 PM   #103
FaxData
Private First Class
54
Rep
121
Posts

Drives: 2017 330e (F30)
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Southern California

iTrader: (0)

Huh, every time? I havenít had that happen to me. I wonder if thereís something wrong with the combox itself. also, how do you know when the combox crashes? Itís not the CIC itself rebooting?
Appreciate 0
      06-05-2020, 04:47 AM   #104
Aus335iguy
Colonel
Aus335iguy's Avatar
557
Rep
2,098
Posts

Drives: 2009 e92 335i MSport DCT
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Sydney Aus

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2009 BMW 335i  [5.00]
So today with the help of the guide I finally patched and activated.
Theres a PDF mentioned and it was more in line with my version of fstool2.
The hardest part is finding the software. The forum that used to share the links is closed to all but paying members. You can still find what you need though it is hard to be sure that the software you'll get will work.

Thanks to the OP for a great guide !
__________________
When you doppelkaplung you doppel your fun.
Appreciate 0
      08-13-2020, 08:07 AM   #105
lordchadski
New Member
United Kingdom
0
Rep
6
Posts

Drives: BMW E93 325i Msport
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: Oxfordshire

iTrader: (0)

Hi, noob here.

Help please!

I understand that this is primarily coding based and my issue MAY be hardware...but following instructions to fit CIC as above.
I have fitted CIC which plays radio when you switch it on, CID however is just white; NCS can see both units and CID thinks it's in an E60 despite being default coded - is this the problem or have I skipped a vital step?

What have I missed?
Appreciate 0
      08-18-2020, 07:00 PM   #106
FaxData
Private First Class
54
Rep
121
Posts

Drives: 2017 330e (F30)
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Southern California

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by lordchadski View Post
Hi, noob here.

Help please!

I understand that this is primarily coding based and my issue MAY be hardware...but following instructions to fit CIC as above.
I have fitted CIC which plays radio when you switch it on, CID however is just white; NCS can see both units and CID thinks it's in an E60 despite being default coded - is this the problem or have I skipped a vital step?

What have I missed?
It sounds like your screen is damaged (or possibly incompatible although I'm not sure why it woudl be). To my knowledge, in the e90 you cannot code the CID nor should it need to be coded. Also check your LVDS cable; being able to see the screen in standard tools suggests that the canbus connection is good but that doesn't mean your video signal is reaching the screen.

Also other posters on this thread (and myself) have received units with damaged connectors due to rough disassembly. It's worth inspecting all of it for signs of physical damage.
Appreciate 0
      08-20-2020, 08:52 AM   #107
lordchadski
New Member
United Kingdom
0
Rep
6
Posts

Drives: BMW E93 325i Msport
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: Oxfordshire

iTrader: (0)

Thanks @FaxData

Finally I won!!!

Thanks for the DIY, and the assist. CIC and Combox fitted, coded and operational.

Turns out that the CIC I bought was not 100%. Swapped out for another (£££) CIC unit and BMW logo appeared in milliseconds.
All other steps followed, VERY happy with new toy

Cheers...

Quote:
Originally Posted by FaxData View Post
It sounds like your screen is damaged (or possibly incompatible although I'm not sure why it woudl be). To my knowledge, in the e90 you cannot code the CID nor should it need to be coded. Also check your LVDS cable; being able to see the screen in standard tools suggests that the canbus connection is good but that doesn't mean your video signal is reaching the screen.

Also other posters on this thread (and myself) have received units with damaged connectors due to rough disassembly. It's worth inspecting all of it for signs of physical damage.

Last edited by lordchadski; 08-23-2020 at 11:13 AM..
Appreciate 0
      08-25-2020, 11:01 PM   #108
FaxData
Private First Class
54
Rep
121
Posts

Drives: 2017 330e (F30)
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Southern California

iTrader: (0)

Thatís great, congrats and enjoy!
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:33 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST