Tirerack
Use the following links to go directly to useful tirerack winter items: Tirerack Winter Tires. Gary's Winter Tire FAQ.
Using the links directly supports E90Post with tirerack sales commision!

  E90Post
 


The Tire Rack

   PLEASE HELP SUPPORT E90POST BY DOING YOUR TIRERACK SHOPPING FROM THIS BANNER, THANKS!
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > Wheels and Tires Forum Sponsored by The Tire Rack > TPMS "Inactive"



Wheels and Tires forum Sponsored by The Tire Rack
Please help to directly support e90post by doing your tirerack shopping from the above link. For every sale made through the link, e90post gets sponsor support to keep the site alive. Disclaimer

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      01-05-2011, 12:33 PM   #1
nodabs
Registered
3
Rep
1
Posts

Drives: '07 335I
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Danville, Va

iTrader: (0)

TPMS "Inactive"

My '07 335I has started indicating the TPMS is 'Inactive'. I can reset it but within a short period it will fail again. I suspect that either a wheel sensor is bad or there is a problem with the antennas in the car. Is there a way to test the wheel sensors to find if one of them has failed. Oh, yes! I'm out of warranty. I'm running the oem wheels and the sensors that came in the wheels.

Last edited by nodabs; 01-05-2011 at 01:02 PM. Reason: added clarification
Appreciate 0
      03-02-2011, 07:38 PM   #2
JUSTIN335
.
JUSTIN335's Avatar
United_States
31
Rep
385
Posts

Drives: 2012 535i m-sport
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Carlsbad/Laguna Beach

iTrader: (1)

Just got the same problem today while driving. Im under warranty but if anyone knows a fix it would be better than driving to the dealership.
__________________
2012 F10 535i
2013 E70 X5M
2007 E92 335i - sold
Appreciate 0
      03-13-2011, 11:38 PM   #3
rollsISU
New Member
0
Rep
17
Posts

Drives: 2007 335i 6SPD Sedan
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Kansas City, MO

iTrader: (1)

I'm curious about this too. I've seen it a few times on cold days. It's been awhile so I can't say exactly how cold. Maybe in the 10-30F range. It's pretty infrequent so I doubt I'd have much luck if I took it to the dealership. I'm guessing they'd just tell me they didn't see any problem.
Appreciate 0
      03-14-2011, 12:48 AM   #4
itsbrokeagain
itsbrokeagain's Avatar
United_States
288
Rep
15,735
Posts

Drives: 1999 528iT, E53 X5, E46 325xi
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Strong Island

iTrader: (7)

Send a message via AIM to itsbrokeagain
Same issue with mine. I have to catch it when it's on to scan the car, as it decides to reset itself when you restart the car..
Appreciate 0
      03-18-2011, 01:12 AM   #5
335iseb
Lieutenant
335iseb's Avatar
7
Rep
427
Posts

Drives: 2008 335i
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Long Island

iTrader: (0)

My just came on now too on the way home from work today. Saying "Inactive."
Appreciate 0
      03-18-2011, 01:14 AM   #6
TXe92
Second Lieutenant
9
Rep
295
Posts

Drives: 2007 335i Coupe
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Keller TX

iTrader: (2)

+6
Appreciate 0
      03-18-2011, 07:36 AM   #7
E92M356789
El Jefe
E92M356789's Avatar
Venezuela
27
Rep
1,347
Posts

Drives: e30 325i
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: in Houston, but from Newark, NJ!

iTrader: (3)

I just installed my rims yesterday and I had brand new TPMS and still the light is there. I checked the tire pressure and its right, I reset while stopped and still the light is on.. My car is 07 335i, any other ideas???
Appreciate 0
      03-19-2011, 06:24 PM   #8
335iseb
Lieutenant
335iseb's Avatar
7
Rep
427
Posts

Drives: 2008 335i
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Long Island

iTrader: (0)

My seemed it fixed itself a day later. So far on day 2 with no inactive message anymore.
Appreciate 0
      03-21-2011, 02:01 PM   #9
JUSTIN335
.
JUSTIN335's Avatar
United_States
31
Rep
385
Posts

Drives: 2012 535i m-sport
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Carlsbad/Laguna Beach

iTrader: (1)

I just realized that mine will become inactive and then reset itself or start working again several times while I'm driving. It will say inactive when I start the car but if I check the control messages later it says no errors. It will break/work like 4 times within a continuous 1 hour drive.
__________________
2012 F10 535i
2013 E70 X5M
2007 E92 335i - sold
Appreciate 0
      03-21-2011, 03:57 PM   #10
vietmike101
Enlisted Member
2
Rep
36
Posts

Drives: 328i
Join Date: May 2010
Location: orange county

iTrader: (0)

does it say inactive when you start the car or when you reset the tmps setting?
Appreciate 0
      03-21-2011, 06:50 PM   #11
JUSTIN335
.
JUSTIN335's Avatar
United_States
31
Rep
385
Posts

Drives: 2012 535i m-sport
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Carlsbad/Laguna Beach

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by vietmike101 View Post
does it say inactive when you start the car or when you reset the tmps setting?
Sometimes right after starting or after driving for a while. Resetting doesn't do much since the error occurs randomly. It has happened almost immeadietly after resetting for me.
__________________
2012 F10 535i
2013 E70 X5M
2007 E92 335i - sold
Appreciate 0
      03-21-2011, 08:09 PM   #12
bmwfan1
Second Lieutenant
bmwfan1's Avatar
United_States
7
Rep
204
Posts

Drives: 335i
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Charleston

iTrader: (7)

Quote:
Originally Posted by vietmike101 View Post
does it say inactive when you start the car or when you reset the tmps setting?
Mine does the same thing in an 09 LCI. Cant reset or anything! WTFuck?
__________________
It's getting there...
Appreciate 0
      03-21-2011, 08:16 PM   #13
mid-corner fun
Major
United_States
57
Rep
1,467
Posts

Drives: M3
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: NE

iTrader: (5)

Happens to my '08 on very cold days, and with different sets of wheels. It doesn't seem to leave any codes behind (BT) which is annoying as I've gotten the "we don't see anything wrong" spiel from the dealership twice already.
Appreciate 0
      02-03-2012, 01:07 PM   #14
banky
First Lieutenant
14
Rep
348
Posts

Drives: 2007 335i e92
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Houston

iTrader: (1)

last super bump, but any solutions here? my car is doing something similar after getting the car back from the shop. they refinished the rim so im assuming they dismounted and then remounted the tire.

im getting TPMS inactive and when i try to reset, it just says on my screen: (non idrive)

[TPMS ICON]
INACTIVE
-> RESET
Appreciate 0
      05-24-2012, 03:19 PM   #15
acj75
First Lieutenant
acj75's Avatar
United_States
29
Rep
389
Posts

Drives: '07 E92 335i
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: DFW Texas

iTrader: (0)

Digging up an old thread here, but has anyone found a solution? My car is doing this now. It starts with a front right tire is low warning. After a reset or two it'll eventually show a tpms inactive message. I took it by Discount, and they inspected my front right tire. No trouble found.
__________________
'07 E92 BMW 335i
Appreciate 0
      05-24-2012, 08:16 PM   #16
EYE4SPEED
Ex-Diesel Driver
EYE4SPEED's Avatar
United_States
51
Rep
2,000
Posts

Drives: Audi SQ5
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: West Coast... of Michigan

iTrader: (22)

Did you try filling with a little air to change the pressures and then hit reset while the car is parked and on?
__________________
Appreciate 0
      05-25-2012, 02:30 PM   #17
bavarianx
Colonel
bavarianx's Avatar
United_States
177
Rep
2,103
Posts

Drives: 2006 X5 4.4i
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Orange County, CA

iTrader: (18)

Send a message via AIM to bavarianx
If you have an 07 its probably getting close to replacement time on your sensors.
Some tire shops have a tool, looks like this:



That shows battery life and if its functioning. The sensors last 5-7 years then the battery runs out..
Appreciate 0
      06-01-2012, 05:44 PM   #18
acj75
First Lieutenant
acj75's Avatar
United_States
29
Rep
389
Posts

Drives: '07 E92 335i
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: DFW Texas

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by bavarianx View Post
If you have an 07 its probably getting close to replacement time on your sensors.
Some tire shops have a tool, looks like this:



That shows battery life and if its functioning. The sensors last 5-7 years then the battery runs out..
You were correct. Took it back to Discount and the tool showed the battery was dead. They replaced it, and everything is good
__________________
'07 E92 BMW 335i
Appreciate 0
      06-04-2012, 07:57 PM   #19
bavarianx
Colonel
bavarianx's Avatar
United_States
177
Rep
2,103
Posts

Drives: 2006 X5 4.4i
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Orange County, CA

iTrader: (18)

Send a message via AIM to bavarianx
Usually when one goes they are all ready to go...

http://www.huf*********/HUF_BERU_RDE008_s/1520.htm

Last edited by bavarianx; 06-12-2012 at 04:48 PM.
Appreciate 0
      06-11-2012, 02:46 PM   #20
Kruz
Major
Kruz's Avatar
18
Rep
1,077
Posts

Drives: 335xi
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Chicagoland

iTrader: (4)

Garage List
Same problem here. Finally put on my summers and upon startup it says Inactive, but then goes away before I can reset.

Are the TPMS batteries replaceable and at what cost, or is there a need for a whole new TPMS?

Anyone have luck getting their warranty/extended warratny to cover this?
__________________
07/07 E90 335xi SG
Black Dakota|Alum|ZSP|2AB|ZPP|ZCW|Nav|CA|6FL|PDC|Blackli nes|3M
Summers: 235/40/18 265/35/18 Hankook Ventus V12 on VMR 701s
A/S: 225/40/18 255/35/18 Pirelli PZero Nero M+S on OEM 162s
Appreciate 0
      06-16-2012, 10:49 PM   #21
Gilda G
Private First Class
Gilda G's Avatar
United_States
44
Rep
170
Posts

Drives: M235i xdrive
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Just a Woman from Long island NY lol

iTrader: (2)

Woke up this morning with a flat rear tire so I brought the tire to a local shop and had it replaced. Mounted the tire back on the car now Im getting TPMS Malfunction then TPMS Inactive message.Did the reset in the idrive.. nothing happens just keep saying resetting for about 5 minutes. I went back to the tire shop they scan my tires and say all is working that its a faulty message and that i have a pound to much in the two front tires. He adjusts it for me and then the front left sensor go inactive on his screen. He said its bc of the pound over the allowed and that I have metal air caps instead of plastic. I find this very strange since everything was working fine until i replaced the flat rear tire. These sensors are about 14 months old can they go bad that fast or should I give it a few days and see if it reset before replacing them?
__________________
Current: 2015 BMW M235i Glacier Silver on Coral Red
35% tints, Gloss Black Roof, AFE Magnum Force Stage 2 Intake, AFE Power Scorcher, P3 Vent Gauge and Fabspeed muffler delete.
Appreciate 0
      06-16-2012, 10:57 PM   #22
Kruz
Major
Kruz's Avatar
18
Rep
1,077
Posts

Drives: 335xi
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Chicagoland

iTrader: (4)

Garage List
Anything's possible. Did you check the nut on the stem itself?
__________________
07/07 E90 335xi SG
Black Dakota|Alum|ZSP|2AB|ZPP|ZCW|Nav|CA|6FL|PDC|Blackli nes|3M
Summers: 235/40/18 265/35/18 Hankook Ventus V12 on VMR 701s
A/S: 225/40/18 255/35/18 Pirelli PZero Nero M+S on OEM 162s
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:31 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST