E90Post
 


GetBMWParts
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > Activating oil temp gauge...



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      03-21-2017, 05:15 PM   #89
Dtype
First Lieutenant
Portugal
18
Rep
370
Posts

Drives: BMW E91 320d 2007
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Lisbon

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Terraphantm View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dtype View Post
Can we find it? Maybe someone have damos of ours dde.
Or grab that 0xFF and then do a relay with other ID.
With a full dump it wouldn't be super difficult to find the section of code that deals with the CAN messages, but the trick would be flashing the modified software back to the DDE.

I suppose you can stick something in bewteen the Kombi and K-CAN bus and modify the message before it gets to the kombi.

Quote:
Originally Posted by giustyle View Post
yes the cluster looks for data that the DME/DDE broadcasts, but i think that we can change address on kombi and komby looks water temp in dde

Sorry to my english
That's not NCS configurable. Might be possible to write custom software for the kombi (which would require an RSA defeat), but at that point you might as well just hack the DDE.
My first ideia was a can blocker to send a message with oil temp id.
Just need to know oil temp Id and engine coolant temp I'd.
Appreciate 0
      03-21-2017, 05:50 PM   #90
Terraphantm
Captain
178
Rep
609
Posts

Drives: E46 M3 Coupe
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: N/A

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dtype View Post
My first ideia was a can blocker to send a message with oil temp id.
Just need to know oil temp Id and engine coolant temp I'd.
They're both broadcast on the same ID (0x1D0). Byte 0 is coolant temp (x-48 = șC), byte 1 is oil temp (same formula)
Appreciate 1
Mik325tds595.00

      03-22-2017, 03:46 AM   #91
Dtype
First Lieutenant
Portugal
18
Rep
370
Posts

Drives: BMW E91 320d 2007
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Lisbon

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Terraphantm View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dtype View Post
My first ideia was a can blocker to send a message with oil temp id.
Just need to know oil temp Id and engine coolant temp I'd.
They're both broadcast on the same ID (0x1D0). Byte 0 is coolant temp (x-48 = ÂșC), byte 1 is oil temp (same formula)
Thanks! So, need to read from 0xFF and create a new one with 0x1D0. Do you think it's possible? Can you paste here a copy of a messege with those Id's?
Appreciate 0
      03-22-2017, 09:42 AM   #92
Terraphantm
Captain
178
Rep
609
Posts

Drives: E46 M3 Coupe
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: N/A

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dtype View Post
Thanks! So, need to read from 0xFF and create a new one with 0x1D0. Do you think it's possible? Can you paste here a copy of a messege with those Id's?
No, there is no message 0xFF.

Here's an example of message 0x1D0 from an E60 535xi:

Code:
ARBID	B0	B1	B2	B3	B4	B5	B6	B7
1D0	93	81	62	bd	32	45	0d	84
B0 is coolant temperature, B1 is oil temperature. In this case, coolant temperature is 99șC and oil temperature is 81șC.

In the case of the diesel cars, BMW hard coded B1 to FF.
Appreciate 1
Mik325tds595.00

      03-22-2017, 10:34 AM   #93
Sensible_
Lieutenant Colonel
320
Rep
1,842
Posts

Drives: 2008 E90
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: London

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Terraphantm View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dtype View Post
Thanks! So, need to read from 0xFF and create a new one with 0x1D0. Do you think it's possible? Can you paste here a copy of a messege with those Id's?
No, there is no message 0xFF.

Here's an example of message 0x1D0 from an E60 535xi:

Code:
ARBID	B0	B1	B2	B3	B4	B5	B6	B7
1D0	93	81	62	bd	32	45	0d	84
B0 is coolant temperature, B1 is oil temperature. In this case, coolant temperature is 99șC and oil temperature is 81șC.

In the case of the diesel cars, BMW hard coded B1 to FF.
I would imagine the easiest way to do this would be to change KOMBI pointer to coolant temp rather than oil. That's great info, just caught up on this thread.
Appreciate 1
Mik325tds595.00

      03-22-2017, 10:58 AM   #94
Terraphantm
Captain
178
Rep
609
Posts

Drives: E46 M3 Coupe
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: N/A

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sensible_ View Post
I would imagine the easiest way to do this would be to change KOMBI pointer to coolant temp rather than oil. That's great info, just caught up on this thread.
How do you plan to do that? As far as I can tell, that isn't configurable.
Appreciate 0
      03-22-2017, 11:00 AM   #95
Sensible_
Lieutenant Colonel
320
Rep
1,842
Posts

Drives: 2008 E90
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: London

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Terraphantm View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sensible_ View Post
I would imagine the easiest way to do this would be to change KOMBI pointer to coolant temp rather than oil. That's great info, just caught up on this thread.
How do you plan to do that? As far as I can tell, that isn't configurable.
I'm sifting through some dissambled KOMBI code at the moment.
Appreciate 1
Mik325tds595.00

      03-22-2017, 03:23 PM   #96
Dtype
First Lieutenant
Portugal
18
Rep
370
Posts

Drives: BMW E91 320d 2007
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Lisbon

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Terraphantm View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dtype View Post
Thanks! So, need to read from 0xFF and create a new one with 0x1D0. Do you think it's possible? Can you paste here a copy of a messege with those Id's?
No, there is no message 0xFF.

Here's an example of message 0x1D0 from an E60 535xi:

Code:
ARBID	B0	B1	B2	B3	B4	B5	B6	B7
1D0	93	81	62	bd	32	45	0d	84
B0 is coolant temperature, B1 is oil temperature. In this case, coolant temperature is 99șC and oil temperature is 81șC.

In the case of the diesel cars, BMW hard coded B1 to FF.
But I can grab that message and send for example b1 info the same as b0.
Do you know all the bytes meaning?
Appreciate 0
      03-26-2017, 01:48 PM   #97
_TB_
Lieutenant
115
Rep
435
Posts

Drives: E91 325d Touring
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Denmark

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sensible_ View Post
I'm sifting through some dissambled KOMBI code at the moment.
If you by chance stumble upon the activator for "Motorsport" display - specifically how we can enable it despite having no DCT. I really like the layout with the big "current gear indicator" - but it throws an error due to not having a DCT.
Appreciate 0
      03-26-2017, 05:15 PM   #98
6ixSpd
Save the manuals!
6ixSpd's Avatar
Canada
2440
Rep
4,070
Posts

Drives: '12 M3 6MT, '09 328i 6MT
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: 416

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by _TB_ View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sensible_ View Post
I'm sifting through some dissambled KOMBI code at the moment.
If you by chance stumble upon the activator for "Motorsport" display - specifically how we can enable it despite having no DCT. I really like the layout with the big "current gear indicator" - but it throws an error due to not having a DCT.
I doubt this is possible as the M3 and non-M actually use different clusters. The M3 clusters have different central layouts and have a few different backlit warnings/display indicators as well.
__________________
'12 M3 6MT Alpine White + Fox Red Extended | '09 328i 6MT Space Gray + Saddle Brown

Appreciate 0
      03-27-2017, 04:41 AM   #99
giustyle
New Member
0
Rep
8
Posts

Drives: Bmw e91 lci
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Roma

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by _TB_ View Post
If you by chance stumble upon the activator for "Motorsport" display - specifically how we can enable it despite having no DCT. I really like the layout with the big "current gear indicator" - but it throws an error due to not having a DCT.

the only way is flash ALPINA steptronic but you need N47 or N54/55 motor.
Appreciate 0
      03-28-2017, 01:25 PM   #100
_TB_
Lieutenant
115
Rep
435
Posts

Drives: E91 325d Touring
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Denmark

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by giustyle View Post
the only way is flash ALPINA steptronic but you need N47 or N54/55 motor.
I'm not talking about the normal gear indicator - which is easy to get, also without the Alpina TCU flash.

I'm talking about the enlarged "D1..D6" "P" "N" - like in the video in this thread: http://www.e90post.com/forums/showth...ght=motorsport
Appreciate 0
      03-31-2017, 04:56 AM   #101
cypis007
Private
Poland
0
Rep
81
Posts

Drives: E91 318d Touring
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Capital

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yngvejos View Post
Thanks for this great info.
Just coded my 05 325i to show oil temp. 0 = 50C, 5 = 75C, 10 = 100C, 15 = 125C, 20 = 175C.
Have you been using Sensible_'s method with nettodat file or tool32 from pdf ?
Appreciate 0
      04-20-2017, 09:49 AM   #102
giustyle
New Member
0
Rep
8
Posts

Drives: Bmw e91 lci
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Roma

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sensible_ View Post
I'm sifting through some dissambled KOMBI code at the moment.

In m3 cluster is present this address to RedLine marker:

0x3104 - Redline Marker

this redline is variable on Water Temperature.. i think that is possibile read address on line 0020 (remember 6F Oil temp, 6E KVA, XX Water temp?? )

it's a good idea?

@Sensible_ can you check it on your m3 cluster?

Thanks a lot
Appreciate 0
      04-20-2017, 11:56 AM   #103
Terraphantm
Captain
178
Rep
609
Posts

Drives: E46 M3 Coupe
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: N/A

iTrader: (1)

DME controls the redline marker.
Appreciate 0
      04-20-2017, 12:00 PM   #104
giustyle
New Member
0
Rep
8
Posts

Drives: Bmw e91 lci
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Roma

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Terraphantm View Post
DME controls the redline marker.
DME controls with water temp..
Appreciate 0
      04-20-2017, 12:01 PM   #105
Terraphantm
Captain
178
Rep
609
Posts

Drives: E46 M3 Coupe
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: N/A

iTrader: (1)

DME commands the cluster to set it to a specific RPM (and that set point is based on oil temp anyway). The cluster doesn't have any real logic for it.
Appreciate 0
      04-21-2017, 02:43 AM   #106
Yngvejos
Private
Yngvejos's Avatar
19
Rep
91
Posts

Drives: E91 325i, E30 325i
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Norway

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by cypis007 View Post
Have you been using Sensible_'s method with nettodat file or tool32 from pdf ?


I followed the pdf guide and used tool32.
__________________
Yngvejos.
2005 E91 325i
Appreciate 0
      04-21-2017, 06:35 AM   #107
giustyle
New Member
0
Rep
8
Posts

Drives: Bmw e91 lci
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Roma

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Terraphantm View Post
DME commands the cluster to set it to a specific RPM (and that set point is based on oil temp anyway). The cluster doesn't have any real logic for it.


mmhh.. I knew that DME not commands nothing, but the cluster READ parameter from dme (oil temp, water temp, ecc..)
In the canbus travel varius information and important that cluster read correct
Appreciate 0
      04-21-2017, 12:47 PM   #108
Terraphantm
Captain
178
Rep
609
Posts

Drives: E46 M3 Coupe
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: N/A

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by giustyle View Post
mmhh.. I knew that DME not commands nothing, but the cluster READ parameter from dme (oil temp, water temp, ecc..)
In the canbus travel varius information and important that cluster read correct
Look I know what I'm talking about, you're wrong about how the RPM warning field is controlled. The DME has its own logic and sends the target RPM over the bus. Yes, the cluster reads the coolant temperature and oil temperature, but it does not use these to set the variable redline.

From what I can tell, the set point is sent on message 0x332

Last edited by Terraphantm; 04-21-2017 at 01:00 PM.
Appreciate 1
_TB_114.50

      04-22-2017, 09:55 PM   #109
Sensible_
Lieutenant Colonel
320
Rep
1,842
Posts

Drives: 2008 E90
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: London

iTrader: (1)

Why are we talking about VWF now? VWF is different I think. It's easy to hijack via the KOMBI. For instance, I have set it on my 330d so that when inpushbstart button for ignition the redline rises to 5000rpm and then when ignition is turned off the redline drops back to the home position. I set it not to change on the diesel with temp. Just my preference. It's easy to change with nettodat.
Appreciate 0
      04-25-2017, 10:13 PM   #110
robnitro
First Lieutenant
37
Rep
330
Posts

Drives: x5 35d e70 2011
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: NYC area

iTrader: (0)

So on the diesel dde, we can activate the rpm limit? From what I read here the us 35d dde is different in some ways but I'd like to try it.
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:26 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST