E90Post

Studio RSR

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > Top engine bath.

06-27-2013, 12:59 PM   #1
j1gilles
Captain
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2009 335xi

Top engine bath.

-So way back when I was a GM master tech and I had a 96 Cadillac STS. The Northstar was a pretty complex engine (for it's time) and it also had many issues. One of those issues was valvetrain/intake carbon build up that caused issues like: missfires, valves sticking and cam lobe wear. To remedy this I started doing an "intake service" on my car every 10K. Basically you would start the car and pull a vacuum line of the intake and suck down a bottle of GM Top Engine Cleaner while raising the RPM's to around 2,500. After the bottle was empty you would shut the car off and let it sit for 5 + hours. Then you would start it up and go beat on it for a while. I pulled my engine apart at 75k to do the famous Northstar headgaskets (FML at that time) and the valves, intake and tops of the pistons looked almost new! I had pulled apart many of these engines and mine by a large margin was the cleanest...

-I know the N54 is nothing like a Northstar and is a DI engine but I wonder if running a bottle of top engine cleaner at the same interval would yeild any benifits? I currently run meth so I was thinking of just using it to spray the cleaner while reving to around 4k. My only concern would be hydrolock because the top engine cleaner is not as combustable as meth. I made a simple meth pump controller to activate and regulate pump speed to hopefully reduce the risk of pushing a rod out the side of the block.