E90Post
 


The Tire Rack
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > ISTA works on E92 but not on E46?



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      05-28-2021, 05:53 PM   #1
E92_William
Captain
E92_William's Avatar
United_States
1031
Rep
779
Posts

Drives: 2008 BMW 328xi
Join Date: Apr 2021
Location: South Florida

iTrader: (0)

ISTA works on E92 but not on E46?

I downloaded a massive 82GB version of ISTA that was supposedly install and run and it installed and works perfectly one click it's supposedly ISTA+ (C). I think it might be a stand-alone version.

I can do everything on the E92 but it can't even recognize the E46.. INPA works perfectly fine on the E46. I have the bimmergeeks cable and have tried with the switch to both sides without luck. Any ideas? Maybe I have to edit the ediabas.ini or something like that?

Mainly just want it to work so I can get troubleshooting steps from the test plans there for the E46. And it seems I can't get that without scanning for codes..
Attached Images
 
__________________
Airplane Mechanic
BMW Masochist
Appreciate 0
      05-29-2021, 12:09 PM   #2
gbalthrop
Colonel
1442
Rep
2,903
Posts

Drives: 2007 328xi E91
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Fairfax County, Virginia

iTrader: (0)

My SWAG:
If INPA works correctly (You can SEE ALL MODULES using Functional Jobs > F2 Identification) on both E46 and E92, then it has DATENS files for both chassis in EDIABAS folder.
If ISTA gives you Control Unit Tree or List for E92 when connected, but NOT for E46, then the "Standalone" version of ISTA+ you are using does NOT have necessary DATENS files, and does NOT access them in EDIABAS Folder.

Are you using the version of INPA that is linked on the BimmerGeeks Downloads page? What Datens files did you download? E89 ONLY, or also E46?

If INPA can identify ALL Modules in either vehicle using "Functional Jobs", then I would install the MEGA download (9.98 GB Zipped) that BimmerGeeks used to link on their Downloads page. Works fine for me on E91, using 4.51 GB E89 Datens. Don't have E46 or its Datens, but ASSume same would apply for it.
George
Appreciate 0
      05-30-2021, 12:05 PM   #3
E92_William
Captain
E92_William's Avatar
United_States
1031
Rep
779
Posts

Drives: 2008 BMW 328xi
Join Date: Apr 2021
Location: South Florida

iTrader: (0)

Both cars work fine with F2 on INPA. However I can't get to the control unit tree on the e46 like I can on e92 since it doesn't identify the vehicle. I'm running the INPA from bimmergeeks yes aswell as have all their SP Datens downloaded. I have them in a separate folder in Downloads. Which folder should I drop them into? Or is there a procedure to update ISTA with these daten files? I recall previously updating my WINKFP with the E89 datens using Coding Tool 2.5.0 to be able to flash cars with bimmerlabs.
Appreciate 0
      05-30-2021, 12:36 PM   #4
E92_William
Captain
E92_William's Avatar
United_States
1031
Rep
779
Posts

Drives: 2008 BMW 328xi
Join Date: Apr 2021
Location: South Florida

iTrader: (0)

I was able to kind of get into the control unit tree by entering the entire vin and somehow it gave me the option to begin vehicle test and only showed DME.. at least I can use the test plan for that now. Still it's not identifying the car normally at all or reading other modules.

I tried updating winkfp with my sp datens and coding tool 2.5 and nothing changed

View post on imgur.com
Appreciate 0
      05-30-2021, 01:37 PM   #5
gbalthrop
Colonel
1442
Rep
2,903
Posts

Drives: 2007 328xi E91
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Fairfax County, Virginia

iTrader: (0)

I have NO IDEA how the "One-click-install" version of ISTA you have works. If it correctly interfaces with ALL modules on E90 but NOT E46, that suggests a "Datens issue" with the 1-click ISTA install. If the "source" for the ISTA Download can't be consulted, it would be easier to delete that version and install the "formerly-linked-by-BimmerGeeks" ISTA+ version found here:
https://mega.nz/file/a1wUmYCD#G0C3_H...o9uQ4EpxjI8oZs

As I understand, THAT version of ISTA requires a functioning installation of INPA BEFORE installing ISTA. I installed BMW Standard Tools/INPA months before installing ISTA, and ONLY installed ISTA after the October 2020 closure of NewTIS (I had downloaded the 9.98 GB Zipped Folder a year earlier, but NEVER installed it).

When you "UnZip" the compressed folder, a txt file with one page of installation instructions appears. Just follow that, and please let us know how it goes.

Another thing just occurred to me:
My ISTA installation will allow me to search & read "Documents" such as SSP wiring diagrams. I just enter Last-7 characters of VIN, program identifies vehicle type (Production Date, Engine, Trans, etc.) and provides documents for THAT specific vehicle, such as correct fuse numbers, etc.

That works for ANY E9x model for which I have tried it, several dozen different VIN-7's provided by others. It's in the Software on HD, and does NOT require connection to vehicle. It even works on my Desktop, that has never been connected to any vehicle (my BG K+DCAN cable is only ~ 5' ;-)

If your ISTA install allows you to search & read documents for your E92, but NOT for E46, that would be further indication of lack of Datens reference. As stated above I have NO Clue HOW one would/could add E46 Datens to your current installation.

George
Appreciate 0
      05-31-2021, 10:09 AM   #6
ctuna
Lieutenant General
1552
Rep
12,114
Posts

Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca

iTrader: (0)

If you look on Joker's free software link you can see the sizes of
Ista varry quite a bit. There are some that are absolutely huge.
Don't know if this is because the newer ones have Ista p integrated
or that they cover all models anybody know?
Appreciate 0
      08-21-2021, 10:51 AM   #7
E92_William
Captain
E92_William's Avatar
United_States
1031
Rep
779
Posts

Drives: 2008 BMW 328xi
Join Date: Apr 2021
Location: South Florida

iTrader: (0)

Well updating this a bit since last time. Now the car has random DSC issues where it brakes one wheel randomly so want to be able to read it with ISTA

I tried looking up information for the car with the VIN put in and indeed I am able to get all the walkthroughs for service and fuses and such so I assume the datens are there.. No idea where I would go next though because it seems it just doesn't connect to it
Attached Images
 
Appreciate 0
      08-22-2021, 06:29 PM   #8
E92_William
Captain
E92_William's Avatar
United_States
1031
Rep
779
Posts

Drives: 2008 BMW 328xi
Join Date: Apr 2021
Location: South Florida

iTrader: (0)

Downloaded the bimmergeeks ISTA and same issue. No dice getting it to identify the E46 or connect to it. Also won't connect to any other modules than DME and EGS on inpa
__________________
Airplane Mechanic
BMW Masochist
Appreciate 0
      08-23-2021, 03:41 PM   #9
EvaBmw
Captain
EvaBmw's Avatar
248
Rep
639
Posts

Drives: BMW E90 325i E61 LCI
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Australia

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by E92_William View Post
Downloaded the bimmergeeks ISTA and same issue. No dice getting it to identify the E46 or connect to it. Also won't connect to any other modules than DME and EGS on inpa
I had the same issue a few weeks ago. Bought an e46 330i and ISTA wouldn't work with it. I got it to work by using a different cable. My k+dcan one didn't work but my old dcan one did.
Appreciate 0
      08-27-2021, 08:32 AM   #10
bubarak
Private
7
Rep
54
Posts

Drives: BMW E91
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Bulgaria

iTrader: (0)

if you use kdcan cable you should use cable with most 7 & 8 pin for old modules like e46
Appreciate 0
      08-27-2021, 09:45 AM   #11
E92_William
Captain
E92_William's Avatar
United_States
1031
Rep
779
Posts

Drives: 2008 BMW 328xi
Join Date: Apr 2021
Location: South Florida

iTrader: (0)

The cable has the switch for pin 7 and 8 and I have tested the switch works with a multimeter it does indeed bridge and open them.
__________________
Airplane Mechanic
BMW Masochist
Appreciate 0
      11-07-2021, 09:48 PM   #12
E92_William
Captain
E92_William's Avatar
United_States
1031
Rep
779
Posts

Drives: 2008 BMW 328xi
Join Date: Apr 2021
Location: South Florida

iTrader: (0)

Thought I would update this and even though this is an E9x forum maybe someone else will find it and use it.

This E46 is an early car so turns out BMW put in it an OBD2 port under the dash which reads DME and EGS and also it has a 32 pin connector under the hood that reads everything else…

I thought this was either or and that the 32 pin was for the E36, also never ran into this information up until now. Proceeded to bridge the 32 pin and now have full functionality through the OBD port. I can't believe how ridiculous it is that the car has this port under the hood while also having one under the dash, it has to have thrown off many techs in the past too.

Either way it took me spending 60 bucks on PaSoft to find out it wasn't a software or cable issue but the fact I didn't know the E46 had this connector. Definitely not feeling the smartest right now
Attached Images
  
__________________
Airplane Mechanic
BMW Masochist
Appreciate 0
      11-10-2021, 11:29 PM   #13
Cubieman
Enlisted Member
21
Rep
39
Posts

Drives: 2004 E46 M3, 2007 335i e92
Join Date: Nov 2021
Location: Nebraska

iTrader: (0)

This is quite specific, but for ISTA to perform a VANOS test on an E46 M3 one must have an ICOM, KDCAN will not work. Haven't gotten into ISTA much but as I understand for the M3 one needs an ICOM.

I still use DIS for my VANOS test, slow as all hell, but does work.
Appreciate 0
      01-07-2022, 08:24 AM   #14
John the Hat
New Member
2
Rep
9
Posts

Drives: BMW 325 SE
Join Date: Dec 2021
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by E92_William View Post
Thought I would update this and even though this is an E9x forum maybe someone else will find it and use it.

This E46 is an early car so turns out BMW put in it an OBD2 port under the dash which reads DME and EGS and also it has a 32 pin connector under the hood that reads everything else…

I thought this was either or and that the 32 pin was for the E36, also never ran into this information up until now. Proceeded to bridge the 32 pin and now have full functionality through the OBD port.:
When you say you "bridged the 32 pin" can you be a bit more specific ?
Appreciate 0
      01-10-2022, 01:04 PM   #15
dpaul
Lieutenant Colonel
United_States
591
Rep
1,847
Posts

Drives: 2009 E90 335xi, 2011 E93 M3
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Boston

iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by John the Hat View Post
When you say you "bridged the 32 pin" can you be a bit more specific ?
Just for clarification, it's a 20 pin connector in the engine compartment - BMW calls it the diagnostic connector (as opposed to the OBDII connector under the dashboard).

For some reason, BMW separated the K lines for the DME from the other module and brought them to two different pins in the diagnostic connector but only brough one of them to the ODBII connector. So you bridge them in the diagnostic connector and the single pin on the OBDII connector gets signal from both.

To avoid doing any soldering, you can buy this adapter for $13 (I think)
https://www.amazon.com/Elandpower-S-...79380780&psc=1

Otherwise, you'll want to bridge pins 17 and 20. If you look inside the screw-on cap of the diagnostic connector there will be a little insert with 5 pins - for a permanent solution you can solder a wire between the pins that correspond to 17 and 20. Or just stick a wire in the pin receivers in the socket.
Attached Images
 

Last edited by dpaul; 02-16-2022 at 05:21 AM..
Appreciate 0
      01-20-2022, 10:54 AM   #16
John the Hat
New Member
2
Rep
9
Posts

Drives: BMW 325 SE
Join Date: Dec 2021
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Thanks

Quote:
Originally Posted by dpaul View Post
Just for clarification, it's a 20 pin connector in the engine compartment - BMW calls the diagnostic connector (as opposed to the OBDII connector under the dashboard).

For some reason, BMW separated the K lines for the DME from the other module and brought them to two different pins in the diagnostic connector but only brough one of them to the ODBII connector. So you bridge them in the diagnostic connector and the single pin on the OBDII connector gets signal from both.

To avoid doing any soldering, you can buy this adapter for $13 (I think)
https://www.amazon.com/Elandpower-S-...79380780&psc=1

Otherwise, you'll want to bridge pins 17 and 20. If you look inside the screw-on cap of the diagnostic connector there will be a little insert with 5 pins - for a permanent solution you can solder a wire between the pins that correspond to 17 and 20. Or just stick a wire in the pin receivers in the socket.
Thanks for that. Very clear.
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:14 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST