Tirerack
Use the following links to go directly to useful tirerack winter items: Tirerack Winter Tires. Gary's Winter Tire FAQ.
Using the links directly supports E90Post with tirerack sales commision!

  E90Post
 


The Tire Rack

   PLEASE HELP SUPPORT E90POST BY DOING YOUR TIRERACK SHOPPING FROM THIS BANNER, THANKS!
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > Wheels and Tires Forum Sponsored by The Tire Rack > Tire Pressure Warning Won't Go Away - e90 pre LCI



Wheels and Tires forum Sponsored by The Tire Rack
Please help to directly support e90post by doing your tirerack shopping from the above link. For every sale made through the link, e90post gets sponsor support to keep the site alive. Disclaimer

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      07-10-2014, 08:26 AM   #1
mmurray
Second Lieutenant
mmurray's Avatar
19
Rep
216
Posts

Drives: E90 330xi
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: South NJ, USA

iTrader: (0)

Tire Pressure Warning Won't Go Away - e90 pre LCI

Like the title says, I've tried resetting via the dash but no luck.

I had moved from RFT to non on my last set, no issues. This time around, I experimented with wider tires up front and didn't like the loss of handling in favor of grip so wen't back to stock sizes in a full set of direzzas.

Thanks to the profile, the wide up front experiment were a little big, but I understood this would only affect the speedo - pressures never changed.

Is there another way I can reset? The tires aren't flat and this light is annoying.
__________________
Keep right, except to pass. // Mystic E90 330xi 6MT ZSP/ZPP/ZCW - SJR-SCCA

Appreciate 0
      07-11-2014, 07:52 AM   #2
jeeve.x
Lieutenant
jeeve.x's Avatar
14
Rep
425
Posts

Drives: E90 335i
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: San Diego

iTrader: (1)

Maybe one of the batteries on the sensors is out?
Appreciate 0
      07-11-2014, 09:36 AM   #3
Gary@TireRack
Moderator
Gary@TireRack's Avatar
United_States
343
Rep
4,746
Posts

Drives: Formerly 1995 M3
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: South Bend, IN, Tire Rack HQ

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeeve.x View Post
Maybe one of the batteries on the sensors is out?
+1

The TPMS sensors have no way of knowing what size or model of tire is installed as they only measure inflation pressure.
__________________
Gary. Tire and Wheel Forum Moderator. Tire Rack Sales Rep Gary@Tirerack.com
http://www.tirerack.com/a.jsp?a=AH8&url=index.jsp

Please refer to 'Gary/E90 Post' as your previous contact when you order online to help support this forum.
Appreciate 0
      07-11-2014, 10:22 AM   #4
mmurray
Second Lieutenant
mmurray's Avatar
19
Rep
216
Posts

Drives: E90 330xi
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: South NJ, USA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary@TireRack View Post
+1

The TPMS sensors have no way of knowing what size or model of tire is installed as they only measure inflation pressure.
Good to know. Just reset them via the dash again and they've been off for the commute in so fingers crossed it holds.
__________________
Keep right, except to pass. // Mystic E90 330xi 6MT ZSP/ZPP/ZCW - SJR-SCCA

Appreciate 0
      07-11-2014, 10:54 AM   #5
mmurray
Second Lieutenant
mmurray's Avatar
19
Rep
216
Posts

Drives: E90 330xi
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: South NJ, USA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeeve.x View Post
Maybe one of the batteries on the sensors is out?
How would I go about replacing the battery on TPMS?
__________________
Keep right, except to pass. // Mystic E90 330xi 6MT ZSP/ZPP/ZCW - SJR-SCCA

Appreciate 0
      07-11-2014, 12:24 PM   #6
David1
Brigadier General
David1's Avatar
United_States
512
Rep
3,662
Posts

Drives: 09 E92 09 X5
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Columbus, OH

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mmurray View Post
How would I go about replacing the battery on TPMS?
You replace the whole sensor.
__________________
2017 M2 Alpine White|Black with Blue Stitching Dakota Leather|Executive Pkg|DCT
Appreciate 0
      07-11-2014, 12:30 PM   #7
Damov
New Member
United_States
0
Rep
6
Posts

Drives: E92
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Charlotte, NC

iTrader: (0)

Send a message via Skype™ to Damov
I just had this problem where I couldn't get it off after getting the tire pressures correct. Turns out I had a leak from a plug in the tire. Weird tho since the tire pressure was right.
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:16 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST