E90Post

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N57 / M57 Turbo Diesel Discussions - 335d > What mods can be done without tuning?

10-09-2016, 09:58 PM   #1
Torqu3
Major
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2011 335d

What mods can be done without tuning?

So as the title says, I want to know what modifications can be done to these cars without the need to take them in to a tuner.

I saw a thread about removing the DPF that didn't really look too hard, but I assume I'd have to get it coded out somehow or it's going to put me in limp mode.

Also, everyone here talks about EGR blockoff plates. Can I install those myself and not need to get the EGR coded out, or will that cause big issues as well?

Since BPC won't be doing anything past stage 1 anymore, my options seem fairly limited, but is there any company that can tune the car remotely, or any independent shops I can take my car to that will code out the emissions stuff? I'm new to coding on cars so am not familiar with what is and isn't needed. Thanks!
Appreciate 0
      10-12-2016, 03:04 PM   #2
TorqueAddict
Lieutenant
Canada
Rep
Drives: 340i - 335D

Red scoops are one of the famous mods. i'm sure PR can explain the benefits of those.
JR Auto tune and Bohl Diesel Downpipe - KWv2 coils - Apex Racing 18" EC7 wheels wrapped in Michelin PSS 245/275 F/R - Zimmerman cross drilled rotors F/R with Hawk HPS pads - SS brake lines - Motul RBF 600 - ADD W1 oil catch can - BMW performance CF spoiler
Appreciate 0
      10-12-2016, 03:34 PM   #3
HeatherM35d
Second Lieutenant
Rep
Drives: X5d and 335d

Best mod on torqueaddicts car is the shit stain on the passenger seat.
Appreciate 1
NC335d105.50
      10-12-2016, 03:35 PM   #4
GaryE30
COAL FED
Rep
Drives: 335d, M3, X5

DPF removal will generate a code and require tuning because you will lose the DPF and the DEF injection system.