E90Post
 


The Tire Rack
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > DIY: Setup BMW Standard Tools 2.12 on Windows XP > 10



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      07-18-2018, 08:24 AM   #683
davemonfl
Private
13
Rep
67
Posts

Drives: 2008 328i w/sport package 6sp
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Sarasota FL

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by gjm120 View Post
Thanks for that link. Actually I feel pretty comfortable with the coding having researched it for so long. Of course, it's easy to feel comfortable about something I haven't done. But the coding seems almost intuitive once you've watched enough tutorials. Here are 2 good ones you've probably found:
Thanks, I will check those out. I am trying to activate Bluetooth after adding the handsfree mic and bluetooth antenna to a 2008 328i that has the S640A Preparation f tel.installation universal. Should have a chance to install the two parts and try to activate via coding this weekend. I will let you know how it goes...
__________________
2008 328i with Sport Package, 6 speed
2007 Porsche Cayman 5 speed
Appreciate 0
      07-18-2018, 08:27 AM   #684
davemonfl
Private
13
Rep
67
Posts

Drives: 2008 328i w/sport package 6sp
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Sarasota FL

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by gjm120 View Post
Just watched that video and it shows how to change the VO. Take this with a pinch of salt, but, I think you can do a lot of coding without changing the VO. VO changes are a bit more involved than just coding. The negative of not changing the VO is that if a shop does some programming on your car the modules you've coded might revert back to the VO.
From what I read all I have to do after installing the mic and antenna is use NCS to select E89 for the Chassis then add $644 in VO to CAS and NFRM. Then run SG_CODIEREN to the module 2URAD to reset the radio output to match with the car setting. Sounds easy enough....
__________________
2008 328i with Sport Package, 6 speed
2007 Porsche Cayman 5 speed
Appreciate 0
      07-18-2018, 09:02 AM   #685
gjm120
Major
United_States
534
Rep
1,135
Posts

Drives: 2013 128i
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: East Texas

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by davemonfl View Post
From what I read all I have to do after installing the mic and antenna is use NCS to select E89 for the Chassis then add $644 in VO to CAS and NFRM. Then run SG_CODIEREN to the module 2URAD to reset the radio output to match with the car setting. Sounds easy enough....
Good luck with that.

I think I found my car/computer communication issue. I had been disabling internet adapter in earlier attempts. This time I disabled my antivirus and firewall and got connected.

Just coded my battery to the correct Ah for the new battery I put in recently. That was pretty easy but I didn't change the VO. I might tackle that but at least for now the correct charging profile is being used.
__________________
E82 Non-Sport / Ver Red / Blk Boston L / BMWP Springs w/ Koni Yellows / M front control arms / AT / Sport seats & steering wheel + paddles / HK / Nav
Appreciate 0
      07-18-2018, 02:04 PM   #686
davemonfl
Private
13
Rep
67
Posts

Drives: 2008 328i w/sport package 6sp
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Sarasota FL

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by gjm120 View Post
Good luck with that.

I think I found my car/computer communication issue. I had been disabling internet adapter in earlier attempts. This time I disabled my antivirus and firewall and got connected.

Just coded my battery to the correct Ah for the new battery I put in recently. That was pretty easy but I didn't change the VO. I might tackle that but at least for now the correct charging profile is being used.
Good Work!
__________________
2008 328i with Sport Package, 6 speed
2007 Porsche Cayman 5 speed
Appreciate 1
gjm120534.00

      08-27-2018, 11:11 AM   #687
Joe@TopGearSolutions
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
Joe@TopGearSolutions's Avatar
United_States
176
Rep
945
Posts


Drives: 2009 335i M Sport
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Knoxville, TN

iTrader: (2)

Thank you guys!
__________________
Click Here To Order | coding@topgearsolutions.com | Performance Parts Discount w/ Coding Purchase!

E & F Series Worldwide Coding | DVD in Motion, PPK, Alpina and MORE! | Click HERE, HERE,
HERE for some of our feedback !

Appreciate 0
      08-28-2018, 11:08 AM   #688
Joe@TopGearSolutions
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
Joe@TopGearSolutions's Avatar
United_States
176
Rep
945
Posts


Drives: 2009 335i M Sport
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Knoxville, TN

iTrader: (2)

DATEN file link updated for v65.
__________________
Click Here To Order | coding@topgearsolutions.com | Performance Parts Discount w/ Coding Purchase!

E & F Series Worldwide Coding | DVD in Motion, PPK, Alpina and MORE! | Click HERE, HERE,
HERE for some of our feedback !

Appreciate 0
      11-12-2018, 10:55 AM   #689
bidjan
New Member
Canada
0
Rep
12
Posts

Drives: 2006 325xi E90
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Milton, Ontario

iTrader: (0)

I was able to download, follow instructions and install successfully... at least I think its all good

Two questions:

1. Will Carly for BMW USB cable work with the software?
2. Where can I find instructions on how to use the software?
Appreciate 0
      11-12-2018, 11:08 AM   #690
Joe@TopGearSolutions
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
Joe@TopGearSolutions's Avatar
United_States
176
Rep
945
Posts


Drives: 2009 335i M Sport
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Knoxville, TN

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by bidjan View Post
I was able to download, follow instructions and install successfully... at least I think its all good

Two questions:

1. Will Carly for BMW USB cable work with the software?
2. Where can I find instructions on how to use the software?
1. Will Carly for BMW USB cable work with the software?
I'm not familiar with their set up, but if it's a KDCAN (INPA Compatible cable), then yes it will work.
2. Where can I find instructions on how to use the software?
There's a sticky thread in this sub-forum that provides the info on how to code.
__________________
Click Here To Order | coding@topgearsolutions.com | Performance Parts Discount w/ Coding Purchase!

E & F Series Worldwide Coding | DVD in Motion, PPK, Alpina and MORE! | Click HERE, HERE,
HERE for some of our feedback !

Appreciate 0
      11-12-2018, 03:32 PM   #691
bidjan
New Member
Canada
0
Rep
12
Posts

Drives: 2006 325xi E90
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Milton, Ontario

iTrader: (0)

Thanks!

When I run NCS Expert, choose load profile, I get the option of Factory Reset or Feature Coding. I don't see the expert mode or options being discussed earlier in the thread. I followed the installation directions and copied the directories over. What have I done wrong or misunderstood?
Appreciate 0
      11-12-2018, 04:03 PM   #692
gjm120
Major
United_States
534
Rep
1,135
Posts

Drives: 2013 128i
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: East Texas

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by bidjan View Post
Thanks!

When I run NCS Expert, choose load profile, I get the option of Factory Reset or Feature Coding. I don't see the expert mode or options being discussed earlier in the thread. I followed the installation directions and copied the directories over. What have I done wrong or misunderstood?
I get the same 2 choices - used Feature Coding.

Let's hope someone who knows more than me chimes in.
__________________
E82 Non-Sport / Ver Red / Blk Boston L / BMWP Springs w/ Koni Yellows / M front control arms / AT / Sport seats & steering wheel + paddles / HK / Nav
Appreciate 0
      11-12-2018, 04:21 PM   #693
Joe@TopGearSolutions
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
Joe@TopGearSolutions's Avatar
United_States
176
Rep
945
Posts


Drives: 2009 335i M Sport
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Knoxville, TN

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by gjm120 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by bidjan View Post
Thanks!

When I run NCS Expert, choose load profile, I get the option of Factory Reset or Feature Coding. I don't see the expert mode or options being discussed earlier in the thread. I followed the installation directions and copied the directories over. What have I done wrong or misunderstood?
I get the same 2 choices - used Feature Coding.

Let's hope someone who knows more than me chimes in.
Quote:
Originally Posted by bidjan View Post
Thanks!

When I run NCS Expert, choose load profile, I get the option of Factory Reset or Feature Coding. I don't see the expert mode or options being discussed earlier in the thread. I followed the installation directions and copied the directories over. What have I done wrong or misunderstood?
Quote:
Originally Posted by gjm120 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by bidjan View Post
Thanks!

When I run NCS Expert, choose load profile, I get the option of Factory Reset or Feature Coding. I don't see the expert mode or options being discussed earlier in the thread. I followed the installation directions and copied the directories over. What have I done wrong or misunderstood?
I get the same 2 choices - used Feature Coding.

Let's hope someone who knows more than me chimes in.
The names are somewhat irrelevant. Feature coding is used for your day-to-day changing various features.

Factory Reset (aka Expert Mode) is for default coding a module based on the VO.
__________________
Click Here To Order | coding@topgearsolutions.com | Performance Parts Discount w/ Coding Purchase!

E & F Series Worldwide Coding | DVD in Motion, PPK, Alpina and MORE! | Click HERE, HERE,
HERE for some of our feedback !

Appreciate 1
gjm120534.00

      11-25-2018, 01:26 PM   #694
redasonas
Registered
0
Rep
2
Posts

Drives: e39
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Exclamation

I have 2009 E91 330d 180 kW.
But cant find N57 engine in INPA (v.63.0_SP-Daten).
How to add N57 engine?
Appreciate 0
      11-25-2018, 01:28 PM   #695
redasonas
Registered
0
Rep
2
Posts

Drives: e39
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Added file:
Attached Images
 
Appreciate 0
      11-26-2018, 02:29 PM   #696
Joe@TopGearSolutions
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
Joe@TopGearSolutions's Avatar
United_States
176
Rep
945
Posts


Drives: 2009 335i M Sport
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Knoxville, TN

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by redasonas View Post
I have 2009 E91 330d 180 kW.
But cant find N57 engine in INPA (v.63.0_SP-Daten).
How to add N57 engine?
INPA file updated and can be downloaded using the same link. When you download it, you really only need to replace the C:\EC-APPS\INPA\CFGDAT\E90.ENG file with the updated one so you don't have to do a complete install. There are a few N57 options to choose from, and not knowing which DME you have, I don't know which one you need. Try them all, and shoot me a PM if you're still having issues.

The E70.ENG file was also updated if you want to grab that one too.
__________________
Click Here To Order | coding@topgearsolutions.com | Performance Parts Discount w/ Coding Purchase!

E & F Series Worldwide Coding | DVD in Motion, PPK, Alpina and MORE! | Click HERE, HERE,
HERE for some of our feedback !

Appreciate 0
      12-02-2018, 09:53 PM   #697
Greyfox
Colonel
Greyfox's Avatar
United_States
734
Rep
2,421
Posts

Drives: 2007 328xi E91
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe@TopGearSolutions View Post
The names are somewhat irrelevant. Feature coding is used for your day-to-day changing various features.

Factory Reset (aka Expert Mode) is for default coding a module based on the VO.
So a person would use "Factory Reset" to do the coding for a CiC RetroFit?
Appreciate 0
      12-03-2018, 09:28 AM   #698
Joe@TopGearSolutions
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
Joe@TopGearSolutions's Avatar
United_States
176
Rep
945
Posts


Drives: 2009 335i M Sport
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Knoxville, TN

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Greyfox View Post
So a person would use "Factory Reset" to do the coding for a CiC RetroFit?
Yes, after you modify your VO.
__________________
Click Here To Order | coding@topgearsolutions.com | Performance Parts Discount w/ Coding Purchase!

E & F Series Worldwide Coding | DVD in Motion, PPK, Alpina and MORE! | Click HERE, HERE,
HERE for some of our feedback !

Appreciate 0
      12-03-2018, 08:22 PM   #699
Greyfox
Colonel
Greyfox's Avatar
United_States
734
Rep
2,421
Posts

Drives: 2007 328xi E91
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe@TopGearSolutions View Post
Yes, after you modify your VO.
So, pretty much what this video does?

Appreciate 0
      12-04-2018, 10:26 AM   #700
Joe@TopGearSolutions
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
Joe@TopGearSolutions's Avatar
United_States
176
Rep
945
Posts


Drives: 2009 335i M Sport
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Knoxville, TN

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Greyfox View Post
So, pretty much what this video does?

Yes, except you don't have to close NCS each time you complete a step. You can switch between different profiles without closing.
__________________
Click Here To Order | coding@topgearsolutions.com | Performance Parts Discount w/ Coding Purchase!

E & F Series Worldwide Coding | DVD in Motion, PPK, Alpina and MORE! | Click HERE, HERE,
HERE for some of our feedback !

Appreciate 1
Greyfox733.50

Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
coding, inpa, ncs, tool32, winkfp

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:23 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST