E90Post

TNT Racewerks

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > AUDIO/VIDEO + BLUETOOTH + Electronics/Alarm/Software > $65 Thumping Upgrade

04-08-2008, 10:26 PM   #1
ElectroVoice
Enlisted Member
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2008 328i

$65 Thumping Upgrade

This is my first time posting on this site. First of all, I'd like to thank many of you here, for your technical contributions, to make my installation of the Alpine sound/Navigation system in a 2008 328i base model possible. I thought I should do my part, to share my latest findings.

While glancing through a recent Crutchfield catalog, I found this:http://www.crutchfield.com/App/Produ...=THA275&tp=115
a $59 amp?! Though it is no Fosgate, but I'll risk $65 (shipped) on a Blaupunkt any day, especially considering, back then, an electronic crossover alone cost more than $65.

To my surprise, the unit even comes with a remote bass control (just like the ones that came with the $149 Epicenter- you have to be really old school AND into car audio to know what I'm talking about), which is perfect for my application. You will need a low level output, or a speaker-to-signal level converter. I hooked up the amp to the subwoofer output from the Alpine head unit, to drive the two stock subs. Set the low pass frequency to about 90 Hz, setting the bass boost on about half way, and the remote bass level to about 3 quarters......I cannot believe my ears!!!!! They sound like 2 10" in the trunk!!!!

For $65?! You can't ask for anything more!!! The best part? the trunk remains 100% stock.
Appreciate 0
      04-08-2008, 11:59 PM   #2
MarioKart
Lieutenant
Rep
Drives: Black on Black

Quote:
Originally Posted by ElectroVoice View Post