E90Post
 


The Tire Rack
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BMW E90/E92/E93 3-series General Forums > Regional Forums > UK > UK Technical Forum > Code out MULF2 Module?



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      01-29-2020, 01:35 PM   #1
MrSweet1991
Lieutenant
MrSweet1991's Avatar
47
Rep
534
Posts

Drives: BMW E90 330D M Sport
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: West Midlands

iTrader: (0)

Code out MULF2 Module?

Hi All,

Is it possible to code out the MULF2 module? When I first purchased the car I realised the faulty MULF module was causing the radio to cut out so I removed the module and then used a MOST loop connector but ISTA takes bloody ages checking the modules as it does a MOST reset to see if it can communicate again. Furthermore, I use an XTRONS PE9890BIPL head unit so it's more of a reason not to need the module.
Appreciate 0
      01-29-2020, 09:15 PM   #2
gIzzE
Major General
gIzzE's Avatar
United Kingdom
236
Rep
5,791
Posts

Drives: 2015 F11 + E91 330i Sport
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Norfolk, UK.

iTrader: (2)

Just delete the option on your VO in NCSExpert.

$644 from memory for the MULF.

Then do a reset on RAD2 or CIC whatever you have. That should work.
Appreciate 0
      02-04-2020, 07:12 AM   #3
MrSweet1991
Lieutenant
MrSweet1991's Avatar
47
Rep
534
Posts

Drives: BMW E90 330D M Sport
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: West Midlands

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by gIzzE View Post
Just delete the option on your VO in NCSExpert.

$644 from memory for the MULF.

Then do a reset on RAD2 or CIC whatever you have. That should work.
I'll do some research in the mean time but could you provide some detailed steps? I've got all the software to hand but to be honest with having Carly as well I've never needed to touch NCS Expert till now so I haven't got a clue what to do haha.
Appreciate 0
      02-06-2020, 04:16 PM   #4
MrSweet1991
Lieutenant
MrSweet1991's Avatar
47
Rep
534
Posts

Drives: BMW E90 330D M Sport
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: West Midlands

iTrader: (0)

I removed $644 from VO and then "FA_Write" to CAS to actually write the VO changes. But, when I switched ECU to RAD2 and then tried to SG_CODIEREN I just get an error:

Error in CABD! Look at CABIERR and ERROR.LOG!
COAPI-2020: SG antwwortet nicht IFH-0009: SG nicht
angeschlossen oder meldet sich nicht RAD2
COAPI-2020: SG antwortet nicht CODIERINDEX LESEN
COAPI-2020: SG antwortet nicht IFH-0009: SG nicht
angeschlossen oder meldet sich nicht RAD2
COAPI-2020: SG antwortet nicht SG.CODIEREN

View post on imgur.com
Appreciate 0
      02-07-2020, 03:50 AM   #5
gIzzE
Major General
gIzzE's Avatar
United Kingdom
236
Rep
5,791
Posts

Drives: 2015 F11 + E91 330i Sport
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Norfolk, UK.

iTrader: (2)

Have you tried holding in the volume button for 30 seconds?
Appreciate 0
      02-07-2020, 04:30 PM   #6
MrSweet1991
Lieutenant
MrSweet1991's Avatar
47
Rep
534
Posts

Drives: BMW E90 330D M Sport
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: West Midlands

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by gIzzE View Post
Have you tried holding in the volume button for 30 seconds?
I have an aftermarket head unit mate
Appreciate 0
      02-07-2020, 06:50 PM   #7
gIzzE
Major General
gIzzE's Avatar
United Kingdom
236
Rep
5,791
Posts

Drives: 2015 F11 + E91 330i Sport
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Norfolk, UK.

iTrader: (2)

Well of course you can talk to the Rad2 then, it isn't there. Haha

That is you most controller by the way.

What units are showing? CAS, anything else? FRM etc.?
You need to remove the radio option and bluetooth and anything else you have on the most loop and write to all modules.
Appreciate 0
      02-07-2020, 06:52 PM   #8
gIzzE
Major General
gIzzE's Avatar
United Kingdom
236
Rep
5,791
Posts

Drives: 2015 F11 + E91 330i Sport
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Norfolk, UK.

iTrader: (2)

And SG_Reset is often all you need.
Appreciate 0
      02-07-2020, 07:09 PM   #9
MrSweet1991
Lieutenant
MrSweet1991's Avatar
47
Rep
534
Posts

Drives: BMW E90 330D M Sport
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: West Midlands

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by gIzzE View Post
Well of course you can talk to the Rad2 then, it isn't there. Haha

That is you most controller by the way.

What units are showing? CAS, anything else? FRM etc.?
You need to remove the radio option and bluetooth and anything else you have on the most loop and write to all modules.
Haha, that completely makes sense and I should have knew that from the fact that ISTA shows the module in red meaning no communication.

What I'll do is get a screenshot of the module tree diagram in ISTA so you can see exactly what I'm working with, at the moment I have a couple of problems with the radio but also theres a MOST communication showing as an error. I have used a MOST loop on the MULF module connection so hopefully when it's coded out all of those faults will be gone.
Appreciate 0
      02-07-2020, 07:28 PM   #10
gIzzE
Major General
gIzzE's Avatar
United Kingdom
236
Rep
5,791
Posts

Drives: 2015 F11 + E91 330i Sport
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Norfolk, UK.

iTrader: (2)

The radio is your most gateway, you need to delete that.

Using NCS Expert, how many modules does it show, surely not just CAS?

I had 3 showing on my e91. I had to write to all of them to get things to add, same removing stuff.
You usually have 2 or 3 modules where your VO is stored, this is so if one gets corrupted it can read from elsewhere, hence you need to delete the radio and bluetooth option from your VO on every module.

On NCS expert load the profile - F1 - then F3 to read the VO from the ECU - choose model - then you will see where your vehicle order is stored.

You need to delete the radio and bluetooth from all those modules and FA Write them.

So when you have deleted the option go back, then process the ECU - select CAS, FRM whatever you have edited - the F2 for change job - FA Write - then execute job.

Then when your car sleeps and wakes up again you should have no most bus items being looked for.


You might have to add S988A OMISSION OF RADIO ???

Look for $663a or similar, that is professional radio.
Appreciate 0
      02-07-2020, 07:35 PM   #11
gIzzE
Major General
gIzzE's Avatar
United Kingdom
236
Rep
5,791
Posts

Drives: 2015 F11 + E91 330i Sport
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Norfolk, UK.

iTrader: (2)

Just had a quick search and found this step by step guide.

http://blog.obdii365.com/2016/08/31/...by-ncs-expert/

and a code list....

https://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=717103
Appreciate 0
      02-08-2020, 06:37 AM   #12
MrSweet1991
Lieutenant
MrSweet1991's Avatar
47
Rep
534
Posts

Drives: BMW E90 330D M Sport
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: West Midlands

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by gIzzE View Post
Just had a quick search and found this step by step guide.

http://blog.obdii365.com/2016/08/31/...by-ncs-expert/

and a code list....

https://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=717103
Hi mate,

Your spot on, I thought you meant the modules that show in ISTA as opposed to the modules storing the VO, in that case its only CAS and FRM, I removed $644 from case and FA_WRITE and it worked a treat not displaying that telephone module in ISTA anymore so I "think" I can get away with just removing the options from CAS and leave the FRM as a backup to revert back to complete stock, I also read the CAS module a few days ago and backed up the trace file before I knew what I was doing about removing the modules.

I'm hoping not to do much with the FRM to be honest, from what I've heard it has a bug and if the voltage drops it bricks from the bootloader and you need something like xprog to flash it again. I've never had a warning from Carly so maybe it's not the typical bugged FRM but I still hate doing anything with it 😂

I'll go out soon and remove the option you mentioned and hopefully all MOST faults should be gone
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:45 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST