E90Post
 


BPM
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > AUDIO/VIDEO + BLUETOOTH + Electronics/Alarm/Software > bmw e90 aftermarket stereo memory loss



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      03-23-2014, 01:14 PM   #1
asad5150
Private First Class
13
Rep
144
Posts

Drives: BMW F30 330d
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

bmw e90 aftermarket stereo memory loss

Hi i have installed a aftermarket cd players and have used the connects2 wiring kit thats allows steering wheel control and parking sensor. The problem i have is that the cd player looses its settings and resets each time i turn car off. Can anyone help please.
Appreciate 0
      03-23-2014, 10:39 PM   #2
mathematics
Captain
mathematics's Avatar
United_States
57
Rep
998
Posts

Drives: 08 328i e93 alpine white
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Queens, NY

iTrader: (0)

run a new constant 12V from the battery. some have this issue, others don't. not sure why. just had to do that last night to an e92 head unit install we did 2 weeks ago. car had 12V constant at the harness for the 10 minutes i held the test light there with the doors all shut but i guess after a few hours it timed out.
__________________
iPhone 6 Plus (iTunes library/iTunes radio/Waze, etc) to Airport Express via AirPlay. Toslink out of Airport Express to Helix P-Six DSP. PHD AF 1.C tweeters, PHD FB 4.1 midranges. Jehnert Door Cards and mid-bass'.
Appreciate 0
      03-24-2014, 04:47 AM   #3
bmw325i
Major General
169
Rep
5,122
Posts

Drives: 2006 BMW 325i
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: United States

iTrader: (8)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mathematics View Post
run a new constant 12V from the battery. some have this issue, others don't. not sure why. just had to do that last night to an e92 head unit install we did 2 weeks ago. car had 12V constant at the harness for the 10 minutes i held the test light there with the doors all shut but i guess after a few hours it timed out.
I am pretty sure it is like that for all e9x's. There is no constant 12 volt for the radio harness you need to run a separate wire to the battery. I may be wrong though.
Appreciate 0
      03-24-2014, 06:49 AM   #4
asad5150
Private First Class
13
Rep
144
Posts

Drives: BMW F30 330d
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Ok im sure some people run the wire to their fusebox as theres a constant power in some fuses
Appreciate 0
      03-24-2014, 06:54 AM   #5
mathematics
Captain
mathematics's Avatar
United_States
57
Rep
998
Posts

Drives: 08 328i e93 alpine white
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Queens, NY

iTrader: (0)

Fuse box or battery. I don't remember having to do that to my car, though. 12V constant is in my harness.
__________________
iPhone 6 Plus (iTunes library/iTunes radio/Waze, etc) to Airport Express via AirPlay. Toslink out of Airport Express to Helix P-Six DSP. PHD AF 1.C tweeters, PHD FB 4.1 midranges. Jehnert Door Cards and mid-bass'.
Appreciate 0
      03-24-2014, 07:37 AM   #6
perzonal
Private First Class
30
Rep
137
Posts

Drives: BMW M2
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Sweden

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2017 BMW M2  [0.00]
Try switching the red and the orange cable (I suppose you should have it) so it looks like: Red cable->Orange cable and Orange cable -> Red cable. (On the harness between the car and the HU.

It solved problems for me earlier, latest when installing my parrot MKI 9200
Appreciate 0
      03-24-2014, 11:00 AM   #7
bmw325i
Major General
169
Rep
5,122
Posts

Drives: 2006 BMW 325i
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: United States

iTrader: (8)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mathematics View Post
Fuse box or battery. I don't remember having to do that to my car, though. 12V constant is in my harness.
That is strange although I guess it is possible since the headunit is turned on and off by the CAN signal. The connects2 harness is not wired like this it has a seperate lead for constant 12 volt so I ran it to the battery.
Appreciate 0
      03-24-2014, 03:08 PM   #8
asad5150
Private First Class
13
Rep
144
Posts

Drives: BMW F30 330d
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

does anyone know what fuse in the fusebox has got constant power so i can use a piggyback fuse tap which will be much easier than wiring to the battery
Appreciate 0
      05-08-2014, 04:45 PM   #9
e90bmw328i
Lieutenant
e90bmw328i's Avatar
30
Rep
407
Posts

Drives: 2017 330i
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Hudson, TX

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by asad5150 View Post
does anyone know what fuse in the fusebox has got constant power so i can use a piggyback fuse tap which will be much easier than wiring to the battery
I am looking for the same to power my pioneer head unit. Let me know if you find any. Still searching through images of the fusebox
Appreciate 0
      05-08-2014, 05:01 PM   #10
safe d
Private First Class
8
Rep
102
Posts

Drives: BMW E92 325 i M Sport
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Mid UK

iTrader: (0)

I also found this on my nav hu. I am going to swap red and yellow pwr wires to see if that works. Logic tells me that this worked on head unit and that did not lose its memory.
Appreciate 0
      05-08-2014, 06:05 PM   #11
asad5150
Private First Class
13
Rep
144
Posts

Drives: BMW F30 330d
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Metblack328i View Post
I am looking for the same to power my pioneer head unit. Let me know if you find any. Still searching through images of the fusebox
i just ran a wire from the battery to the cd player took about 20minutes to do as i couldnt waste time in finding a fuse in the fuse box
Appreciate 0
      05-09-2014, 05:12 PM   #12
safe d
Private First Class
8
Rep
102
Posts

Drives: BMW E92 325 i M Sport
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Mid UK

iTrader: (0)

Swap yellow /red = unsuccessful. Cable to fuse bbox; next job.
Appreciate 1
      01-06-2018, 12:20 PM   #13
mistertml
Private
United Kingdom
5
Rep
99
Posts

Drives: BMW 318i SE Edition
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Lancashire

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Hi

Can you confirm which fuse you plugged in to?
I have the Connects2 kit and need to plug my yellow 12v into the fuse box. But it doesn’t state which?
Kind Regards
Appreciate 0
      01-06-2018, 01:34 PM   #14
opjose
Major
opjose's Avatar
193
Rep
1,168
Posts

Drives: 335xi
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Md

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mistertml View Post
Hi

Can you confirm which fuse you plugged in to?
I have the Connects2 kit and need to plug my yellow 12v into the fuse box. But it doesn’t state which?
Kind Regards
Make sure that your Connect2 draws very low amperage from that yellow wire.. E.g. Less than 20mA

Test it on a bench to make sure.

You can use the CAS fuse to power it as CAS must always be on.
Appreciate 0
      01-08-2018, 05:12 AM   #15
mistertml
Private
United Kingdom
5
Rep
99
Posts

Drives: BMW 318i SE Edition
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Lancashire

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by opjose View Post
Make sure that your Connect2 draws very low amperage from that yellow wire.. E.g. Less than 20mA

Test it on a bench to make sure.

You can use the CAS fuse to power it as CAS must always be on.
I used fuse 61 on my car which worked fine but now the HU just keeps losing power and wont turn on sometimes. If I unplug the yellow 12v live wire from the connects 2 harness and plug it back in to the fusebox then it powers the cd player back on again. But on some occasions the power will not come on at all.

Any ideas?

Thanks
Appreciate 0
      01-11-2018, 08:55 AM   #16
mistertml
Private
United Kingdom
5
Rep
99
Posts

Drives: BMW 318i SE Edition
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Lancashire

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by mistertml View Post
I used fuse 61 on my car which worked fine but now the HU just keeps losing power and wont turn on sometimes. If I unplug the yellow 12v live wire from the connects 2 harness and plug it back in to the fusebox then it powers the cd player back on again. But on some occasions the power will not come on at all.

Any ideas?

Thanks
I have managed to the power issue out.
I have had to connect both the red and yellow (live and switched live I Think) into the live connection and connected the live 12v feed to fuse 83 which was empty in the UK version 2008 fusebox.
This does keep the memory but also doesn't switch the HU off so I have to manually Switch it off.

Thanks
Appreciate 0
      01-11-2018, 09:07 PM   #17
ctuna
Lieutenant General
1258
Rep
10,958
Posts

Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca

iTrader: (0)

head unit
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showth...ight=head+unit
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1036190
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showth...hlight=dynavin
http://www.janus-design.net/english/
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=355089
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showth...ight=head+unit
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showth...hlight=dynavin
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showth...hlight=dynavin
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showth...light=retrofit
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=993447
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1016187
https://www.bmwgm5.com/Logic7_E90_91_92_93.htm
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showth...hlight=dynavin

If the voltage on your battery drops under 9 to 10 volts on start
wiring may not be the problem.
Appreciate 0
      01-13-2018, 07:24 PM   #18
mistertml
Private
United Kingdom
5
Rep
99
Posts

Drives: BMW 318i SE Edition
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Lancashire

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
I replaced my old Sony CD Player with a Mechless Pioneer HU with bluetooth. I ran the 12v switched live to Fuse #2 and connected the red-red and yellow-yellow on the harness. The memory is fine and the cd player only turns on when the key is in the car woich saves me having to remember to turn the CD player off like with the Sony HU.

Thanks to all for the advice.
Appreciate 0
      01-21-2018, 06:19 PM   #19
EffectOne
New Member
4
Rep
29
Posts

Drives: 2007 E92 330d
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Worcestershire, UK

iTrader: (0)

Having sorted this problem out today, if anyone is reading and has an 07 E92, my fuse #2 was unused and I connected the 12v yellow wire into that using a fuse-tap/piggyback and a 10amp fuse.

I have tested the unit a few times since (after waiting over an hour to ensure the car was asleep) and my new android unit has retained memory and started up fast rather than going through the initial boot phase. So it looks as thought fuse #2 is an unused permanent live on 07 E92 models.
Appreciate 0
      11-25-2020, 09:43 AM   #20
bmwcabrioNL
Registered
0
Rep
1
Posts

Drives: BMW 3 cabrio e93
Join Date: Nov 2020
Location: NL

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by EffectOne View Post
Having sorted this problem out today, if anyone is reading and has an 07 E92, my fuse #2 was unused and I connected the 12v yellow wire into that using a fuse-tap/piggyback and a 10amp fuse.

I have tested the unit a few times since (after waiting over an hour to ensure the car was asleep) and my new android unit has retained memory and started up fast rather than going through the initial boot phase. So it looks as thought fuse #2 is an unused permanent live on 07 E92 models.
I can confirm this also worked on my E93 model. I used fuse #2 with a piggyback fuse tap and 10A. The power wire I connected to my radio, together with the existing power wire. It now remembers the stations and all settings, even after a few days of non use.
Appreciate 0
      12-06-2020, 06:00 PM   #21
J0K3R5
Second Lieutenant
J0K3R5's Avatar
United Kingdom
146
Rep
261
Posts

Drives: BMW
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Scotland

iTrader: (0)

__________________
Appreciate 0
      12-12-2020, 07:06 PM   #22
olfac87
Registered
0
Rep
3
Posts

Drives: 2011 BMW 328ix
Join Date: Dec 2020
Location: Virginia

iTrader: (0)

This is all really good info. I installed a new Alpine double-din and ended up running a power cable back to the battery. I really like the fuse trick - easier than running a cable to the trunk!
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:56 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST