E90Post
 


 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BMW E90/E92/E93 3-series General Forums > Regional Forums > UK > UK Technical Forum > CIC update file



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      08-06-2020, 06:03 AM   #1
MattW49
New Member
0
Rep
8
Posts

Drives: bmw 320d se business
Join Date: Jul 2020
Location: uk

iTrader: (0)

CIC update file

Hi all.
I'm after the latest software update for a 2010 320d se business edition.
I've been trying to get it off the bmw update site but to no avail. Trying to do it to update the nav system as I don't have the i or tick and the maps are all grey with no traffic updates.
If someone could point me in the right direction so I can upload it on to usb and update that would be awesome.
Last 7 digits of vin are A477815
Thanks in Advance
Appreciate 0
      08-06-2020, 09:04 AM   #2
ccfj1
Tinkerer
ccfj1's Avatar
United Kingdom
34
Rep
322
Posts

Drives: e92 335i M-Sport
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Brighton

iTrader: (0)

What is it you are trying to do mate??

1: update the firmware?
2: update the maps?
3: update the combox with the usb update from the bmw site?

all of these require deferent processes to "update"

1: requires an icom and about 3 hours.
2: is a usb stick and about 20 minutes (assuming that you can update via usb)
3: is a 5 minute update to the combox and updates the combox for new phones.

The update from the BMW update website does not do 1 or 2.
__________________
2010 e92 335i M-Sport: Retrofits, OEM Dab, OEM TV, Split Armrest, Rear Blind, EPS Individual Audio, Heated M3 Interior, Brembo Performance calipers, illuminated M5 Gearknob.

Last edited by ccfj1; 08-06-2020 at 09:14 AM..
Appreciate 0
      08-06-2020, 09:54 AM   #3
Karlos20945
Enlisted Member
Karlos20945's Avatar
United Kingdom
17
Rep
43
Posts

Drives: E90 LCI 320d SE
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Basingstoke

iTrader: (0)

Are you sure you don't have the "tick" and the "I" at the bottom left of the nav screen? Yours is the same age and spec as mine and I've updated my maps a couple of times via usb. From what I've read on here, if your car is the same as mine, we don't have a combox (I'm led to believe the fact I can't stream music via Bluetooth is a bit of a clue).
__________________
Appreciate 0
      08-06-2020, 02:57 PM   #4
MattW49
New Member
0
Rep
8
Posts

Drives: bmw 320d se business
Join Date: Jul 2020
Location: uk

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ccfj1 View Post
What is it you are trying to do mate??

1: update the firmware?
2: update the maps?
3: update the combox with the usb update from the bmw site?

all of these require deferent processes to "update"

1: requires an icom and about 3 hours.
2: is a usb stick and about 20 minutes (assuming that you can update via usb)
3: is a 5 minute update to the combox and updates the combox for new phones.

The update from the BMW update website does not do 1 or 2.
Hi.
Its the first one that I need doing. I've managed to update the maps. If anyone knows of anyone around Manchester area that can do it that would be amazing as I dont have any of the software or cables etc to do it myself.
Appreciate 0
      08-06-2020, 03:06 PM   #5
MattW49
New Member
0
Rep
8
Posts

Drives: bmw 320d se business
Join Date: Jul 2020
Location: uk

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Karlos20945 View Post
Are you sure you don't have the "tick" and the "I" at the bottom left of the nav screen? Yours is the same age and spec as mine and I've updated my maps a couple of times via usb. From what I've read on here, if your car is the same as mine, we don't have a combox (I'm led to believe the fact I can't stream music via Bluetooth is a bit of a clue).
Hi.
I definitely don't have the i or the tick(tried adding a picture but attachment link won't work for some reason). Have been debating taking to bmw for the full integration level upgrade but worried about the risk of it knackering the modules. Not sure how much modules would cost if they corrupted whilst updating.
Appreciate 0
      08-07-2020, 06:38 AM   #6
fatty5000
Enlisted Member
3
Rep
33
Posts

Drives: 330D
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by MattW49 View Post
Hi.
I definitely don't have the i or the tick(tried adding a picture but attachment link won't work for some reason). Have been debating taking to bmw for the full integration level upgrade but worried about the risk of it knackering the modules. Not sure how much modules would cost if they corrupted whilst updating.
I ended up letting the dealer do mine, 200, money well spent imo as they said it would take a day, it ended up taking three days, as it kept glitching out and crashing. They kept at it until completed, at one point they told me the car was completely dead electronically. I'm glad it was with them rather than on my drive with my laptop plugged in. They updated the entire car for that price.
Appreciate 0
      08-08-2020, 05:03 PM   #7
aaronblack
Private First Class
34
Rep
168
Posts

Drives: E92
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by fatty5000 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by MattW49 View Post
Hi.
I definitely don't have the i or the tick(tried adding a picture but attachment link won't work for some reason). Have been debating taking to bmw for the full integration level upgrade but worried about the risk of it knackering the modules. Not sure how much modules would cost if they corrupted whilst updating.
I ended up letting the dealer do mine, £200, money well spent imo as they said it would take a day, it ended up taking three days, as it kept glitching out and crashing. They kept at it until completed, at one point they told me the car was completely dead electronically. I'm glad it was with them rather than on my drive with my laptop plugged in. They updated the entire car for that price.
Little bit off topic but why did you update your firmware? Did you have a problem with it or just wanted new features etc?
Appreciate 0
      08-09-2020, 09:44 AM   #8
MattW49
New Member
0
Rep
8
Posts

Drives: bmw 320d se business
Join Date: Jul 2020
Location: uk

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronblack View Post
Little bit off topic but why did you update your firmware? Did you have a problem with it or just wanted new features etc?
For me I want the cic head unit firmware updated. Ive also heard that once people have had the upgrade done at bmw they have better performance and better mpg.
Appreciate 0
      08-15-2020, 04:27 PM   #9
fatty5000
Enlisted Member
3
Rep
33
Posts

Drives: 330D
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

I coughed 200 to the dealer in Cardiff and they updated everything they could, it was worth the money as they had it 2.5 days and it kept crapping out and killing the car, I'd rather it be with them than on my drive with the laptop wired up! It got there in the end!
Appreciate 0
      08-18-2020, 06:38 AM   #10
billabong02
Private
United Kingdom
3
Rep
67
Posts

Drives: 2010 BWM 3 Series E90
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: London

iTrader: (0)

Does the firmware update do anything useful?
Appreciate 0
      08-18-2020, 07:58 AM   #11
fatty5000
Enlisted Member
3
Rep
33
Posts

Drives: 330D
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Only obvious thing was the tick on nav screen which allowed me to update via usb.
Appreciate 0
      08-18-2020, 09:13 AM   #12
billabong02
Private
United Kingdom
3
Rep
67
Posts

Drives: 2010 BWM 3 Series E90
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: London

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by fatty5000 View Post
Only obvious thing was the tick on nav screen which allowed me to update via usb.
A map update or?
Appreciate 0
      08-18-2020, 10:55 AM   #13
fatty5000
Enlisted Member
3
Rep
33
Posts

Drives: 330D
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Yeah map updates. My gearbox was playing up at the time as well so I was also ruling out the software on that. That was a different can of worms!


Just realised I posted the same thing twice in this thread
Appreciate 0
      08-24-2020, 04:05 PM   #14
Ice_maN_uk_pl
Registered
0
Rep
3
Posts

Drives: 318i
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Hi!
CIC with map database 1.2.4.
I got abit different problem. I was trying to update my navi from EUROPE PREMIUM 2008-2 to WEST EUROPE PREMIUM 2019-2 but when I plugged my USB Stick 128 GB formated to FAT32 notting appears on the screen. No asking for update or fcs code. It started to drive me craaaaazy...
Any one got similar problem?
Appreciate 0
      08-25-2020, 02:16 AM   #15
aaronblack
Private First Class
34
Rep
168
Posts

Drives: E92
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ice_maN_uk_pl View Post
Hi!
CIC with map database 1.2.4.
I got abit different problem. I was trying to update my navi from EUROPE PREMIUM 2008-2 to WEST EUROPE PREMIUM 2019-2 but when I plugged my USB Stick 128 GB formated to FAT32 notting appears on the screen. No asking for update or fcs code. It started to drive me craaaaazy...
Any one got similar problem?
Have you tried a different usb? This happened to me had to try a couple of different usb sticks at the end none of them worked, but since I had it plugged in anyway one day whilst driving it just popped up on the screen so almost feels like it's very picky what sort of usb you use provided you've done everything else right.
Appreciate 0
      08-25-2020, 05:16 AM   #16
ccfj1
Tinkerer
ccfj1's Avatar
United Kingdom
34
Rep
322
Posts

Drives: e92 335i M-Sport
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Brighton

iTrader: (0)

make sure its formatted correctly too.
__________________
2010 e92 335i M-Sport: Retrofits, OEM Dab, OEM TV, Split Armrest, Rear Blind, EPS Individual Audio, Heated M3 Interior, Brembo Performance calipers, illuminated M5 Gearknob.
Appreciate 0
      08-28-2020, 06:05 AM   #17
billabong02
Private
United Kingdom
3
Rep
67
Posts

Drives: 2010 BWM 3 Series E90
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: London

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by MattW49 View Post
For me I want the cic head unit firmware updated. Ive also heard that once people have had the upgrade done at bmw they have better performance and better mpg.
Hi, so what was your CIC version before and after? I'm deliberating whether I should do mine. Mine is CIC.C0D.

Would you mind listing the things that have improved or have been added as a result of the update?

Thanks
Appreciate 0
      09-07-2020, 04:50 AM   #18
ccfj1
Tinkerer
ccfj1's Avatar
United Kingdom
34
Rep
322
Posts

Drives: e92 335i M-Sport
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Brighton

iTrader: (0)

TBH there are not a lot of differences to the later versions c16 and 1ca are almost identical.

Later versions allow usb map update support.

They are mostly bug fixes.

C16 will allow apps with out the need for the fsc code, so if thats a need, then only go to c16 (v41)
__________________
2010 e92 335i M-Sport: Retrofits, OEM Dab, OEM TV, Split Armrest, Rear Blind, EPS Individual Audio, Heated M3 Interior, Brembo Performance calipers, illuminated M5 Gearknob.
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:33 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST