E90Post
 


The Tire Rack
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BMW E90/E92/E93 3-series General Forums > General E90 Sedan / E91 Wagon / E92 Coupe / E93 Cabrio > About to get a new battery, but what's this plug?



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      04-23-2016, 07:41 PM   #1
NiNeTyOne
Touring cars rock
United_States
345
Rep
904
Posts

Drives: e91 330xi / 997 GT3 Cup
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: SEA

iTrader: (0)

About to get a new battery, but what's this plug?

Long story short.. previous owner replaced the battery, but did not register it.

I suspect what it was replaced with was not the correct battery (or different from what the previously registered battery was).

When looking at the battery today I noticed that there was a small 3 pin plug not connected and can't figure out where it goes.

Anyone have any idea?

I'll also be up-sizing the battery as the car has a lot of options. Just want to make sure that there wasn't an AGM in there that was replaced by a lead acid before I drop the funds on the new battery.

Also want to figure out what's up with this dangling connector.

Thanks in advance!



Appreciate 0
      04-23-2016, 07:58 PM   #2
W37V
[Oo=||=oO]
No_Country
1046
Rep
2,459
Posts

Drives: e92n52 & f15n57
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: DMV

iTrader: (0)

connector is used during the shipping from factory.
Appreciate 0
      04-23-2016, 08:02 PM   #3
NiNeTyOne
Touring cars rock
United_States
345
Rep
904
Posts

Drives: e91 330xi / 997 GT3 Cup
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: SEA

iTrader: (0)

Okay, so it's not supposed to be connected to anything.. I'm good?
Appreciate 0
      04-23-2016, 08:38 PM   #4
Kolyan2k
Major General
807
Rep
5,507
Posts

Drives: 2006 S2000
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Boston

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by NiNeTyOne View Post
Okay, so it's not supposed to be connected to anything.. I'm good?
sehr gut
Appreciate 0
      04-24-2016, 02:40 AM   #5
LGCubana
Lieutenant
71
Rep
475
Posts

Drives: 2011 335i sedan
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: SE Florida

iTrader: (2)

It's a little hard to tell, but it looks like the current battery is already filling the cavity to capacity. So you may not be able to upsize.

I inadvertently chose the largest battery replacement for My 2011, N55 E90, which is group size 49. It was a pain to mount and secure, as my retaining clamp is on the battery's foot, by the rear tail light. Took me quite a while to snake my hand down there, to thread the bolt.

This is a two person job, as someone has to hold all of the cables out of the way, especially the vent tube.


Good luck
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by *******
Who did this sell to? Did buyer receive the intake?
Appreciate 0
      04-24-2016, 07:55 PM   #6
ferocity02
Colonel
United_States
496
Rep
2,200
Posts

Drives: 2013 135is
Join Date: May 2014
Location: USA

iTrader: (8)

Connector is supposed to be unplugged.

If you upsize battery or go from AGM to non-AGM (and vice versa) you will need to recode so it knows what battery it has.

Also need to register the battery.
__________________

2013 135is DCT Carbon Black Metallic

Appreciate 0
      04-26-2016, 01:27 AM   #7
NiNeTyOne
Touring cars rock
United_States
345
Rep
904
Posts

Drives: e91 330xi / 997 GT3 Cup
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: SEA

iTrader: (0)

AGM installed and registered. Previous owner put a lead acid in place of the original AGM, you can imagine the state of the battery.

Put the 92Ah in place of the original 90Ah, and all is well again.
Appreciate 0
      04-26-2016, 12:05 PM   #8
gabylonfive
First Lieutenant
gabylonfive's Avatar
United_States
49
Rep
335
Posts

Drives: 04 M3, 05 Elise
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Bay Area, CA

iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by NiNeTyOne View Post
AGM installed and registered. Previous owner put a lead acid in place of the original AGM, you can imagine the state of the battery.

Put the 92Ah in place of the original 90Ah, and all is well again.
I ran into the same thing when I purchased my car 5 years ago, some owners just don't know / don't care.

good to hear you got yours sorted out.
Appreciate 0
      04-26-2016, 01:11 PM   #9
ferocity02
Colonel
United_States
496
Rep
2,200
Posts

Drives: 2013 135is
Join Date: May 2014
Location: USA

iTrader: (8)

Quote:
Originally Posted by NiNeTyOne View Post
AGM installed and registered. Previous owner put a lead acid in place of the original AGM, you can imagine the state of the battery.

Put the 92Ah in place of the original 90Ah, and all is well again.
Mine also had a lead acid battery but was coded for AGM. But it was a genuine BMW battery so I'm guessing the dealer installed it and forgot to code it
__________________

2013 135is DCT Carbon Black Metallic

Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:18 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST