E90Post
 


ECS BMW
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > Activating oil temp gauge...



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      03-06-2018, 10:02 PM   #155
morepower
New Member
0
Rep
6
Posts

Drives: BMW 535d
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Portugal

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sensible_ View Post
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1_t...2gXhwTcCh5Nh7X

Stock file from M57 325D. Sends oil temp
Are you sure? That file is coded to send 114.9 Celsius Engine Oil Temperature all the time!
Appreciate 0
      03-07-2018, 08:29 AM   #156
morepower
New Member
0
Rep
6
Posts

Drives: BMW 535d
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Portugal

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by morepower View Post
Are you sure? That file is coded to send 114.9 Celsius Engine Oil Temperature all the time!
Sorry i guess you can have oil temp on the consumption gauge but not available thru gauges in Dr.Gini for example...

Can you test?
Appreciate 0
      03-07-2018, 08:49 AM   #157
Sensible_
Lieutenant Colonel
326
Rep
1,862
Posts

Drives: 2008 E90
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: London

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by morepower View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by morepower View Post
Are you sure? That file is coded to send 114.9 Celsius Engine Oil Temperature all the time!
Sorry i guess you can have oil temp on the consumption gauge but not available thru gauges in Dr.Gini for example...

Can you test?
You are correct. It's 100% correct. I read it from vehicle myself with working oil temp gauge.
Appreciate 0
      03-07-2018, 08:58 AM   #158
morepower
New Member
0
Rep
6
Posts

Drives: BMW 535d
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Portugal

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sensible_ View Post
You are correct. It's 100% correct. I read it from vehicle myself with working oil temp gauge.
You got 114 degrees Celsius?
That I can enable to broadcast. My can sniffer has not arrived yet so I don't know what ITOEL ArbID is nor can I sniff 1D0.
Appreciate 0
      05-02-2018, 07:44 PM   #159
ruhl88
New Member
0
Rep
16
Posts

Drives: bmw e90
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: italy

iTrader: (0)

excume to all. Is it possible to put coolant temp in the same method described in the pdf?
anyone knows the hexadecimal argument for coolant temp instead oil temp?
thanks
Appreciate 0
      05-09-2018, 09:31 AM   #160
dpopov
New Member
0
Rep
14
Posts

Drives: e90 330d
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Sofia, BG

iTrader: (0)

Did anybody make a How to tutorial on how to code the MPG needle to show current oil/water temp?
Appreciate 0
      05-10-2018, 03:52 AM   #161
Yngvejos
Private
Yngvejos's Avatar
21
Rep
94
Posts

Drives: E91 325i, E30 325i
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Norway

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by dpopov View Post
Did anybody make a How to tutorial on how to code the MPG needle to show current oil/water temp?
It's on the first page.
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showpo...9&postcount=22
__________________
Yngvejos.
2005 E91 325i
Appreciate 0
      05-10-2018, 04:42 AM   #162
dpopov
New Member
0
Rep
14
Posts

Drives: e90 330d
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Sofia, BG

iTrader: (0)

Can somebody confirm this will work on a N57? (heavybreathing)
Appreciate 0
      05-11-2018, 06:14 AM   #163
Sensible_
Lieutenant Colonel
326
Rep
1,862
Posts

Drives: 2008 E90
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: London

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by dpopov View Post
Can somebody confirm this will work on a N57? (heavybreathing)
Not without a special remap.
Appreciate 0
      05-11-2018, 07:35 AM   #164
dpopov
New Member
0
Rep
14
Posts

Drives: e90 330d
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Sofia, BG

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sensible_ View Post
Not without a special remap.


Special remap of what? The dashboard/cluster?
Appreciate 0
      05-11-2018, 05:00 PM   #165
Sensible_
Lieutenant Colonel
326
Rep
1,862
Posts

Drives: 2008 E90
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: London

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by dpopov View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sensible_ View Post
Not without a special remap.


Special remap of what? The dashboard/cluster?
No, DDE.

Instructions are on this thread or a different one, I can't remember.
Appreciate 0
      05-14-2018, 02:54 AM   #166
dpopov
New Member
0
Rep
14
Posts

Drives: e90 330d
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Sofia, BG

iTrader: (0)

Hey, if someone finds these instructions, please shoot me a PM or post it here so everybody sees them. Thanks in advance!
Appreciate 0
      05-15-2018, 03:01 AM   #167
Sensible_
Lieutenant Colonel
326
Rep
1,862
Posts

Drives: 2008 E90
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: London

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by dpopov View Post
Hey, if someone finds these instructions, please shoot me a PM or post it here so everybody sees them. Thanks in advance!
Its literally on pg7 of this thread.

Quote:
Originally Posted by psy460 View Post
I got some bosch documents from a friend, byte 2 is hard coded anyway to enable it from calibration file.

0xFF is "fehlerwert"

So i completly disabled the 1D0 from DDE ( FRMMNG_swtENGINE1 to 0)
kombi report me a fault, saying that 1D0 botschaft is missing, i will code to do not show fault when ID is missing, and now kombi will get only my own messages
Appreciate 0
      05-15-2018, 08:15 AM   #168
dpopov
New Member
0
Rep
14
Posts

Drives: e90 330d
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Sofia, BG

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sensible_ View Post
Its literally on pg7 of this thread.
Thank you!

The thing is, I don't understand coding. I was gathering information for my Local Indy to code me this feature. So, most of the things I see in this thread don't mean anything.

I contacted them and they said that they do not have the right "tools" to code this ECU. Since, I don't like to be a pain in the arse, could you guys explain to me what do you need to code the DDE?
Appreciate 0
      05-16-2018, 01:21 PM   #169
Sensible_
Lieutenant Colonel
326
Rep
1,862
Posts

Drives: 2008 E90
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: London

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by dpopov View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sensible_ View Post
Its literally on pg7 of this thread.
Thank you!

The thing is, I don't understand coding. I was gathering information for my Local Indy to code me this feature. So, most of the things I see in this thread don't mean anything.

I contacted them and they said that they do not have the right "tools" to code this ECU. Since, I don't like to be a pain in the arse, could you guys explain to me what do you need to code the DDE?
It's more than just coding. You need to go to a good ecu tuning guy and tell them exactly what you want. Then flash the tuned ecu file to your DDE with galletto or equivalent tuning tool. Once this is done your oil temp gauge should start working.
Appreciate 0
      05-17-2018, 12:22 PM   #170
Dtype
First Lieutenant
Portugal
18
Rep
370
Posts

Drives: BMW E91 320d 2007
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Lisbon

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sensible_ View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by dpopov View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sensible_ View Post
Its literally on pg7 of this thread.
Thank you!

The thing is, I don't understand coding. I was gathering information for my Local Indy to code me this feature. So, most of the things I see in this thread don't mean anything.

I contacted them and they said that they do not have the right "tools" to code this ECU. Since, I don't like to be a pain in the arse, could you guys explain to me what do you need to code the DDE?
It's more than just coding. You need to go to a good ecu tuning guy and tell them exactly what you want. Then flash the tuned ecu file to your DDE with galletto or equivalent tuning tool. Once this is done your oil temp gauge should start working.
Can you tell me hex address for m47 engine dde? (Dde604) where is it?
Appreciate 0
      05-23-2018, 12:25 PM   #171
tryingtobebest
Second Lieutenant
Canada
31
Rep
234
Posts

Drives: E90
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Calgary, Ab

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sensible_ View Post
It's more than just coding. You need to go to a good ecu tuning guy and tell them exactly what you want. Then flash the tuned ecu file to your DDE with galletto or equivalent tuning tool. Once this is done your oil temp gauge should start working.
Hey Sensible what is your preference or have you ever dealt with Kess, K-Tag or Galletto?
Maybe give me a name of what you are using?
Appreciate 0
      05-27-2018, 01:50 PM   #172
dextuar
Enlisted Member
1
Rep
37
Posts

Drives: BMW E90
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dtype View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sensible_ View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by dpopov View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sensible_ View Post
Its literally on pg7 of this thread.
Thank you!

The thing is, I don't understand coding. I was gathering information for my Local Indy to code me this feature. So, most of the things I see in this thread don't mean anything.

I contacted them and they said that they do not have the right "tools" to code this ECU. Since, I don't like to be a pain in the arse, could you guys explain to me what do you need to code the DDE?
It's more than just coding. You need to go to a good ecu tuning guy and tell them exactly what you want. Then flash the tuned ecu file to your DDE with galletto or equivalent tuning tool. Once this is done your oil temp gauge should start working.
Can you tell me hex address for m47 engine dde? (Dde604) where is it?
I am also looking for M47 engine address in DDE
Appreciate 0
      05-27-2018, 04:42 PM   #173
Sensible_
Lieutenant Colonel
326
Rep
1,862
Posts

Drives: 2008 E90
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: London

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by tryingtobebest View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sensible_ View Post
It's more than just coding. You need to go to a good ecu tuning guy and tell them exactly what you want. Then flash the tuned ecu file to your DDE with galletto or equivalent tuning tool. Once this is done your oil temp gauge should start working.
Hey Sensible what is your preference or have you ever dealt with Kess, K-Tag or Galletto?
Maybe give me a name of what you are using?
For e90 I use galleto. But Kess is fine too. Both can read DDE6 by ODB I believe.

I'm not sure on that address. I'll look for it in the coming days. I'm away right now.
Appreciate 0
      05-28-2018, 09:14 AM   #174
Schmitz
New Member
Schmitz's Avatar
0
Rep
11
Posts

Drives: e90 328i
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Rhode Island

iTrader: (0)

Given, i have not read the whole thread, so ignore if already mentioned. But, if you don't mind not having the cluster tell you when your service intervals are, then you can literally just buy a used cluster with the temp gauge and plug it in. I did this two days ago and it works fine.
Appreciate 0
      05-31-2018, 04:32 AM   #175
Sensible_
Lieutenant Colonel
326
Rep
1,862
Posts

Drives: 2008 E90
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: London

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Schmitz View Post
Given, i have not read the whole thread, so ignore if already mentioned. But, if you don't mind not having the cluster tell you when your service intervals are, then you can literally just buy a used cluster with the temp gauge and plug it in. I did this two days ago and it works fine.
Of course. But you have tamper dot. You should virgin eeprom and reset to factory as well.
Appreciate 0
      06-14-2018, 04:44 AM   #176
tryingtobebest
Second Lieutenant
Canada
31
Rep
234
Posts

Drives: E90
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Calgary, Ab

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sensible_ View Post
Its literally on pg7 of this thread.
Quote:
Originally Posted by psy460 View Post
I got some bosch documents from a friend, byte 2 is hard coded anyway to enable it from calibration file.

0xFF is "fehlerwert"

So i completly disabled the 1D0 from DDE ( FRMMNG_swtENGINE1 to 0)
kombi report me a fault, saying that 1D0 botschaft is missing, i will code to do not show fault when ID is missing, and now kombi will get only my own messages

So you need to code DDE as well as Cluster?
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:49 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST