E90Post

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BMW E90/E92/E93 3-series General Forums > General E90 Sedan / E91 Wagon / E92 Coupe / E93 Cabrio > New to BMW first time DIY

09-22-2018, 09:29 PM   #1
stockegsix
Rep
Drives: 2011 335D

New to BMW first time DIY

Newbie here saying wassup to the forum. It'll be exactly one year next month since I've jumped ship from another car brand(long time enthusiast) to BMW. I'm a DIY person and so far working on my 335D has been very challenging compared to my old 4-banger. I've been having to remove panels to get to more panels to get to the bolt that's holding some sort of a "V" bar that's blocking a torx screw cover that is covering the motor mount bolt... you know what I mean. LOL. Oh, and removing those sensor clips is like trying to solve a puzzle. Over-engineering is an understatement clearly. But overall it's still pretty fun and I really did miss tinkering on cars. BMW is definitely a beast to work on.

Harmonic Balancer took me about 6 hours to remove and install a new one. I'm in the process of an ABC delete and so far the most difficult thing was removing the motor mount from the engine block(had to fish those pesky bolts using a long extension from under the wheel well). This took a lot of time but I was able to get the DPF, SCR and exhaust out eventually. I already have the EGR delete kit and waiting on the rest of the parts to arrive so I can put this car back together. Youtube and this forum has really help me a lot or else I'd be lost.
Appreciate 0
      09-22-2018, 10:55 PM   #2
BimmerNugget
Crazy Frog
United_States
Rep
Drives: L.L.Bean Bootmobile

When you say enthusiast + 4 banger, I automatically think of fart can civics. Was your previous car a civic si?

If not a civic then a subbie?
Appreciate 0
      09-22-2018, 11:23 PM   #3
tlow98
Brigadier General
Rep
Drives: 2009 E91, 2014 F15 x35i

The electric clips are deceiving simple - you just squeeze them and they come right off.