E90Post

Extreme Powerhouse

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > Suspension | Brakes | Chassis > A couple of dumb questions (base suspension refresh)

11-11-2021, 09:54 PM   #1
850CSi
16 years and counting...
Rep
Drives: '06 325i 6MT

A couple of dumb questions (base suspension refresh)

Hi everyone,

I'm getting ready to refresh the suspension on my non-sport 325i at 173k miles. The ride feels pretty rough and I suspect my dampers have been fried for a while now.

I live in the city, drive on shit Midwestern roads, and the car does family duty. So I think I'm going to keep the stock ride height and go for Bilstein B4s, which I gather are the best option for a comfortable ride (unless someone can convince me B6s are worth the premium and don't sacrifice a lot comfort-wise).

I've never done any suspension work before, so I have a couple of dumb questions:

1) what are the chances I need new springs? What should I look for? It's a very minor expense but I'm not in the habit of replacing parts if it's not necessary.

2) a couple of years back, I dropped the subframe to take care of a leaky oil pan. Being even more ignorant than I am now, I did this on ramps, with the front wheels bearing the car's weight. By the time I was done, the wheels had slid forward in the wells substantially. We somehow managed to get everything back together, and the car has driven fine since, but does anyone have any thoughts on what I should closely examine for damage? (I gather strut towers, control arms... anything else?) I guess in some ways that was the equivalent of hitting a bad pothole?
      11-12-2021, 08:08 AM   #2
TGTIW
Second Lieutenant
Rep
Drives: 2010 328i

It's very unlikely you will need new springs, unless yours are damaged or severely rusted, which obviously you'll see once you start working on the suspension.