E90Post
 


TNT Racewerks
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > AUDIO/VIDEO + BLUETOOTH + Electronics/Alarm/Software > AVIN 8.8inch - who has this?



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      01-22-2021, 02:41 PM   #595
ctuna
Lieutenant General
1359
Rep
11,278
Posts

Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca

iTrader: (0)

Bottom line uses the Aux.
Notice they mention buying a second aux splitter as
an option.
Sure looks like it does anyway.
Appreciate 1
      01-24-2021, 07:05 PM   #596
reggiefu
Registered
0
Rep
3
Posts

Drives: 2011 bmw 328xi
Join Date: Jan 2021
Location: dallas

iTrader: (0)

I installed something similar to this. Im assuming its a knock off but it works fine for what i need (carplay/android auto) and it was only $300!

https://www.wakaa.us/product/8-8-wir...8aArApEALw_wcB

The problem im having is getting the backup camera to work. For some reason im getting zero signal. I did use a relay. 30 to battery. 87 to power camera. 86 to blu/blk wire off passenger trunk tailight. 85 to brown ground off trunk taillight. Also the ground for the camera is tapped into the brown ground wire for taillights but not close to the taillights. And the video rca ran to the headunit wire labeled ccd_cvbs. And im getting nothing.

I have also tried connecting the red wire (tail)off the rca ( headunit side) to a wire labeled "campower" but nothing as well. Then i tried running a wire tapped into the signal/trigger wire (blu/blk on taillight plug) to the front along the rca and tried it with both the "campower" wire from unit. And to the red wire coming from the rca. And still nothing. Any help would be appreciated. I have been searching for 3 days. Here and other forums. Ive compared notes watched videos. Ill post pictures when i can.

Oh BTW my car is a 2011 328xi manual None idrive. None PDC. Base.
Appreciate 0
      01-24-2021, 08:02 PM   #597
GovernUrMental
Second Lieutenant
GovernUrMental's Avatar
Australia
47
Rep
237
Posts

Drives: E92 335i
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: SpedShed

iTrader: (0)

Looks like the old aux is still the only option People say you cant notice a difference.
I tested by connecting phone directly headphone jack to aux playing the same track which i saved on the cic their is a definitely a huge difference in volume and clarity. Maybe going an NBT retrofit would be the go.
Appreciate 0
      01-24-2021, 08:05 PM   #598
InnerBlueSkies
Captain
InnerBlueSkies's Avatar
901
Rep
848
Posts

Drives: 2008 E90 M3
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: College Station, Texas

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by reggiefu View Post
I installed something similar to this. Im assuming its a knock off but it works fine for what i need (carplay/android auto) and it was only $300!

https://www.wakaa.us/product/8-8-wir...8aArApEALw_wcB

The problem im having is getting the backup camera to work. For some reason im getting zero signal. I did use a relay. 30 to battery. 87 to power camera. 86 to blu/blk wire off passenger trunk tailight. 85 to brown ground off trunk taillight. Also the ground for the camera is tapped into the brown ground wire for taillights but not close to the taillights. And the video rca ran to the headunit wire labeled ccd_cvbs. And im getting nothing.

I have also tried connecting the red wire (tail)off the rca ( headunit side) to a wire labeled "campower" but nothing as well. Then i tried running a wire tapped into the signal/trigger wire (blu/blk on taillight plug) to the front along the rca and tried it with both the "campower" wire from unit. And to the red wire coming from the rca. And still nothing. Any help would be appreciated. I have been searching for 3 days. Here and other forums. Ive compared notes watched videos. Ill post pictures when i can.

Oh BTW my car is a 2011 328xi manual None idrive. None PDC. Base.
May not be the answer you want to hear but I would disconnect and reconnect everything. I say this because I ran into the same issue. I would also double check for connectivity if you used T-Tap Wire Connectors.
Appreciate 0
      01-24-2021, 08:25 PM   #599
reggiefu
Registered
0
Rep
3
Posts

Drives: 2011 bmw 328xi
Join Date: Jan 2021
Location: dallas

iTrader: (0)

Yea,....yea smh. I have considered that innerblueskies. I really, Really dont want to pull everything and do it all over again. But it is on my list of the last things i may need to do. Right up there with paying someone else to do it.

Can i get a conformation that this is the correct way to wire the relay/reverse cam setup? Any other ideas are more then welcome. Also if anyone knows of a different trigger wire for reverse that could help as well.


EDIT***
i got everything working fyi. just wanted to show the fix.


.
Attached Images
   

Last edited by reggiefu; 01-28-2021 at 02:51 AM.. Reason: change size of pictures
Appreciate 0
      01-28-2021, 02:11 AM   #600
reggiefu
Registered
0
Rep
3
Posts

Drives: 2011 bmw 328xi
Join Date: Jan 2021
Location: dallas

iTrader: (0)

I figured it out today, for some reason one of the wires was mislabeled thanks for the help!!
Appreciate 0
      07-01-2021, 03:42 AM   #601
safal
New Member
Australia
0
Rep
8
Posts

Drives: BMW 320i 2008
Join Date: Jun 2021
Location: Sydney

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by LandoT View Post
I had the CCC version but sold the car. Just got the CIC Snapdragon unit in today. The aux in 3.5mm jack had an aux out cable plugged in to it from the main harness. Can't seem to get any sound. I unplugged the cables and ran a 3.5mm to the center console aux port and still wasn't getting anything. Waiting on a response from Avin. The sound from the CIC unit still works fine on radio, etc.

Just an update: my sound issue was due to the MOST connection on the back of the CIC unit being pushed inside the unit due to my error. I talked about it in a thread I posted in this sub-forum. I was able to reposition the connector and everything is working fine now. I did have to unplug the aux cables on the main harness and run a cable to the center console still. One thing of note is the sound on the snapdragon unit seems to be night and day better than what I was getting from the CCC unit in my last car. Not completely sure if that is due to my aftermarket speakers/amp (using drop in Rockford fosgate speakers for the fronts, RF coaxials in the back, and a JL 700/5 with harness for the amp) or just the unit being much better. But I didn't really have to tweak settings to get it to sound decent.
Hi, I have the exact same issue as yours, i dont get sound from my unit even after connecting aux to the main unit. Could you please tell me what the MOST connection is and how i can get this sorted?
Appreciate 0
      07-04-2021, 08:37 PM   #602
GtiGyver
Lieutenant
GtiGyver's Avatar
Canada
51
Rep
423
Posts

Drives: 2008 Jerez Black E90 M3 MT
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Montreal

iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by safal View Post
Hi, I have the exact same issue as yours, i dont get sound from my unit even after connecting aux to the main unit. Could you please tell me what the MOST connection is and how i can get this sorted?
The MOST connection is the optical connection behind the original radio used to communicate with other multimedia units in the car such as satellite radio (if equipped), L7 or DIRAC amp (if equipped) or CD changer.
If you break this connection, and your car has a COMBOX, then the line-in in the center console will be dead, as well as other services as bluetooth.

I'm making some assumptions about your specific setup here, but one thing for sure, you need to properly move the MOST connector from the original radio harness location to the piggyback harness.
Appreciate 0
      07-06-2021, 01:44 PM   #603
3DIRTY8
New Member
6
Rep
13
Posts

Drives: E90 LCI
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: San Diego

iTrader: (0)

I have the new Avin 10.25 screen installed and only use the ZLink Carplay. The head unit will load whatever stock profile it comes with, make all the Bluetooth connections / wifi connections, then it will load Zlink and start the CarPlay app.

Any of you know how I can skip all that nonsense and just have it load straight into ZLink?
__________________
IG: 3DIRTY8
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:39 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST