E90Post
 


TNT Racewerks
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > ConnectedDrive / I-Drive / Navigation Related Discussion > E Series NBT Evo Retrofit Development Thread



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      01-05-2019, 06:14 PM   #45
Gray335i
Private First Class
21
Rep
109
Posts

Drives: 2008 335
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Rochester Hills, Michigan

iTrader: (0)

i just did a voltage check from my nbt evo 2016 from unit to cid cable/ it is 12Vdc
Attached Images
 
Appreciate 0
      01-05-2019, 07:50 PM   #46
Nickco43
Lieutenant Colonel
Nickco43's Avatar
1156
Rep
1,811
Posts

Drives: 13 BMW 335i xDrive
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Philadelphia, PA

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gray335i View Post
i just did a voltage check from my nbt evo 2016 from unit to cid cable/ it is 12Vdc
My NBT next gave out 8.4 volts. Can you send the link to the parts you used for a voltage regulator?
Appreciate 0
      01-05-2019, 08:31 PM   #47
Gray335i
Private First Class
21
Rep
109
Posts

Drives: 2008 335
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Rochester Hills, Michigan

iTrader: (0)

DZS Elec 2PCS LM2596 DC-DC Step Down Variable Volt Regulator Input 3.2V-40V Output 1.25V-35V Adjustable Buck Converter Electronic Voltage Stabilizer Power Supply Module


Just copy and paste in Google search it will show you link for amazon
Appreciate 0
      01-05-2019, 08:35 PM   #48
Nickco43
Lieutenant Colonel
Nickco43's Avatar
1156
Rep
1,811
Posts

Drives: 13 BMW 335i xDrive
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Philadelphia, PA

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gray335i View Post
DZS Elec 2PCS LM2596 DC-DC Step Down Variable Volt Regulator Input 3.2V-40V Output 1.25V-35V Adjustable Buck Converter Electronic Voltage Stabilizer Power Supply Module


Just copy and paste in Google search it will show you link for amazon
What size heat shrink will fit over the board?
Appreciate 0
      01-05-2019, 09:32 PM   #49
Gray335i
Private First Class
21
Rep
109
Posts

Drives: 2008 335
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Rochester Hills, Michigan

iTrader: (0)

here is mine installed in enclosure. you can see size if heatsink.
Attached Images
 
Appreciate 0
      01-05-2019, 11:23 PM   #50
Nickco43
Lieutenant Colonel
Nickco43's Avatar
1156
Rep
1,811
Posts

Drives: 13 BMW 335i xDrive
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Philadelphia, PA

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gray335i View Post
here is mine installed in enclosure. you can see size if heatsink.


I am making it work. There are 5 vertical connectors and 4 horizontal ones. I am not sure what the 5th connector does.
Appreciate 0
      01-06-2019, 01:37 AM   #51
Nickco43
Lieutenant Colonel
Nickco43's Avatar
1156
Rep
1,811
Posts

Drives: 13 BMW 335i xDrive
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Philadelphia, PA

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
I hate when I am putting together a retrotfit. All day and night I am thinking of how to install all of this in the cleanest way possible. This is a large technical challenge.
Appreciate 0
      01-06-2019, 10:20 AM   #52
gamesfrager
Banned
Canada
188
Rep
709
Posts

Drives: 2011 328i
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Calgary

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nickco43 View Post
I hate when I am putting together a retrotfit. All day and night I am thinking of how to install all of this in the cleanest way possible. This is a large technical challenge.
Just want to clarify one thing. You are installing this on the CIC dash inside the original second dash hump, right?

You are not doing an F30 style of iDrive screen? (really hope you say yes to this)
Appreciate 0
      01-06-2019, 10:33 AM   #53
Nickco43
Lieutenant Colonel
Nickco43's Avatar
1156
Rep
1,811
Posts

Drives: 13 BMW 335i xDrive
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Philadelphia, PA

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by gamesfrager View Post
Just want to clarify one thing. You are installing this on the CIC dash inside the original second dash hump, right?

You are not doing an F30 style of iDrive screen? (really hope you say yes to this)
I already have a NBT next into my double hoop dash. I will be using my nbt next moded cid for the nbt evo.

Anyone have part numbers for the 6 pin connectors?

Appreciate 0
      01-06-2019, 08:49 PM   #54
gamesfrager
Banned
Canada
188
Rep
709
Posts

Drives: 2011 328i
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Calgary

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nickco43 View Post
I already have a NBT next into my double hoop dash. I will be using my nbt next moded cid for the nbt evo.

Anyone have part numbers for the 6 pin connectors?
Just came across this by accident while searching for something else.
Looks like this fits the white 6 pin port?

http://www.realoem.com/bmw/enUS/show...diagId=61_4710

I'll see if I can find the black one

Edit:

I think #6 would fit for the black port?!

http://www.realoem.com/bmw/enUS/show...diagId=61_1280
Appreciate 0
      01-06-2019, 09:03 PM   #55
Nickco43
Lieutenant Colonel
Nickco43's Avatar
1156
Rep
1,811
Posts

Drives: 13 BMW 335i xDrive
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Philadelphia, PA

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by gamesfrager View Post
Just came across this by accident while searching for something else.
Looks like this fits the white 6 pin port?

http://www.realoem.com/bmw/enUS/show...diagId=61_4710

I'll see if I can find the black one

Edit:

I think #6 would fit for the black port?!

http://www.realoem.com/bmw/enUS/show...diagId=61_1280
I think I am going to order them both and I will make them fit if needed.
Appreciate 0
      01-07-2019, 04:03 AM   #56
vilord
Major
294
Rep
1,126
Posts

Drives: Too many
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: boston

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by gamesfrager View Post
Just want to clarify one thing. You are installing this on the CIC dash inside the original second dash hump, right?

You are not doing an F30 style of iDrive screen? (really hope you say yes to this)
Nick is going for E series double hoop style.

I'm going to start with F style idrive, with an 8 or 10 inch display cut into the dash since I'm going from a professional radio to Evo, and because I thought it was okay in the F loaner I had.

If it looks like crap or I hate it, I'll buy a double hoop dash and swap over to match Nick's install.
Appreciate 0
      01-07-2019, 09:21 AM   #57
gamesfrager
Banned
Canada
188
Rep
709
Posts

Drives: 2011 328i
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Calgary

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by vilord View Post
Nick is going for E series double hoop style.

I'm going to start with F style idrive, with an 8 or 10 inch display cut into the dash since I'm going from a professional radio to Evo, and because I thought it was okay in the F loaner I had.

If it looks like crap or I hate it, I'll buy a double hoop dash and swap over to match Nick's install.
Hummm... is there really no other way to get the F30 style without cutting?
As for the EVO radio, would it be possible to get one and install it without getting a full iDrive system?
And what about the fitment? would it fit in place of the Pro radio unit without modifications?? That would be great, since that would solve the E9x lcd pixellation.

Sorry, too many things going through my head.
Appreciate 0
      01-07-2019, 09:56 AM   #58
vilord
Major
294
Rep
1,126
Posts

Drives: Too many
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: boston

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
The F professional radio is at least a couple of inches wider than the E radio, so it definitely won't fit without significant changes to the dash.

What we're doing is installing the F evo iDrive 5/6 head unit behind an E CIC control panel.

Installing an evo iDrive head unit without iDrive wouldn't work because there would be no display at all.
Appreciate 0
      01-07-2019, 09:59 AM   #59
gamesfrager
Banned
Canada
188
Rep
709
Posts

Drives: 2011 328i
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Calgary

iTrader: (0)

I see. Thank you for the clarification.
Time for an F30 full dash retrofit then hahahah
Appreciate 0
      01-07-2019, 10:25 AM   #60
vilord
Major
294
Rep
1,126
Posts

Drives: Too many
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: boston

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
Gray335i What do you have sending wakeup to the NBT for desk testing? Is it an arduino with a can shield, or have you been able to do it from a laptop?
Appreciate 0
      01-07-2019, 12:38 PM   #61
Gray335i
Private First Class
21
Rep
109
Posts

Drives: 2008 335
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Rochester Hills, Michigan

iTrader: (0)

0x12F 37 7C 8A DD D4 05 33 06
should be sufficient for 500K .
i am using arduino board with ta1050 , still waiting on screen to arrive.
also you can try : 0x130 45 40 22 8F FE (power on, curr running, e.,t,c)
Appreciate 0
      01-07-2019, 12:59 PM   #62
vilord
Major
294
Rep
1,126
Posts

Drives: Too many
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: boston

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
I was sending the 130 code every 100ms, and it seemed to power on the lights on the idrive wheel, but that's it. it also seemed to stop listening every 800ms or so, and then turn off, then start listening again, and start back up.
Maybe I need to add a resistor as well... not sure if the enbt adapter has resistors on either of the kcan buses...
Appreciate 0
      01-07-2019, 01:06 PM   #63
Gray335i
Private First Class
21
Rep
109
Posts

Drives: 2008 335
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Rochester Hills, Michigan

iTrader: (0)

0x21A 3 05 12 F7 Lighting Status

add this as well/
I am not using 120 ohm resistor.
Appreciate 0
      01-07-2019, 01:08 PM   #64
Gray335i
Private First Class
21
Rep
109
Posts

Drives: 2008 335
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Rochester Hills, Michigan

iTrader: (0)

did you try adding 0x12F 37 7C 8A DD D4 05 33 06
Appreciate 0
      01-07-2019, 01:21 PM   #65
Gray335i
Private First Class
21
Rep
109
Posts

Drives: 2008 335
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Rochester Hills, Michigan

iTrader: (0)

my 6.6 screen is here from 2014 320.
looks like is dead. good old ebay.
vilord, as you can see in picture, my nbt evo is staying awake then whole time when is send thoise messages.
Attached Images
  
Appreciate 0
      01-07-2019, 01:27 PM   #66
vilord
Major
294
Rep
1,126
Posts

Drives: Too many
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: boston

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
Will the evo work with a 6.6 screen? Did you drop the output resolution and turn off widescreen mode?
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:59 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST