E90Post

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N57 / M57 Turbo Diesel Discussions - 335d > New to the diesel work HELP!

09-12-2018, 05:05 PM   #1
Cruiser124
Second Lieutenant
Rep
Drives: 2006 BMW 330xi 6MT

New to the diesel work HELP!

I picked up this 2011 335D at auction and it drove great yesterday for test drives. Good power smooth delivery, although it does have a service engine light.

Well today I go look at the car before auction start and the car has a half engine light and is cutting power tremendously. I got it cheap, drove it home 300 miles and figured I'd poke around to see if someone could have unplugged a sensor or something.

I'll be honest I'm not very familiar with Diesel engines, but I have been working on European cars for 6+ years and have done just about every repair under the sun.

This car has clearly been modified and I want to find the power that was there yesterday! Any input would be great. Here's a pic of the engine bay, and codes I'm getting. These two codes will not clear. I believe the injection cylinder 1 is the cause of half engine light.
Attached Images

Appreciate 0
      09-12-2018, 05:21 PM   #2
Cruiser124
Second Lieutenant
Rep

That was short lived! Poking around and sure enough someone slightly disconnected connector at injector 🤦*♂️

New ride!
Attached Images

Appreciate 0
      09-12-2018, 06:27 PM   #3
335dlci
Lieutenant Colonel
Rep
Drives: 335d

The heater is either unplugged or broken.
Appreciate 0
      09-12-2018, 06:30 PM   #4
apexit4
Major
Poland
Rep
Drives: 335D M-Sport, X5D

Glad to see it was a simple fix. I had a similar issue the other week where the connector on one of the wastegate solenoids worked itself off.