E90Post
 


GetBMWParts
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > NCS Dummy Export Question



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      12-08-2018, 12:53 PM   #1
gjm120
Major
United_States
532
Rep
1,126
Posts

Drives: 2013 128i
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: East Texas

iTrader: (0)

NCS Dummy Export Question

I disassembled a trc file using NCS Dummy to change some values. The change took effect and was reflected in the Modules and Traces. Then when the file is exported to the Work folder the file only has the data value that was changed - not the full file.

Thought it might be something related to the dis and reassembly so tried just changing a value in Modules and Traces. Again same result - only the changed values are in the exported file.

Logic tells me if I coded this 99.99% empty file into the car, it would kill everything except the value in MAN file.

I am doing this as a dry run (not connected) just in case I mess up anything.
__________________
E82 Non-Sport / Ver Red / Blk Boston L / BMWP Springs w/ Koni Yellows / M front control arms / AT / Sport seats & steering wheel + paddles / HK / Nav
Appreciate 0
      12-09-2018, 05:06 AM   #2
Sensible_
Lieutenant Colonel
347
Rep
1,988
Posts

Drives: 2008 E90
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: London

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by gjm120 View Post
I disassembled a trc file using NCS Dummy to change some values. The change took effect and was reflected in the Modules and Traces. Then when the file is exported to the Work folder the file only has the data value that was changed - not the full file.

Thought it might be something related to the dis and reassembly so tried just changing a value in Modules and Traces. Again same result - only the changed values are in the exported file.

Logic tells me if I coded this 99.99% empty file into the car, it would kill everything except the value in MAN file.

I am doing this as a dry run (not connected) just in case I mess up anything.
Just read the trc file and open it in notepad. Make your changes then save as FSW_PSW.MAN.

Use NCS Dummy as a reference to find / understand functions and parameters. That's how I do it.
Appreciate 0
      12-09-2018, 01:39 PM   #3
gjm120
Major
United_States
532
Rep
1,126
Posts

Drives: 2013 128i
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: East Texas

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sensible_ View Post
Just read the trc file and open it in notepad. Make your changes then save as FSW_PSW.MAN.

Use NCS Dummy as a reference to find / understand functions and parameters. That's how I do it.
For simple on-off coding yes as it helps find the parameter to code as as you showed me for the self dimming mirrors.

You probably know this - NCS Dummy is much more powerful than just a translation tool. I'm trying to code the one touch blinker to more than 3. It can be done by pulling, comparing and changing nettodat files OR disassembling the trc file with NCS Dummy. I assume NCS Dummy does the disassembly and re-assembly by somehow manipulating the nettodat or some other file associated with the trc. files.

I found this video that explains how to do that. It isn't too clear to a novice like myself, but, I got all the steps to work.... I think.



The problem I have is the reason for the original post. The exported file only has lines for the parameter that has been changed. I was hoping someone who uses NCS Dummy has opened their Man. file after the export and can tell me this is normal or what I'm doing wrong.
__________________
E82 Non-Sport / Ver Red / Blk Boston L / BMWP Springs w/ Koni Yellows / M front control arms / AT / Sport seats & steering wheel + paddles / HK / Nav
Appreciate 0
      12-10-2018, 02:17 AM   #4
Sensible_
Lieutenant Colonel
347
Rep
1,988
Posts

Drives: 2008 E90
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: London

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by gjm120 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sensible_ View Post
Just read the trc file and open it in notepad. Make your changes then save as FSW_PSW.MAN.

Use NCS Dummy as a reference to find / understand functions and parameters. That's how I do it.
For simple on-off coding yes as it helps find the parameter to code as as you showed me for the self dimming mirrors.

You probably know this - NCS Dummy is much more powerful than just a translation tool. I'm trying to code the one touch blinker to more than 3. It can be done by pulling, comparing and changing nettodat files OR disassembling the trc file with NCS Dummy. I assume NCS Dummy does the disassembly and re-assembly by somehow manipulating the nettodat or some other file associated with the trc. files.

I found this video that explains how to do that. It isn't too clear to a novice like myself, but, I got all the steps to work.... I think.



The problem I have is the reason for the original post. The exported file only has lines for the parameter that has been changed. I was hoping someone who uses NCS Dummy has opened their Man. file after the export and can tell me this is normal or what I'm doing wrong.
Of course I understand

But you don't disassemble trc files. There are 2 ways to achieve what you want.

1. Nettodat coding
2. Daten disassembly

Daten disassembly is what I prefer. You actually modify the daten file. Install what functions / parameters you want and then read and write module coding as normal. Your new functions / parameters will appear in the trc file.

Forget guides. Read the NCS Dummy PDF by revtor. Everything is explained.
Appreciate 0
      12-10-2018, 11:10 AM   #5
gjm120
Major
United_States
532
Rep
1,126
Posts

Drives: 2013 128i
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: East Texas

iTrader: (0)

I did it correctly - disassembled the daten and wrote it back in to the daten files - just wrote it wrong. I know just enough to be dangerous.

I discovered my problem was fundamental - was loading in the wrong FRM. When I first go to read the FRM in NCSE it shows abd.CO9. After it reads the correct one shows up.

It seems to work now so now I need to get the nerve to do it. This is one trivial feature I think is nice.

I noticed there are 4 places for the blink count. Three of them seem to be associated to a key. One has nothing like that. Should I change the wert 2 count for all 4?
__________________
E82 Non-Sport / Ver Red / Blk Boston L / BMWP Springs w/ Koni Yellows / M front control arms / AT / Sport seats & steering wheel + paddles / HK / Nav
Appreciate 0
      12-10-2018, 12:41 PM   #6
Joe@TopGearSolutions
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
Joe@TopGearSolutions's Avatar
United_States
175
Rep
938
Posts


Drives: 2009 335i M Sport
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Knoxville, TN

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by gjm120 View Post
I did it correctly - disassembled the daten and wrote it back in to the daten files - just wrote it wrong. I know just enough to be dangerous.

I discovered my problem was fundamental - was loading in the wrong FRM. When I first go to read the FRM in NCSE it shows abd.CO9. After it reads the correct one shows up.

It seems to work now so now I need to get the nerve to do it. This is one trivial feature I think is nice.

I noticed there are 4 places for the blink count. Three of them seem to be associated to a key. One has nothing like that. Should I change the wert 2 count for all 4?
Personally, I change Wert 01 for this. Because when you default code the FRM, it sets it Wert 1. So, that's less values for you to manually change.
__________________
Click Here To Order | coding@topgearsolutions.com | Performance Parts Discount w/ Coding Purchase!

E & F Series Worldwide Coding | DVD in Motion, PPK, Alpina and MORE! | Click HERE, HERE,
HERE for some of our feedback !

Appreciate 0
      12-10-2018, 01:54 PM   #7
gjm120
Major
United_States
532
Rep
1,126
Posts

Drives: 2013 128i
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: East Texas

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe@TopGearSolutions View Post
Personally, I change Wert 01 for this. Because when you default code the FRM, it sets it Wert 1. So, that's less values for you to manually change.
Good point except with idrive changing from 1 to 2 is easy - right?

And would you change all the values (plain one and the 3 apparently tied to a key)?
__________________
E82 Non-Sport / Ver Red / Blk Boston L / BMWP Springs w/ Koni Yellows / M front control arms / AT / Sport seats & steering wheel + paddles / HK / Nav
Appreciate 0
      12-10-2018, 01:58 PM   #8
Joe@TopGearSolutions
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
Joe@TopGearSolutions's Avatar
United_States
175
Rep
938
Posts


Drives: 2009 335i M Sport
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Knoxville, TN

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by gjm120 View Post
Good point except with idrive changing from 1 to 2 is easy - right?

And would you change all the values (plain one and the 3 apparently tied to a key)?
I'm almost certain you can change the options through iDrive. You have the setting for each key, then the other is "default option".
__________________
Click Here To Order | coding@topgearsolutions.com | Performance Parts Discount w/ Coding Purchase!

E & F Series Worldwide Coding | DVD in Motion, PPK, Alpina and MORE! | Click HERE, HERE,
HERE for some of our feedback !

Appreciate 0
      12-10-2018, 11:03 PM   #9
gjm120
Major
United_States
532
Rep
1,126
Posts

Drives: 2013 128i
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: East Texas

iTrader: (0)

I have 2 E89 daten files. One is around 10gb in a separate folder in my C drive that was downloaded separately from Std Tools. The other is much smaller and is within the NCS Expert folder.

When you load a module file into NCS Dummy, I think the file is from the Daten within NCS Expert. Is the correct? When does the large separate Daten file get used?

Just trying to understand the basics of what happens in the programs. Somewhere recently this got discussed but I can't find it.
__________________
E82 Non-Sport / Ver Red / Blk Boston L / BMWP Springs w/ Koni Yellows / M front control arms / AT / Sport seats & steering wheel + paddles / HK / Nav
Appreciate 0
      12-11-2018, 01:39 AM   #10
Sensible_
Lieutenant Colonel
347
Rep
1,988
Posts

Drives: 2008 E90
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: London

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by gjm120 View Post
I have 2 E89 daten files. One is around 10gb in a separate folder in my C drive that was downloaded separately from Std Tools. The other is much smaller and is within the NCS Expert folder.

When you load a module file into NCS Dummy, I think the file is from the Daten within NCS Expert. Is the correct? When does the large separate Daten file get used?

Just trying to understand the basics of what happens in the programs. Somewhere recently this got discussed but I can't find it.
The larger download will include programming (flash) files for use with winkfp and NFS.
Appreciate 1
gjm120531.50

      12-11-2018, 09:52 AM   #11
gjm120
Major
United_States
532
Rep
1,126
Posts

Drives: 2013 128i
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: East Texas

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sensible_ View Post
The larger download will include programming (flash) files for use with winkfp and NFS.
Thanks. Right after I posted this I found a similar discussion going on in the E90 general forum so I crashed that party. I believe I'm ready to code the blinker count in.

Is there any reason this can't be done from the comfort of a table inside, build the MAN file then connect to the car and code the file in?
__________________
E82 Non-Sport / Ver Red / Blk Boston L / BMWP Springs w/ Koni Yellows / M front control arms / AT / Sport seats & steering wheel + paddles / HK / Nav
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:06 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST