E90Post
 


 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N55 Turbo Engine Tuning and Exhaust Modifications - 335i Tuning > MHD Always fails to write to ECU



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      01-24-2021, 04:23 PM   #1
Cryptikz
New Member
Cryptikz's Avatar
United_States
0
Rep
23
Posts

Drives: 2013 335i xDrive Stage 2+
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: CT

iTrader: (0)

MHD Always fails to write to ECU

I've had MHD for a couple weeks now on my 2013 335i xDrive n55 and have had some failed writes before, but always recovered them after charging my battery the whole night. I went to flash to a new stage once but noticed my charger didn't have a proper connection and wasn't charging my car. After this fail I've tried charging my battery for a couple days, getting a new battery, and a new charger. With trying all of these things and following recommendations like unplugging the fuel pump fuse and putting the seat belts in, I still have errors. I'm thinking about possibly bringing it to a BMW dealer or finding someone who could recode my electronics near by but I've heard this is unnecessary. Not sure what to do anymore I'm hoping to find if anyone has been in this situation before and how they solved it. I've tried flashing to stock and different maps all with the same result.

Here is a video of me going through the steps:
Appreciate 0
      01-24-2021, 04:30 PM   #2
Chapperss
God of Sod (all)
United Kingdom
112
Rep
116
Posts

Drives: e93 335i Msport - Clio 182 FF
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: Bognor Regis

iTrader: (0)

Hey 8 post new member criticising a 10 year stalwart of the community.

Seems to me you had a shit battery, but that should get in the way of bashing the best aftermarket of the shelf tuner for our cars eh x
Appreciate 0
      01-24-2021, 04:37 PM   #3
Cryptikz
New Member
Cryptikz's Avatar
United_States
0
Rep
23
Posts

Drives: 2013 335i xDrive Stage 2+
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: CT

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chapperss View Post
Hey 8 post new member criticising a 10 year stalwart of the community.

Seems to me you had a shit battery, but that should get in the way of bashing the best aftermarket of the shelf tuner for our cars eh x
That's what I thought too, until I got a new battery and charger. I tested the old battery and it held voltage...I'm really at a loss. MHD told me to take that video so that's where I am now.
Appreciate 0
      01-24-2021, 04:43 PM   #4
Chapperss
God of Sod (all)
United Kingdom
112
Rep
116
Posts

Drives: e93 335i Msport - Clio 182 FF
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: Bognor Regis

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cryptikz View Post
That's what I thought too, until I got a new battery and charger. I tested the old battery and it held voltage...I'm really at a loss. MHD told me to take that video so that's where I am now.
Okay skip - I`m going to provisionally apologise for being an asshole.

Someone may have a fix - it may be your phone and not the car also!

Thing is - MHD is the best (maybe only) reliable OTS for 99.9% of us
Appreciate 0
      01-24-2021, 05:00 PM   #5
Cryptikz
New Member
Cryptikz's Avatar
United_States
0
Rep
23
Posts

Drives: 2013 335i xDrive Stage 2+
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: CT

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chapperss View Post
Okay skip - I`m going to provisionally apologise for being an asshole.

Someone may have a fix - it may be your phone and not the car also!

Thing is - MHD is the best (maybe only) reliable OTS for 99.9% of us
No way... Tried another phone and it work flashing to stock!! I've used both phone before and still had errors. So weird this was probably my 10th time trying.
Appreciate 0
      01-24-2021, 06:12 PM   #6
Chapperss
God of Sod (all)
United Kingdom
112
Rep
116
Posts

Drives: e93 335i Msport - Clio 182 FF
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: Bognor Regis

iTrader: (0)

poor quality cable then? Which tbf would explain most of what you've said
Appreciate 0
      01-24-2021, 07:54 PM   #7
Cryptikz
New Member
Cryptikz's Avatar
United_States
0
Rep
23
Posts

Drives: 2013 335i xDrive Stage 2+
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: CT

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chapperss View Post
poor quality cable then? Which tbf would explain most of what you've said
I'm using bluetooth OBD! So weird. I'm glad I got it working thanks for your response.
Appreciate 0
      01-25-2021, 03:33 AM   #8
TunafishE93
Captain
200
Rep
733
Posts

Drives: BMW 335i
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: NV

iTrader: (0)

Correction you are using wifi. MHD doesn't support Bluetooth for drop connection reasons.
Appreciate 0
      01-25-2021, 04:36 PM   #9
Cryptikz
New Member
Cryptikz's Avatar
United_States
0
Rep
23
Posts

Drives: 2013 335i xDrive Stage 2+
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: CT

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by TunafishE93 View Post
Correction you are using wifi. MHD doesn't support Bluetooth for drop connection reasons.
My bad you're correct. I use carly with bluetooth for other coding
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
bricked, coding, coding 3 series, dcm, ecu, help with mhd, mhd, n55, tune

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:50 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST