E90Post
 


ECS BMW
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > ConnectedDrive / I-Drive / Navigation Related Discussion > Need to replace a failed CIC, what do I need to look for??



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      07-09-2018, 08:07 AM   #1
hotbox
New Member
hotbox's Avatar
United_States
0
Rep
16
Posts

Drives: 335is
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: CT

iTrader: (0)

Need to replace a failed CIC, what do I need to look for??

Hi all,

My CIC has died, it re-boots every 30 seconds, so it needs to be replaced. Does it matter what options are on the donor car to be used if it will just be re-coded anyways? Should I just buy something from Ebay for this or would that just be a bad idea?

Thanks!
Appreciate 0
      07-09-2018, 08:43 AM   #2
opjose
Captain
opjose's Avatar
124
Rep
709
Posts

Drives: 335xi
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Md

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by hotbox View Post
Hi all,

My CIC has died, it re-boots every 30 seconds, so it needs to be replaced. Does it matter what options are on the donor car to be used if it will just be re-coded anyways? Should I just buy something from Ebay for this or would that just be a bad idea?

Thanks!
You may want to pull the hard drive out and see if it stops rebooting.

If it does you do not need a new CIC, but you will need a new drive.
Appreciate 0
      07-09-2018, 03:28 PM   #3
hotbox
New Member
hotbox's Avatar
United_States
0
Rep
16
Posts

Drives: 335is
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: CT

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by opjose View Post
You may want to pull the hard drive out and see if it stops rebooting.

If it does you do not need a new CIC, but you will need a new drive.
Already went down that rabbit hole and swapped out hard drives, at least now I have a SSD ready to go...

Besides being a CIC from a E9X, do I have to look for something specific?
Appreciate 0
      07-09-2018, 04:15 PM   #4
opjose
Captain
opjose's Avatar
124
Rep
709
Posts

Drives: 335xi
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Md

iTrader: (0)

If you've obtained an image of the old CIC, you'll do fine.

I suggest reading out the configuration of your old CIC, installing the replacement CIC and coding it with the config you read out, then swapping in the SSD drive.

The replacement CIC will pick up the FSC codes from the SSD drive and you should be all set.
Appreciate 0
      07-10-2018, 08:03 AM   #5
hotbox
New Member
hotbox's Avatar
United_States
0
Rep
16
Posts

Drives: 335is
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: CT

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by opjose View Post
If you've obtained an image of the old CIC, you'll do fine.

I suggest reading out the configuration of your old CIC, installing the replacement CIC and coding it with the config you read out, then swapping in the SSD drive.

The replacement CIC will pick up the FSC codes from the SSD drive and you should be all set.
How would I go about doing this, with the use of FSTool or something else? I assume that this would then allow the navigation and combox to all work with the new CIC, but does it matter when the replacement CIC was manufactured?

Thanks for the information!
Appreciate 0
      07-10-2018, 09:54 AM   #6
opjose
Captain
opjose's Avatar
124
Rep
709
Posts

Drives: 335xi
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Md

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by hotbox View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by opjose View Post
If you've obtained an image of the old CIC, you'll do fine.

I suggest reading out the configuration of your old CIC, installing the replacement CIC and coding it with the config you read out, then swapping in the SSD drive.

The replacement CIC will pick up the FSC codes from the SSD drive and you should be all set.
How would I go about doing this, with the use of FSTool or something else? I assume that this would then allow the navigation and combox to all work with the new CIC, but does it matter when the replacement CIC was manufactured?

Thanks for the information!
Use INPA to read out the coding of your current CIC.

Then apply that to your replacement unit.

Hopefully the replacement unit will have a close revision level and will work without updating.
If not it may have to be updated.
Appreciate 0
      07-11-2018, 03:06 PM   #7
hotbox
New Member
hotbox's Avatar
United_States
0
Rep
16
Posts

Drives: 335is
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: CT

iTrader: (0)

OK great, thanks! Replacement CIC has been ordered
Appreciate 0
      09-02-2018, 08:35 AM   #8
Gee-Dog
Enlisted Member
5
Rep
30
Posts

Drives: E92 335i
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Australia

iTrader: (0)

I may need to do this in the near future, so I'm interested in how you get on replacing your CIC. Have you done it yet, and what was the process to get the replacement unit working?
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
cic

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:50 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST