E90Post
 


The Tire Rack
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > ConnectedDrive / I-Drive / Navigation Related Discussion > Combox Retrofit - BMW Live / Online / Internet not working



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      03-24-2015, 12:12 PM   #1
khurmit
First Lieutenant
khurmit's Avatar
United Kingdom
32
Rep
320
Posts

Drives: '14 M5 Competition & '06 116i
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Stoke Poges, Bucks

iTrader: (0)

Combox Retrofit - BMW Live / Online / Internet not working

Please please please can someone help me with the coding issue I have on my retrofit!!!!!????

See here:

http://www.e90post.com/forums/showpo...43&postcount=1

My post had 65 views with not one response! Where are all those coding gurus when you need them!
Appreciate 0
      03-25-2015, 01:40 AM   #2
tturbolife
Captain
tturbolife's Avatar
United_States
38
Rep
834
Posts

Drives: 650i
Join Date: May 2013
Location: USA

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
Can you post the coding files for CIC and combox
Appreciate 0
      03-25-2015, 05:56 AM   #3
khurmit
First Lieutenant
khurmit's Avatar
United Kingdom
32
Rep
320
Posts

Drives: '14 M5 Competition & '06 116i
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Stoke Poges, Bucks

iTrader: (0)

Hello Mate - attached below - thanks for looking!
Attached Files
File Type: txt CIC.C16_FSW_PSW.txt (16.4 KB, 1389 views)
File Type: txt CMEDIAR.C05_FSW_PSW.Txt (3.2 KB, 901 views)
Appreciate 0
      03-25-2015, 01:40 PM   #4
tturbolife
Captain
tturbolife's Avatar
United_States
38
Rep
834
Posts

Drives: 650i
Join Date: May 2013
Location: USA

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
Try changing all instances related to BMW Online and BMW Internet in the CIC trace file to aktiv. Also change BT_PAIRING to aktiv. The easiest way to do this is to search Online and Internet in the trace file. Combox trace seems fine.
__________________
Jet Black on Black w/Shadowline trim | MHD Tune/Alpina Flash | Orion V2.5 | BMW Performance Spoiler High Kick | M3 Bumper/Kerscher Lip | BMS Intake/Oil Catch Can | 433 Style Wheels | CIC iDrive | Alcantara Performance Steering Wheel/Shifter | V1 | Combox/6NR | Carbon Fiber Trim | M3 side skirts | M3 Cluster | Eibach springs/Koni FSD sold
2009 e63 650i
Appreciate 1
      03-25-2015, 02:32 PM   #5
khurmit
First Lieutenant
khurmit's Avatar
United Kingdom
32
Rep
320
Posts

Drives: '14 M5 Competition & '06 116i
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Stoke Poges, Bucks

iTrader: (0)

Thanks will try this evening & report back.

Out of curiosity I compared my combox TRC file to one from the BMW Coding forum (user had working BMW Live etc) - noticed my TELEMATIK_VIN=most_vin whereas his said TELEMATIK_VIN=coding_vin.

Might try changing that also (to me that setting might mean the VIN is taken from the MOST system in my car, whereas by changing the value to coding_vin means the VIN which is coded to the COmbox is used).

Will report back.....
Appreciate 0
      03-25-2015, 03:01 PM   #6
PichaDis11
Lieutenant Colonel
PichaDis11's Avatar
United_States
178
Rep
1,897
Posts

Drives: E90 N52
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: NY

iTrader: (3)

Have a look at this...

http://www.e90post.com/forums/showpo...&postcount=255
__________________
...
Appreciate 0
      03-25-2015, 03:29 PM   #7
khurmit
First Lieutenant
khurmit's Avatar
United Kingdom
32
Rep
320
Posts

Drives: '14 M5 Competition & '06 116i
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Stoke Poges, Bucks

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by PichaDis11
Yep had already seen that - see the last post!

The thing is I didn't change the value to "coding_vin" as the OP said it might not be required - let me test it out (just trying to get little one to sleep) and then will report back here and also on that thread.
Appreciate 0
      03-25-2015, 03:48 PM   #8
tturbolife
Captain
tturbolife's Avatar
United_States
38
Rep
834
Posts

Drives: 650i
Join Date: May 2013
Location: USA

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by khurmit View Post
Yep had already seen that - see the last post!

The thing is I didn't change the value to "coding_vin" as the OP said it might not be required - let me test it out (just trying to get little one to sleep) and then will report back here and also on that thread.
yes it does need to be coding VIN !
__________________
Jet Black on Black w/Shadowline trim | MHD Tune/Alpina Flash | Orion V2.5 | BMW Performance Spoiler High Kick | M3 Bumper/Kerscher Lip | BMS Intake/Oil Catch Can | 433 Style Wheels | CIC iDrive | Alcantara Performance Steering Wheel/Shifter | V1 | Combox/6NR | Carbon Fiber Trim | M3 side skirts | M3 Cluster | Eibach springs/Koni FSD sold
2009 e63 650i
Appreciate 0
      03-25-2015, 07:10 PM   #9
khurmit
First Lieutenant
khurmit's Avatar
United Kingdom
32
Rep
320
Posts

Drives: '14 M5 Competition & '06 116i
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Stoke Poges, Bucks

iTrader: (0)

Changing to coding_vin didn't work.

Then recoded CIC for online/internet related parameters & BT_PAIRING.....still no luck.

Next, I'll try changing VIN on combox & CIC. Anyone know where I can find a suitable one easily?
Appreciate 0
      03-26-2015, 05:43 PM   #10
terminator2k2
First Lieutenant
9
Rep
320
Posts

Drives: 2006 e90
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: uk

iTrader: (1)

no need to change the vin on the cic unit.....only on the combox

this needs to be a vin number from a country where live and internet are free......

try searching a few vin decoder sites.....I have a vin you can try...but im going to be a tease and let you try to find one first....it took me a few hours to find hundreds of compatible vin numbers..
__________________
Retrofitted : cic + combox with $614 , $615 , $6FL , $6NF , $6NR retrofit
Appreciate 0
      03-27-2015, 09:00 AM   #11
khurmit
First Lieutenant
khurmit's Avatar
United Kingdom
32
Rep
320
Posts

Drives: '14 M5 Competition & '06 116i
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Stoke Poges, Bucks

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by terminator2k2 View Post
no need to change the vin on the cic unit.....only on the combox

this needs to be a vin number from a country where live and internet are free......

try searching a few vin decoder sites.....I have a vin you can try...but im going to be a tease and let you try to find one first....it took me a few hours to find hundreds of compatible vin numbers..
Hey buddy - I think I've found a suitable vin, but not sure.

Does the car whose VIN I will use need to have come with 6NR/6FL/614/615 etc (i.e. all the options for BMW Live/Internet etc.) and should it be the VIN for a car without telematics?

The one I've found is for US car with 609, 615, 6AA, 6AB & 6FL......
Appreciate 0
      03-27-2015, 10:19 AM   #12
herrlado
Enlisted Member
0
Rep
41
Posts

Drives: E91 LCI
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Germany

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by khurmit View Post
Hey buddy - I think I've found a suitable vin, but not sure.

Does the car whose VIN I will use need to have come with 6NR/6FL/614/615 etc (i.e. all the options for BMW Live/Internet etc.) and should it be the VIN for a car without telematics?

The one I've found is for US car with 609, 615, 6AA, 6AB & 6FL......
No it does not matter. Take an US VIN. Search for US Car Auctions, that's all.

Then you can write the VIN to the Combox as example via NCS Expert. Only in this case the coding_vin does make sense!
Appreciate 0
      03-27-2015, 11:54 AM   #13
khurmit
First Lieutenant
khurmit's Avatar
United Kingdom
32
Rep
320
Posts

Drives: '14 M5 Competition & '06 116i
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Stoke Poges, Bucks

iTrader: (0)

UPDATE

I got BMW Online/Live working without changing VIN! Street view, Applications, News, Weather etc all working.

Steps were as follows:

1) changed some of the coding in my combox by reading through ~34 pages of the BMW Coding website thread titled "HOW TO: activating internet service Combox/CIC (Internet via Customer Mobile Phone)" and cherry picking the changes common to most people - there are lots of example CMEDIA TRC files to compare to there. My original CMEDIA.TRC file & Trace Differences file is attached below for anyone who wants to see what was changed.

2) after coding, turned off car & back on, then went into the Service Status Menu of ConnectedDrive - "Update BMW Services" was no longer grayed out

3) Having ensured tethering was active on my iPhone 5s, and that data transfer was active in the iDrive Bluetooth settings for my phone, I clicked "Update BMW Services".....

4) It started updating, I noticed my phone was reporting there was 1 connection via tethering, and then iDrive asked me to enter location and email address to register. I did as asked with real info (location: Europe -> Great Britain; and my actual email)

5) It finished registering, and BMW Online/Live was now working!

6) I then received an email on my iPhone from "noreply-connecteddrive@bmw.com" with a link to confirm my registraton, which I did. Once done with confirming registration, website said to restart BMW Live (but it was working before anyway).

BUT

Internet doesn't work :-( See pic attached.

The strange thing is, when I look at the "Available Services" (below "Update BMW Services" in the Service Status Menu ) it lists both:

BMW Online
Internet


Do you think I made a mistake by registering as they now know I'm in the UK, or perhaps I do need to change the VIN to a US spec car:

Quote:
Originally Posted by herrlado View Post
No it does not matter. Take an US VIN. Search for US Car Auctions, that's all.

Then you can write the VIN to the Combox as example via NCS Expert. Only in this case the coding_vin does make sense!
^ I'll try this tonight. Have found 2 US VINs.
Attached Images
 
Attached Files
File Type: txt E89-CMEDIAR.C05-TraceDifferences.txt (9.8 KB, 642 views)
File Type: txt E89-CMEDIAR.C05.txt (3.2 KB, 541 views)
Appreciate 0
      03-27-2015, 12:27 PM   #14
PichaDis11
Lieutenant Colonel
PichaDis11's Avatar
United_States
178
Rep
1,897
Posts

Drives: E90 N52
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: NY

iTrader: (3)

And I'm here wishing the damn BMW live would work instead of the Internet.

Glad you got something working tho.
__________________
...
Appreciate 0
      03-27-2015, 03:59 PM   #15
khurmit
First Lieutenant
khurmit's Avatar
United Kingdom
32
Rep
320
Posts

Drives: '14 M5 Competition & '06 116i
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Stoke Poges, Bucks

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by PichaDis11
And I'm here wishing the damn BMW live would work instead of the Internet.

Glad you got something working tho.
Post your TRC file and let's compare?
Appreciate 0
      03-27-2015, 04:17 PM   #16
terminator2k2
First Lieutenant
9
Rep
320
Posts

Drives: 2006 e90
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: uk

iTrader: (1)

I think pichadis cic software is too old for live
__________________
Retrofitted : cic + combox with $614 , $615 , $6FL , $6NF , $6NR retrofit
Appreciate 0
      03-27-2015, 07:28 PM   #17
PichaDis11
Lieutenant Colonel
PichaDis11's Avatar
United_States
178
Rep
1,897
Posts

Drives: E90 N52
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: NY

iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by terminator2k2
I think pichadis cic software is too old for live
Really even if it's from an MY2011 car?
__________________
...
Appreciate 0
      03-27-2015, 08:05 PM   #18
terminator2k2
First Lieutenant
9
Rep
320
Posts

Drives: 2006 e90
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: uk

iTrader: (1)

aren't you on CIC.c16 ? with bmw apps and no fsc code as per jezzys thread ?

as im sure this is too old for bmw live.
__________________
Retrofitted : cic + combox with $614 , $615 , $6FL , $6NF , $6NR retrofit
Appreciate 0
      03-27-2015, 08:22 PM   #19
PichaDis11
Lieutenant Colonel
PichaDis11's Avatar
United_States
178
Rep
1,897
Posts

Drives: E90 N52
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: NY

iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by terminator2k2
aren't you on CIC.c16 ? with bmw apps and no fsc code as per jezzys thread ?

as im sure this is too old for bmw live.
Yea CIC.c16 all options are there from donor car.. Connected drive, apps etc.
__________________
...
Appreciate 0
      03-28-2015, 01:10 PM   #20
khurmit
First Lieutenant
khurmit's Avatar
United Kingdom
32
Rep
320
Posts

Drives: '14 M5 Competition & '06 116i
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Stoke Poges, Bucks

iTrader: (0)

SUCCESS!!

Internet is now working! Thanks terminator2k2 for your help ;-)

Used Tool 32 to code a Russian VIN (which came with 614/615 option from factory).

Basically I wrote the VIN to the Combox & CIC using 2 different jobs:
  1. Launch tool32.exe
  2. Hit F3 or go to File -> Load -> c:\EDIBAS\ECU\CMEDIAR.prg
  3. Scroll down to C_FG_SCHREIBE Job
  4. put the 18 digits of the desired VIN (i.e. 17 digit VIN + checksum) into the Argument box, then press the button on toolbar at top which has "1*>" written on it (means "Start Job Once Only"). A result screen should pop up indicating the job was successful.
  5. Close the result screen, then scroll down to C_FG_AUFTRAG Job
  6. Repeat step 4, then close the result screen
  7. Hit F3 or go to File -> Load -> c:\EDIBAS\ECU\CICR.prg
  8. Repeat steps 3 to 6, then you're done!

Let car sleep, then test it - turn on Bluetooth & Tethering in your phone, then in the Service Status Menu of ConnectedDrive click on "Update BMW Services". Once done, Internet is up and running!

FYI strangely I still pair to my car using my original VIN, rather than the Russian one - I had read in various places that VIN change could be verified by the Bluetooth device name your phone is connected with, but this isn't the case for me

For those of you struggling to get this working, I leave you with this thought......Now I've got it working, I'll prob never use it again aside from showing others
Appreciate 2
Mwahab38.50

      03-28-2015, 01:10 PM   #21
khurmit
First Lieutenant
khurmit's Avatar
United Kingdom
32
Rep
320
Posts

Drives: '14 M5 Competition & '06 116i
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Stoke Poges, Bucks

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by PichaDis11 View Post
Yea CIC.c16 all options are there from donor car.. Connected drive, apps etc.
Mine is CIC.C16 and has both working?
Appreciate 0
      03-28-2015, 01:35 PM   #22
PichaDis11
Lieutenant Colonel
PichaDis11's Avatar
United_States
178
Rep
1,897
Posts

Drives: E90 N52
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: NY

iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by khurmit
Quote:
Originally Posted by PichaDis11 View Post
Yea CIC.c16 all options are there from donor car.. Connected drive, apps etc.
Mine is CIC.C16 and has both working?
Yea I'm not sure if maybe it's because it's a U.S. head unit... I'd always see BMW Online tho and not Live. And it then says my subscription has been expired.
__________________
...
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:50 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST