E90Post

The Tire Rack

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > Tuned N54 vs Cold Weather

01-20-2019, 09:40 PM   #1
itsahappyisaac
Rep
Drives: 09 335xi M sport Cobb stage 1

Tuned N54 vs Cold Weather

Hi everyone, I would like some input and advice about the right habits for having a tuned N54. It just got very cold here in Minnesota, yesterday I had it out in -5F. I'm new to tuning, I installed my AP (stage 1 sport with DCIs) a few weeks ago. Warmed it up and when I got to 200F I did a moderate pull and noticed a decent amount of hesitation right as my turbos kicked up and noticeably less power . So my question is, how cold is too cold to do any amount of spirited driving? I can imagine these temps would effect output with more agressive timing. Can i compensate for these MN winters with the right ignition setup? Is there a temperature where I should switch to stock maps, and the consequences of not doing so.
Appreciate 0
      01-21-2019, 12:14 AM   #2
hellokitty
Brigadier General
United_States
Rep
Drives: '17 M3 ZCP DCT

Could it be traction control engaging and cutting power? I can’t imagine putting down any sort of power in -5f weather.
Appreciate 1
      01-21-2019, 08:36 AM   #3
tony55343
First Lieutenant
Rep
Drives: 08 335i coupe 6mt

I live in MN too , do you have snow tires on the car? I do, and my traction control kicks in all the time when I try to do any spirited driving. I am also tuned , I have MHD stage 1+ currently.
Appreciate 1
      01-21-2019, 10:32 AM   #4
itsahappyisaac
Rep

Quote:
Originally Posted by tony55343 View Post
I live in MN too , do you have snow tires on the car? I do, and my traction control kicks in all the time when I try to do any spirited driving. I am also tuned , I have MHD stage 1+ currently.