E90Post
 


ECS BMW
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > Does it matter what COM port I use?



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      09-09-2019, 05:26 PM   #1
vibroluxious
New Member
United_States
3
Rep
8
Posts

Drives: 2009 3281 X-Drive
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Ohio

iTrader: (0)

Does it matter what COM port I use?

This is likely a dumb question but I honestly don't know the answer. My assumption is no.
I purchased Rhinegold ISTA + a couple of years ago before the vendor disappeared. The software setup for that put the K-DCAN cable on COM Port 9.
I then downloaded BMW Tools and found I had to switch that over from COM 1 to COM 9 to get everything to play nicely together.
The K-DCAN cable that came with the software died so I ordered one from BimmerGeeks. I went to try and use it and it wouldn't read. I switched it from COM 3 to COM 9 and all seems to be well now.

Does it actually matter what COM port I use as long as everything is set to the same thing?

PS I now know that I could have likely downloaded ISTA+ for free even back then. Live and learn I suppose.....doh
Appreciate 0
      09-09-2019, 05:31 PM   #2
hassmaschine
Major General
United_States
2890
Rep
6,081
Posts

Drives: "NBO" 330i
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: earth

iTrader: (0)

No, it really doesn't. As long as your cable is physically assigned the same port that the BMW software is configured to.

Make sure to set the latency of the port to 1 (or whatever it's called, it defaults to 16 which messes up the signal).

Last edited by hassmaschine; 09-11-2019 at 09:20 AM..
Appreciate 0
      09-09-2019, 06:08 PM   #3
Seppi18
New Member
3
Rep
14
Posts

Drives: E90
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Bali

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by hassmaschine View Post
No, it really doesn't. As long as your cable is physically assigned the same port that the BMW software is configured to.

Make sure to set the latency of the port to 0 (or whatever it's called, it defaults to 16 which messes up the signal).
+1
Appreciate 0
      09-09-2019, 06:51 PM   #4
vibroluxious
New Member
United_States
3
Rep
8
Posts

Drives: 2009 3281 X-Drive
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Ohio

iTrader: (0)

Thanks guys, that was my assumption.
Appreciate 0
      09-10-2019, 01:58 AM   #5
sdbmwcoding
Second Lieutenant
40
Rep
203
Posts

Drives: BMW M3
Join Date: May 2019
Location: San Diego

iTrader: (0)

It depends on what the ediabas.ini port is set to. It needs to match device manager port for it to work properly
Appreciate 0
      09-11-2019, 04:10 AM   #6
dpaul
Captain
United_States
207
Rep
863
Posts

Drives: 2009 E90 335xi, 2011 E93 M3
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Boston

iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by hassmaschine View Post
No, it really doesn't. As long as your cable is physically assigned the same port that the BMW software is configured to.

Make sure to set the latency of the port to 0 (or whatever it's called, it defaults to 16 which messes up the signal).
+1, but for the sake of accuracy, latency is set to 1.
Appreciate 1
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:03 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST