E90Post
 


GetBMWParts
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > BMW CODING success



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      07-19-2011, 04:57 PM   #3037
naamanf
Private First Class
3
Rep
169
Posts

Drives: '14 550i '10 MDX '79 TA OH-58D
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Austin

iTrader: (1)

Update Ediabas to 7.2
__________________

335d M-Sport/Everything + Individual, 550i M-Sport ED APR 2014
Appreciate 0
      07-19-2011, 05:18 PM   #3038
sjones0812
Second Lieutenant
sjones0812's Avatar
18
Rep
241
Posts

Drives: 2011 328ic
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Boston

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by naamanf View Post
Update Ediabas to 7.2
Someone did send me updated Ediabas files....how do I see what version I have...and where can I get the updated ones?
__________________
1995 318ic retired
2011 328ic Le Mans Blue, Black leather, Bamboo trim, M Sport package
Appreciate 0
      07-19-2011, 08:54 PM   #3039
sjones0812
Second Lieutenant
sjones0812's Avatar
18
Rep
241
Posts

Drives: 2011 328ic
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Boston

iTrader: (0)

I found a DL to 7.2

Are these the current versions I have from the version files.

Ediabas Version 7.2.0_Package_1.2
INPA 5.0.1 Update auf 5.0.2
NCSexper 3.1.0
__________________
1995 318ic retired
2011 328ic Le Mans Blue, Black leather, Bamboo trim, M Sport package
Appreciate 0
      07-19-2011, 08:57 PM   #3040
bumere90
Grozniy
United_States
114
Rep
2,600
Posts

Drives: Carless
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: FL

iTrader: (12)

nope
__________________
-fatman
Appreciate 0
      07-20-2011, 02:09 AM   #3041
kennethpetro
Lieutenant
United_States
6
Rep
421
Posts

Drives: 2011 328i JB/Black Dakota
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: North Jersey

iTrader: (2)

I have a 2011 LCI e92 (May 2011 Build) and I would like to activate Sirius. Even though i didn't order Sirius as an option through BMW, I understand that my car already comes w/ Sirius pre-wired so all it needs to be is coded and turned on. I was wondering, has anyone had success in doing this? If so, is anyone around the NYC area that can help?
__________________
2011 Jet Black 328i, 6-Speed Manual, Black Dakota Leather, Brushed Aluminum, Harmon Kardon w/ Surround Sound, Navi, BMW Apps, iPod & USB Adapter, BMW Assist w/ Bluetooth, Full LED Interior, 6000k HID Fogs, Matte Black Kidney Grills, M3 Lip Spoiler, ACS Roof Spoiler, 19" Beyern Black Mesh *19x8.5 front(ET40)* *19x9.5 rear(ET30)*
Appreciate 0
      07-20-2011, 07:53 AM   #3042
Dracon
Major
United_States
518
Rep
1,207
Posts

Drives: 2013 F10 M5
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Out and About

iTrader: (34)

Garage List
2013 BMW M5  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by kennethpetro View Post
I have a 2011 LCI e92 (May 2011 Build) and I would like to activate Sirius. Even though i didn't order Sirius as an option through BMW, I understand that my car already comes w/ Sirius pre-wired so all it needs to be is coded and turned on. I was wondering, has anyone had success in doing this? If so, is anyone around the NYC area that can help?
Sirius should be built into the head unit, but if I remember correctly you need an FSC code to activate it. It can't be activated by coding alone. Only place to get an FSC code is the dealership.
Appreciate 0
      07-20-2011, 10:27 AM   #3043
kennethpetro
Lieutenant
United_States
6
Rep
421
Posts

Drives: 2011 328i JB/Black Dakota
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: North Jersey

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dracon View Post
Sirius should be built into the head unit, but if I remember correctly you need an FSC code to activate it. It can't be activated by coding alone. Only place to get an FSC code is the dealership.
I just received a quote from a friend of mine that works at a BMW dealership in North NJ. He said it's $400 for the code plus 1.5 hours of labor which comes out to about $600! The Sirius option when you order a car is only $500....and that comes with a 1 year subscription of Sirius !

Has anyone else heard of any cheaper rates from any other dealership?
__________________
2011 Jet Black 328i, 6-Speed Manual, Black Dakota Leather, Brushed Aluminum, Harmon Kardon w/ Surround Sound, Navi, BMW Apps, iPod & USB Adapter, BMW Assist w/ Bluetooth, Full LED Interior, 6000k HID Fogs, Matte Black Kidney Grills, M3 Lip Spoiler, ACS Roof Spoiler, 19" Beyern Black Mesh *19x8.5 front(ET40)* *19x9.5 rear(ET30)*
Appreciate 0
      07-20-2011, 10:31 AM   #3044
Pseudo Nim
twinborific
Pseudo Nim's Avatar
74
Rep
4,780
Posts

Drives: fast, sometimes slow
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: i am a citizen of the world

iTrader: (9)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dracon View Post
Sirius should be built into the head unit, but if I remember correctly you need an FSC code to activate it. It can't be activated by coding alone. Only place to get an FSC code is the dealership.
Are you sure about this?

Sirius is normally a separate module. Open your trunk, lift the center liner and look behind the rear seat: see if you have two modules, or only one. If you have only one module (the right one, I think), then you likely do NOT have the Sirius module. If you have two, then you do - then you should be able to just get it coded into your VO and activated with Sirius.

FSC code is for navigation / CIC unit unlocking/activation. Not for Sirius. Technically, a Sirius device can be installed and activated without leaving your house.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      07-20-2011, 11:20 AM   #3045
kennethpetro
Lieutenant
United_States
6
Rep
421
Posts

Drives: 2011 328i JB/Black Dakota
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: North Jersey

iTrader: (2)

I no longer have the 2008 328i that is in my signature of my posts. I have a 2011 w/ iDrive and Nav so i've heard that 2011's no longer have separate Sirius module(s)....They actually have Sirius already installed within the head unit whether or not you've ordered the option or not. I guess i'll double check, but i'm pretty sure i'm right on this one
__________________
2011 Jet Black 328i, 6-Speed Manual, Black Dakota Leather, Brushed Aluminum, Harmon Kardon w/ Surround Sound, Navi, BMW Apps, iPod & USB Adapter, BMW Assist w/ Bluetooth, Full LED Interior, 6000k HID Fogs, Matte Black Kidney Grills, M3 Lip Spoiler, ACS Roof Spoiler, 19" Beyern Black Mesh *19x8.5 front(ET40)* *19x9.5 rear(ET30)*
Appreciate 0
      07-20-2011, 12:09 PM   #3046
Dracon
Major
United_States
518
Rep
1,207
Posts

Drives: 2013 F10 M5
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Out and About

iTrader: (34)

Garage List
2013 BMW M5  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by kennethpetro View Post
I no longer have the 2008 328i that is in my signature of my posts. I have a 2011 w/ iDrive and Nav so i've heard that 2011's no longer have separate Sirius module(s)....They actually have Sirius already installed within the head unit whether or not you've ordered the option or not. I guess i'll double check, but i'm pretty sure i'm right on this one
Correct, the Sirius module is now built into the headunit itself, it's no longer a separate module (like my 330i's module in the trunk). It's disabled/enabled via FSC codes from the dealership. Having it in the headunit now is also what enables the new features of pausing/replaying the live SAT stream.

I believe it started with MY2010+ vehicles, the SAT signal is carried down the GPS antenna wire to the CIC.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Pseudo Nim View Post
FSC code is for navigation / CIC unit unlocking/activation. Not for Sirius. Technically, a Sirius device can be installed and activated without leaving your house.
Not 100% correct, FSC codes are used to enable any feature in the hardware that the customer has paid for. They can be used for anything BMW wants to build into the hardware but make you pay a cost to have it as an option. When you buy it as an option at build time, the FSC is generated and loaded, if not, you can buy an FSC code later and the dealer simply loads it into the car and the feature is enabled without swapping expensive hardware around.

Last edited by Dracon; 07-20-2011 at 12:14 PM.
Appreciate 0
      07-20-2011, 12:35 PM   #3047
Dracon
Major
United_States
518
Rep
1,207
Posts

Drives: 2013 F10 M5
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Out and About

iTrader: (34)

Garage List
2013 BMW M5  [0.00]
Here's the link on BMW USA's website to purchase retrofit FSC codes for Sirius.

http://www.shopbmwusa.com/ProductDet...ProductId=2826

$375 to enable the option if you don't order it from the factory, enables the Sirius radio inside the navigation unit.
Appreciate 0
      07-20-2011, 01:17 PM   #3048
Elliott@DetailAddict
Brigadier General
United_States
192
Rep
4,444
Posts

Drives: E90
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Santa Clara, CA

iTrader: (0)

All this talk of Sirius just made me activate mine lol $25 for 6 months!
Appreciate 0
      07-20-2011, 01:41 PM   #3049
kennethpetro
Lieutenant
United_States
6
Rep
421
Posts

Drives: 2011 328i JB/Black Dakota
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: North Jersey

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dracon View Post
Here's the link on BMW USA's website to purchase retrofit FSC codes for Sirius.

http://www.shopbmwusa.com/ProductDet...ProductId=2826

$375 to enable the option if you don't order it from the factory, enables the Sirius radio inside the navigation unit.

Wow that's awsome! I also see that it requires SA693 (satelite radio prep) in addition to Navigation. SA693 comes in all 2010+ models, right? I just don't see that checked off on my list of options from BMW.

Also, I'm a noob when it comes to coding, but i would also have to buy a cable that connects to my car to go with that right?
__________________
2011 Jet Black 328i, 6-Speed Manual, Black Dakota Leather, Brushed Aluminum, Harmon Kardon w/ Surround Sound, Navi, BMW Apps, iPod & USB Adapter, BMW Assist w/ Bluetooth, Full LED Interior, 6000k HID Fogs, Matte Black Kidney Grills, M3 Lip Spoiler, ACS Roof Spoiler, 19" Beyern Black Mesh *19x8.5 front(ET40)* *19x9.5 rear(ET30)*

Last edited by kennethpetro; 07-20-2011 at 01:46 PM.
Appreciate 0
      07-20-2011, 01:52 PM   #3050
kennethpetro
Lieutenant
United_States
6
Rep
421
Posts

Drives: 2011 328i JB/Black Dakota
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: North Jersey

iTrader: (2)

It lists two rates for installed and uninstalled:

BMW SIRIUS Retrofit Enable Code (FSC), Installed $417.00

BMW SIRIUS Retrofit Enable Code (FSC),Uninstalled $330.00
__________________
2011 Jet Black 328i, 6-Speed Manual, Black Dakota Leather, Brushed Aluminum, Harmon Kardon w/ Surround Sound, Navi, BMW Apps, iPod & USB Adapter, BMW Assist w/ Bluetooth, Full LED Interior, 6000k HID Fogs, Matte Black Kidney Grills, M3 Lip Spoiler, ACS Roof Spoiler, 19" Beyern Black Mesh *19x8.5 front(ET40)* *19x9.5 rear(ET30)*
Appreciate 0
      07-20-2011, 04:35 PM   #3051
Dracon
Major
United_States
518
Rep
1,207
Posts

Drives: 2013 F10 M5
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Out and About

iTrader: (34)

Garage List
2013 BMW M5  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by kennethpetro View Post
Wow that's awsome! I also see that it requires SA693 (satelite radio prep) in addition to Navigation. SA693 comes in all 2010+ models, right? I just don't see that checked off on my list of options from BMW.

Also, I'm a noob when it comes to coding, but i would also have to buy a cable that connects to my car to go with that right?
Well, that's something that people are working on. There's only a select few people (vendors) that have the knowledge to load FSC codes using the BMW coding tools. People are trying to figure it out so that can load FSC codes into the CIC for all features.

Otherwise, you have to goto the dealership and they can load the FSC codes via their ISIS server.
Appreciate 0
      07-20-2011, 04:37 PM   #3052
Dracon
Major
United_States
518
Rep
1,207
Posts

Drives: 2013 F10 M5
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Out and About

iTrader: (34)

Garage List
2013 BMW M5  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by kennethpetro View Post
It lists two rates for installed and uninstalled:

BMW SIRIUS Retrofit Enable Code (FSC), Installed $417.00

BMW SIRIUS Retrofit Enable Code (FSC),Uninstalled $330.00
Yeah, one rate is probably for the code+dealer to load it.

The other is probably just the code on a disc or piece of paper and you figure out how to load them into the car.
Appreciate 0
      07-20-2011, 05:02 PM   #3053
kennethpetro
Lieutenant
United_States
6
Rep
421
Posts

Drives: 2011 328i JB/Black Dakota
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: North Jersey

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dracon View Post
Yeah, one rate is probably for the code+dealer to load it.

The other is probably just the code on a disc or piece of paper and you figure out how to load them into the car.
Best quote i could get was $538 including installation & labor. I think I'll pass for now lol
__________________
2011 Jet Black 328i, 6-Speed Manual, Black Dakota Leather, Brushed Aluminum, Harmon Kardon w/ Surround Sound, Navi, BMW Apps, iPod & USB Adapter, BMW Assist w/ Bluetooth, Full LED Interior, 6000k HID Fogs, Matte Black Kidney Grills, M3 Lip Spoiler, ACS Roof Spoiler, 19" Beyern Black Mesh *19x8.5 front(ET40)* *19x9.5 rear(ET30)*
Appreciate 0
      07-21-2011, 04:07 AM   #3054
E92Ghost
New Member
E92Ghost's Avatar
0
Rep
29
Posts

Drives: E92 335i
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Netherlands

iTrader: (0)

I have installed inpa, ncsexper and ediabas software on my computer. I want to read now something from my car. But when I start inpa there in not an E92 car type? I have a E92 335i coupe from 2006.

So can anyone tell me what type must I select to use inpa or ncsexper?
Appreciate 0
      07-21-2011, 04:50 AM   #3055
Blindek
New Member
Slovenia
0
Rep
9
Posts

Drives: E91 330Xi
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Slovenia - EU

iTrader: (0)

E89
Appreciate 0
      07-21-2011, 05:00 AM   #3056
E92Ghost
New Member
E92Ghost's Avatar
0
Rep
29
Posts

Drives: E92 335i
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Netherlands

iTrader: (0)

Thanks for the response. To be sure… For ncsexper I use E89 and for inpa E90?
Appreciate 0
      07-21-2011, 08:31 AM   #3057
bumere90
Grozniy
United_States
114
Rep
2,600
Posts

Drives: Carless
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: FL

iTrader: (12)

yes
__________________
-fatman
Appreciate 0
      07-21-2011, 11:45 AM   #3058
roadkillrob
Brigadier General
United_States
212
Rep
4,354
Posts

Drives: 08 335i,16 X5 35i,12 C63 AMG
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston

iTrader: (15)

Yes and you don't have a 2006 e92, first model year for e92 was 07, but it may have been built late 2006, in 06 e90 came out e92 the year later.
__________________
2008 E93 335i, MHD, HPF IC, Injen Intake, AR DPs, Xhp TCU Flash
2016 X5 M-sport 35i JB Stage 1
2013 Mercedes C63 AMG, ROW airboxes, power pipe, Eurocharged V7 540 HP
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:30 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST