Bimmerpost for Android has just been updated to version 4.3.55 with a host of bug fixes. Try it out!

  E90Post
 


Evolution of Speed
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N55 Turbo Engine Tuning and Exhaust Modifications - 335i Tuning > MHD N55 E-Series - general discussion



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      02-09-2018, 12:58 AM   #4753
Toome
Member
Toome's Avatar
United_States
142
Rep
428
Posts

Drives: 2012 E92 335i M-Sport
Join Date: May 2017
Location: San Diego, CA

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by asus_38 View Post
So today I flashed stage 1 on my 2011 335i. Im paranoid that chose the wrong options. I live in California and chose 91 ACN. Should I have chose 91 OCT? Also my orher concern was choosing Transmission. I have regular AT. I chose the AT + Xdrive Standard. Idk if I misunderstood but I didnt choose the other option with Alpina because i dont have that. Can someone chime in if I did the correct option and flash? I did start the car and drove it no problems but i just want to make sure if not so I can reflash it toomorow. Thanks
ACN (Arizona, California, Nevada) 91 and standard AT flash are the correct options. No need to worry.
__________________
12 E92 335i 6AT - Alpine White M-Sports Package
Mods - | MHD Stage2+ ACN91 OTS Map | K&N Drop-in | VRSF Kittenless D0wnpipe | VRSF CP | VRSF 7 FMIC | xHP Stage 3 | Euro Headlight Switch | Avant Garde M359 | Michelin PS4S
Appreciate 0
      02-09-2018, 01:03 AM   #4754
StormtrooperN55
Private
14
Rep
79
Posts

Drives: 2011 335I
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Fresno

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toome View Post
ACN (Arizona, California, Nevada) 91 and standard AT flash are the correct options. No need to worry.
Thanks! I had 1 more question if you dont mind. I feel like i set exhaust burble to low. Do I have to reflash to change these settings?
Appreciate 0
      02-09-2018, 01:11 AM   #4755
Toome
Member
Toome's Avatar
United_States
142
Rep
428
Posts

Drives: 2012 E92 335i M-Sport
Join Date: May 2017
Location: San Diego, CA

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by asus_38 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toome View Post
ACN (Arizona, California, Nevada) 91 and standard AT flash are the correct options. No need to worry.
Thanks! I had 1 more question if you dont mind. I feel like i set exhaust burble to low. Do I have to reflash to change these settings?
There is no burble intensity option on the N55 app yet, but it is coming soon. We're all eagerly waiting for it
__________________
12 E92 335i 6AT - Alpine White M-Sports Package
Mods - | MHD Stage2+ ACN91 OTS Map | K&N Drop-in | VRSF Kittenless D0wnpipe | VRSF CP | VRSF 7 FMIC | xHP Stage 3 | Euro Headlight Switch | Avant Garde M359 | Michelin PS4S
Appreciate 0
      02-09-2018, 01:25 AM   #4756
StormtrooperN55
Private
14
Rep
79
Posts

Drives: 2011 335I
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Fresno

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toome View Post
There is no burble intensity option on the N55 app yet, but it is coming soon. We're all eagerly waiting for it
Dope. So when updates come out is a full reflash required or will it be faster?
Appreciate 0
      02-09-2018, 01:29 AM   #4757
Toome
Member
Toome's Avatar
United_States
142
Rep
428
Posts

Drives: 2012 E92 335i M-Sport
Join Date: May 2017
Location: San Diego, CA

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by asus_38 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toome View Post
There is no burble intensity option on the N55 app yet, but it is coming soon. We're all eagerly waiting for it
Dope. So when updates come out is a full reflash required or will it be faster?
It's always a 4 min map switch after the initial long flash.
__________________
12 E92 335i 6AT - Alpine White M-Sports Package
Mods - | MHD Stage2+ ACN91 OTS Map | K&N Drop-in | VRSF Kittenless D0wnpipe | VRSF CP | VRSF 7 FMIC | xHP Stage 3 | Euro Headlight Switch | Avant Garde M359 | Michelin PS4S
Appreciate 0
      02-09-2018, 10:24 PM   #4758
spooned_n55
New Member
0
Rep
16
Posts

Drives: 2011 335xi m sport
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Toronto, ON

iTrader: (0)

NEED HELP URGENTLY - I was running stage 1, no issues, just needed to flash back to stock (Map 0) to get emissions done.

Ever since switching back to Map 0 (Stock) I keep getting code Shadow Code 34B2 EGS - elektrischer Notlauf aktiv.

The result - my transmission won't shift through gears. Will only shifts between park, drive, neutral etc. When you put it in D it stays in 3rd I believe - manual mode and DS don't do anything.

This ONLY happened when I flashed back to stock this morning - as soon as I started it up from flashing I got a CEL light and the car on the lift logo and viola here I am.

If I try to clear the fault by clearing all the DME and module codes it comes back immediately.

PLEASE help I need to regain functionality of my trans!!

Last edited by spooned_n55; 02-09-2018 at 11:53 PM.
Appreciate 0
      02-10-2018, 01:47 AM   #4759
xxMike61
Private First Class
xxMike61's Avatar
33
Rep
199
Posts

Drives: 2011 335i Coupe
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Sacramento, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by spooned_n55 View Post
NEED HELP URGENTLY - I was running stage 1, no issues, just needed to flash back to stock (Map 0) to get emissions done.

Ever since switching back to Map 0 (Stock) I keep getting code Shadow Code 34B2 EGS - elektrischer Notlauf aktiv.

The result - my transmission won't shift through gears. Will only shifts between park, drive, neutral etc. When you put it in D it stays in 3rd I believe - manual mode and DS don't do anything.

This ONLY happened when I flashed back to stock this morning - as soon as I started it up from flashing I got a CEL light and the car on the lift logo and viola here I am.

If I try to clear the fault by clearing all the DME and module codes it comes back immediately.

PLEASE help I need to regain functionality of my trans!!

Is EVERYTHING unplugged / off when you flash ? Like no accessories, day time running lights off, no AC on, etc. Flashes can be very picky
__________________
2011 335i M-Sport E92
MHD 2+ | Phoenix Racing CP | BMS Intake | xHP Stage 3 | VRSF DP | ARM 5" FMIC
Appreciate 0
      02-10-2018, 02:38 AM   #4760
Keyless77
Private
17
Rep
63
Posts

Drives: 135i N55 e88 DCT, Wagner FMIC
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: GE

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by spooned_n55 View Post
NEED HELP URGENTLY - I was running stage 1, no issues, just needed to flash back to stock (Map 0) to get emissions done.

Ever since switching back to Map 0 (Stock) I keep getting code Shadow Code 34B2 EGS - elektrischer Notlauf aktiv.

The result - my transmission won't shift through gears. Will only shifts between park, drive, neutral etc. When you put it in D it stays in 3rd I believe - manual mode and DS don't do anything.

This ONLY happened when I flashed back to stock this morning - as soon as I started it up from flashing I got a CEL light and the car on the lift logo and viola here I am.

If I try to clear the fault by clearing all the DME and module codes it comes back immediately.

PLEASE help I need to regain functionality of my trans!!


In your case, I would try flushing the tune again , and test how the car behaves, if all good then flush back to stock . Make sure
- Wire is firmly connected to your device and dont shake while flushing, it might be faulty
- batteries in good shape (car n mobile device ), else connect extra one
- turn everything off, wipers, lights, vent , radio
- and above all dont touch anything while flushing, e.g opening any doors.

Do you have xhp installed?

Last edited by Keyless77; 02-10-2018 at 02:45 AM.
Appreciate 0
      02-10-2018, 03:07 PM   #4761
Wksk
Second Lieutenant
71
Rep
228
Posts

Drives: 2013 335i e92 6spd goes vroom!
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Florida

iTrader: (0)

Quick question. I hope i make sense.

The initial MHD flash takes over 30 minutes (which i assume is because of the transfer of large amounts of data) and then map changes take 4 minutes. What i dont understand is if i take it to the dealer and flash map 0 before i take it in (which puts it back to stock), so what is left on my ECU that is modified that required 30 minutes to flash initially?
Appreciate 0
      02-10-2018, 03:13 PM   #4762
flexbrah
hehe ty men
flexbrah's Avatar
24
Rep
206
Posts

Drives: 335i
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Tampa, FL

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by spooned_n55 View Post
NEED HELP URGENTLY - I was running stage 1, no issues, just needed to flash back to stock (Map 0) to get emissions done.

Ever since switching back to Map 0 (Stock) I keep getting code Shadow Code 34B2 EGS - elektrischer Notlauf aktiv.

The result - my transmission won't shift through gears. Will only shifts between park, drive, neutral etc. When you put it in D it stays in 3rd I believe - manual mode and DS don't do anything.

This ONLY happened when I flashed back to stock this morning - as soon as I started it up from flashing I got a CEL light and the car on the lift logo and viola here I am.

If I try to clear the fault by clearing all the DME and module codes it comes back immediately.

PLEASE help I need to regain functionality of my trans!!
Are you running xhp?

Try disconnecting the battery for a bit then reconnect the battery and turn the ignition on but keep engine off for 1-2mins then see if it helps
Appreciate 0
      02-10-2018, 05:01 PM   #4763
yayaya
Private
2
Rep
69
Posts

Drives: BMW 335xi E92 N55
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Midwest

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Twisted Tuning View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by yayaya View Post
So if I?ve already replaced HPFP Injectors and Plugs do I need to replace coils and LPFP?
The last log you posted ... Albeit only 70 percent throttle or so. You can see the rail pressure tanking. So if you replaced the HPFP it may be be the LPFO4
Quote:
Originally Posted by Twisted Tuning View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by yayaya View Post
So if I?ve already replaced HPFP Injectors and Plugs do I need to replace coils and LPFP?
The last log you posted ... Albeit only 70 percent throttle or so. You can see the rail pressure tanking. So if you replaced the HPFP it may be be the LPFO4
What is LPFO4?
Appreciate 0
      02-10-2018, 06:36 PM   #4764
rich_mane
Second Lieutenant
rich_mane's Avatar
62
Rep
229
Posts

Drives: 2011 E92 335i
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: S.FL

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wksk View Post
Quick question. I hope i make sense.

The initial MHD flash takes over 30 minutes (which i assume is because of the transfer of large amounts of data) and then map changes take 4 minutes. What i dont understand is if i take it to the dealer and flash map 0 before i take it in (which puts it back to stock), so what is left on my ECU that is modified that required 30 minutes to flash initially?
(As far as I know) map 0 is a stock tune, but is not "stock." It's an older version of the DME that the custom tunes are based off of. The 4 minute map flashing is just altering that version of the DME. If you were to ever have the dealer program/update the DME to the newest version, it would need to have the long flash done again with MHD, which would just revert those changes.
Appreciate 1
Wksk71.00

      02-10-2018, 07:49 PM   #4765
Wksk
Second Lieutenant
71
Rep
228
Posts

Drives: 2013 335i e92 6spd goes vroom!
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Florida

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by rich_mane View Post
(As far as I know) map 0 is a stock tune, but is not "stock." It's an older version of the DME that the custom tunes are based off of. The 4 minute map flashing is just altering that version of the DME. If you were to ever have the dealer program/update the DME to the newest version, it would need to have the long flash done again with MHD, which would just revert those changes.
Thanks for the reply. So what exactly is left behind? I ask because I have a 2013 so I can't just flash full stock and need to take it in to the dealer. I'm not really worried but curious as there is obviously altered data. Does the dme report as an older version if BMW queries it?
Appreciate 0
      02-11-2018, 01:50 PM   #4766
spooned_n55
New Member
0
Rep
16
Posts

Drives: 2011 335xi m sport
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Toronto, ON

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Twisted Tuning View Post
did you try "clearing other modules"? sounds like possibly a low voltage situation happened during flashing.

Did you flash back to stock or stage zero?
I tried "clearing other modules" multiple times, the code will not clear. As soon as the clearing process is done the code is right back immediately.

I've put a battery charger on it, the voltage is consistently reading in the 12's with the car off as per the charger. I've tried flashing back stage 1, back to Map 0, Back to stock, taking the negative battery terminal off to reset the DME... Nothing has worked!! I am freaking out now...

I had all the lights turned off and didn't touch anything when it was flashing, charger hooked up the whole time.

Running Samsung Galaxy Tab A

Only other mod on the car - BMS intake

Any help to get this car operable again would be appreciated.

Last edited by spooned_n55; 02-11-2018 at 02:02 PM.
Appreciate 0
      02-11-2018, 03:47 PM   #4767
Hunter3
Private
United_States
8
Rep
52
Posts

Drives: 2013 BMW 335i e92 N55
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: United States

iTrader: (0)

Any word on having MHD being flashed on later model N55 without the bench flash and DME removal ?
Appreciate 0
      02-11-2018, 06:14 PM   #4768
Toome
Member
Toome's Avatar
United_States
142
Rep
428
Posts

Drives: 2012 E92 335i M-Sport
Join Date: May 2017
Location: San Diego, CA

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hunter3 View Post
Any word on having MHD being flashed on later model N55 without the bench flash and DME removal ?
The F-Series exploit does not work on late E-Series, so I doubt this will be happening anytime soon if at all.
__________________
12 E92 335i 6AT - Alpine White M-Sports Package
Mods - | MHD Stage2+ ACN91 OTS Map | K&N Drop-in | VRSF Kittenless D0wnpipe | VRSF CP | VRSF 7 FMIC | xHP Stage 3 | Euro Headlight Switch | Avant Garde M359 | Michelin PS4S
Appreciate 0
      02-11-2018, 09:03 PM   #4769
StormtrooperN55
Private
14
Rep
79
Posts

Drives: 2011 335I
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Fresno

iTrader: (1)

Any plans in adding a gauge sweep feature like jb4?
Appreciate 0
      02-11-2018, 09:30 PM   #4770
spooned_n55
New Member
0
Rep
16
Posts

Drives: 2011 335xi m sport
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Toronto, ON

iTrader: (0)

UPDATE - scanned the TCU and got code cf33 - the tcu isn't communicating with engine and it's in limp mode. I have no idea how the MHD flash could have caused this to happen. Everything was A-OK until I tried to flash back to Map 0 and it's all been downhill. I am very confused on what to do next.
Appreciate 0
      02-13-2018, 01:57 PM   #4771
OneMoreAlex
Second Lieutenant
OneMoreAlex's Avatar
36
Rep
202
Posts

Drives: 2012 e92 335i
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Long Island, NY

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by spooned_n55 View Post
UPDATE - scanned the TCU and got code cf33 - the tcu isn't communicating with engine and it's in limp mode. I have no idea how the MHD flash could have caused this to happen. Everything was A-OK until I tried to flash back to Map 0 and it's all been downhill. I am very confused on what to do next.
Did you have a battery charger connected when you flashed the car? Try replacing the battery. Might clear the code you're getting.
__________________
12' 335i
| CP-E CP | MHD | VRSF DP | ALPINA B3 |
Appreciate 0
      02-13-2018, 04:25 PM   #4772
Boo$ted_in_ri
Private First Class
27
Rep
156
Posts

Drives: 2011 335i
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: RI

iTrader: (0)

Can you tell us what to expect from the new update besides the burble and mafless?
Appreciate 0
      02-13-2018, 05:14 PM   #4773
CurtisP87
Enlisted Member
3
Rep
45
Posts

Drives: 2011 335xi Alpine White
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Portland, OR

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Boo$ted_in_ri View Post
Can you tell us what to expect...besides the burble
Wait...there's other things we can do with tuning...?
Appreciate 2
Toome142.00

      02-13-2018, 06:17 PM   #4774
StormtrooperN55
Private
14
Rep
79
Posts

Drives: 2011 335I
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Fresno

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by CurtisP87 View Post
Wait...there's other things we can do with tuning...?
Lol. It would be nice to add the Gauge Sweep at startup.
Appreciate 1
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
mhd, n55, tuning

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:33 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST