E90Post

The Tire Rack

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > N54 / JB4 High RPM Issues

09-19-2021, 07:47 PM   #1
adisw
Registered
Rep
Drives: BMW 335XI E90

N54 / JB4 High RPM Issues

Hi Everyone,

I've had a brand new JB4 installed on my '08 N54 car for about 6 months now. My car typically sits on Map 2 or 3. When I get into the high RPM's / boost levels at WOT, I get two blinks from the turn signals telling me that the JB4 detected an issue and moved me into Map 4. This issue is consistently repeatable.

The car has no codes, a JB4 installed with an MHD backend, DCI, blow of valve, VRSF charge pipe (doesn't fit that well on the manifold), and DPs. I run straight 91 here in California.

I've been scratching my head for a while on this, and finally got around to getting some logs collected from the JB4. I'm not an expert in interpreting them, but maybe this will help in diagnosing the issue?

Any ideas on what the problem could be? Thanks ahead for the help.
Attached Files
File Type: zip 210919_1648.zip (8.7 KB, 29 views)
Appreciate 0
      09-19-2021, 11:24 PM   #2
Saif2018
Brigadier General
Rep
Drives: E90 335i

Quote:
Originally Posted by adisw View Post
Hi Everyone,

I've had a brand new JB4 installed on my '08 N54 car for about 6 months now. My car typically sits on Map 2 or 3. When I get into the high RPM's / boost levels at WOT, I get two blinks from the turn signals telling me that the JB4 detected an issue and moved me into Map 4. This issue is consistently repeatable.

The car has no codes, a JB4 installed with an MHD backend, DCI, blow of valve, VRSF charge pipe (doesn't fit that well on the manifold), and DPs. I run straight 91 here in California.