E90Post

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BMW E90/E92/E93 3-series General Forums > General E90 Sedan / E91 Wagon / E92 Coupe / E93 Cabrio > New to BMW, Mod questions (FMIC/Tuner)

05-15-2019, 07:54 AM   #1
LakeSurfer
Captain
United_States
Rep
Drives: bicycle

New to BMW, Mod questions (FMIC/Tuner)

Good Day,

I am new to this forum, BMWs and Tuning in general. Over the past few months I’ve decided to start looking for a fun fast convertible 6 speed and landed on the 335is. Although I do not have the car yet as I’m waiting for the right spec to show up, however, I am starting to pick up preventive maintenance parts (plugs, coils, walnut blasting supplies, oil/filers,……) as well as Bolt ons (DCI, charge pipe, downpipe). I am stuck on a couple mods and hope I can use some of knowledgeable folks here to help me out, specifically with the tune/tuner and the FMIC.

As stated above I do not have too much experience tuning cars, however, unrelated, I have been an aircraft mechanic for the past 15 years. So I do consider myself reasonably mechanically inclined.

I don’t race or track my cars, I’m not an aggressive driver, I do like to stomp on it for short burst from time to time. I plan to do the bolt ons and nothing else so my first question is for the FMIC. I live in florida where is 95 every day for 7 months should I think about the 7” intercooler or would the 5” be plenty for a driver like me?