E90Post
 


TNT Racewerks
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > .



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      02-09-2019, 01:45 AM   #1
Jim_B
Private
United_States
3
Rep
72
Posts

Drives: Wife's '09 328i xDrive
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Colorado

iTrader: (0)

.

.

Last edited by Jim_B; 02-13-2019 at 01:14 AM..
Appreciate 0
      02-09-2019, 02:28 AM   #2
ctuna
Major General
928
Rep
9,279
Posts

Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca

iTrader: (0)

Its always best to set up the Inpa suite first.
and test it.
This is contained in BMW standard tools at the Bimmergeeks.net
download site.

You have to be careful to follow the instructions exactly .
If you are using windows 10 the command prompt is now
call the power shell and you need to use the admin version.

You don't need the latest daten files for and e90 .
Ista + is just and extension of Ista D for working on the newer
BMW's




Ok these are the actual instructions

1. Make sure you have a functioning Standard Tools install.
You can obtain this from our site with instructions inside.

2. Install all items in the "Pre-Install" Folder

3. Move "Rheingold" folder to c:\program files (x86)

4. Create shortcut for IstaGUI. It is located in C:\Program Files (x86)\Rheingold\TesterGUI\bin\Release

5. Move that shortcut to the "Bmw Tools" folder from your Standard Tools" install from step 1 and rename IstaGUI to "Ista"

6. Launch Ista and complete setup. When prompted for license, copy and paste the entire contents of the IstaLicense.txt file from this download.

***If you have issues launching ista and recieve a "failed to Launch

Always launch ista D from the admin login.

downloading the files is not enough.
The instructions for setup must be followed exactly.

there are about three ways to register that battery .
Using tool32 in the Inpa suite
Using Inpa or
Using Ista D

It is worth getting ista d going as it is a more sophisticated
program than the Inpa suite. and its not that much more to do
once you get Inpa going under standard tools.

diagnostic manual ista/inpa
https://bimmerprofs.com/diagnostics-inpa-part-1/
https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=...xo19teM9vkTF-C
https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=...7x8H3pN8h1fMuF
https://www.bimmerforums.com/forum/s...-P-actually-do

Last edited by ctuna; 02-09-2019 at 03:31 AM..
Appreciate 1
Jim_B3.00

      02-10-2019, 01:33 AM   #3
Jim_B
Private
United_States
3
Rep
72
Posts

Drives: Wife's '09 328i xDrive
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Colorado

iTrader: (0)

.

Last edited by Jim_B; 02-13-2019 at 01:14 AM..
Appreciate 0
      02-10-2019, 01:59 AM   #4
ctuna
Major General
928
Rep
9,279
Posts

Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca

iTrader: (0)

Ista has the bones of inpa in it .
You must plug in your cable and check that you can
run Inpa before going on to Ista.
There are stand alone versions of Ista that are downloaded
with necessary files but the Bimmergeeks site requires
a Inpa install for some reason.
Anybody know why?

See instructions in the provided links for operation.

There are several shared folders that both ista and inpa use .
The ediabas folder is the primary one and contains sub flolders
that they both use.

If you read the standard tools setup instructions it tell you how to
set this stuff up. You cannot bypass this step. (Or at least I don't know
how to)

Ista adds a large searchable database and a more sophisticated user interface
which is all in English and contains diagrams , part numbers , trouble shooting procedures safety features to stop you from screwing up.

The Inpa suite allows you to code and program and run diagnostics
at a basic level. This is not easy or possible with Ista D or P
see links.

If you do not understand Window's and know your way around a PC
you may have trouble as there are several little differences between
xp , window 7 and windows 10 for admin mode . Generally if you are the owner
of the PC you will have admin privileges . You need to check this . Also in
windows 10 the command prompt is now called the power shell.
If you right click on start you will see power shell and power shell (admin)
always use power shell admin when following the instructions .
The last thing in ista where you launch from the shortcut right click on it
and run in admin mode . To not do this every time right click on the shortcut
and set the properties to admin.

These are the standard tools / inpa instructions
1. Run St212.exe using all default settings except the 4 checkbox options in the "select additional task" window regarding "backup and restore" and "create desktop/quick launch icons" .
(If using Windows 10, run in st212.exe in "Compatibility Mode" for Windows 7)

2. After install completes, select "No" to restarting PC.

3. Navigate to your C:\ drive and delete the folders labeled "EC-APPS, EDIABAS & NCSEXPER"

4. Replace those folders with the "EC-APPS, EDIABAS & NCSEXPER" from this download by copying them to the C:\ drive.

5. Copy the 3 files inside the OCX folder and paste them in the C:\Windows\Syswow64 folder. If you do not have this folder you are a 32-bit system meaning you need to paste them in C:\Windows\system32 instead.

6. Open Command Prompt as administrator & enter the following commands. Please note if your 32bit system, start on the 2nd line: If you have issues getting the commands to succeed, make sure your running command prompt as administrator.

cd c:\windows\syswow64
(Press Enter)
regsvr32 mscomctl.ocx
(Press Enter & wait for "Registration Succeeded" message)
regsvr32 msflxgrd.ocx
(Press Enter & wait for "Registration Succeeded" message)
regsvr32 comdlg32.ocx
(Press Enter & wait for "Registration Succeeded" message)

7. Place the "BMW Tools" folder(BMW icon) on your desktop. Shortcuts to all the software are inside.

8. Make sure your cable is set to COM-1 with a Latency Timer as 1 in device manager.

9. Reboot Computer.

10. Installation is complete.

Last edited by ctuna; 02-12-2019 at 12:49 PM..
Appreciate 0
      02-10-2019, 10:18 AM   #5
gjm120
Lieutenant Colonel
United_States
963
Rep
1,719
Posts

Drives: 2013 128i
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: East Texas

iTrader: (0)

I've had Std Tools up and running but can't get Rheingold ( Bimmergeeks download) to start up. I've uninstalled and reinstalled but no good result.

Is it the ISTAGUI.exe file that is to be renamed ISTA? There is an ISTAGUI.exe.config file in the folder also.

I've only tried to open ISTA without connecting to the car? Should it open up w/o being connected?
__________________
E82 / Ver Red / Blk Boston L / BMWP Springs w/ Koni Yellows / M front control arms / M rear guide rods / AT / Sport seats & steering wheel + paddles
Appreciate 0
      02-10-2019, 11:02 AM   #6
ctuna
Major General
928
Rep
9,279
Posts

Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca

iTrader: (0)

yes it will open without being connected.
Try to just right click on istagui.exe and run as admin.
You can cruise around in the data base and look at diagrams
and procedures.
When you are sure you have Inpa opening and working move on
to Ista D . The ista D setup is mostly unpacking with winzip and
putting the unpacked folders in the root directory of the C drive.
Then when opening the first time dropping in the enormus key
and setting the interface setting to k/d can cable.
to make a short cut to open you do the same as you would making
any shortcut and put it on the desktop.
To get it to work you must open the shortcut in admin mode.
Windows 10 is stingy about giving you admin mode you have to
ask for it every time unless you set it up so the link knows
to open in admin mode . You do this by right clicking on the shortcut
going into properties and setting it to run in admin mode.

https://www.e90post.com/forums/showt...5#post24080655

If you follow the instructions exactly it will not work .
Always list the windows version you are using when you ask
for help and the computer type.
You need basic computer skills such as knowing what the admin
login is and if you have admin privileges.
Knowing what ocx files are and why they have to be moved into
the system program files and to register them successfully.
Running from the command prompt as admin (or power shell)
running programs as admin.
Copying and pasting folders.
Going to the control panel to check your interface setup for the
usb to OBD cable.

Last edited by ctuna; 02-10-2019 at 06:04 PM..
Appreciate 0
      02-10-2019, 01:22 PM   #7
gjm120
Lieutenant Colonel
United_States
963
Rep
1,719
Posts

Drives: 2013 128i
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: East Texas

iTrader: (0)

I've had INPA and all the other Std tools working for awhile and have done a good bit of coding. They are from Bimmergeeks also.

Like you said the ISTA install was pretty easy and less involved than the Std Tools install. I've tried opening in Admin mode to no avail.

It's on a machine w/ Windows 7.
__________________
E82 / Ver Red / Blk Boston L / BMWP Springs w/ Koni Yellows / M front control arms / M rear guide rods / AT / Sport seats & steering wheel + paddles
Appreciate 0
      02-10-2019, 01:30 PM   #8
ctuna
Major General
928
Rep
9,279
Posts

Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca

iTrader: (0)

What does the error say .
Do you know if you have admin privileges?
Check you user admin privileges.
find istagui.exe and try running it.
Is you Rhinegold folder in the C Drive root directory?
Did you unpack using winzip7?

2. Install all items in the "Pre-Install" Folder

3. Move "Rheingold" folder to c:\program files (x86)

4. Create shortcut for IstaGUI. It is located in C:\Program Files (x86)\Rheingold\TesterGUI\bin\Release

5. Move that shortcut to the "Bmw Tools" folder from your Standard Tools" install from step 1 and rename IstaGUI to "Ista"

6. Launch Ista and complete setup. When prompted for license, copy and paste the entire contents of the IstaLicense.txt file from this download.

***If you have issues launching ista and recieve a "failed to Launch
Appreciate 0
      02-10-2019, 01:39 PM   #9
gjm120
Lieutenant Colonel
United_States
963
Rep
1,719
Posts

Drives: 2013 128i
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: East Texas

iTrader: (0)

I've tried to launch from the shortcut and directly from the exe file as Admin. This is the error message I'm getting. I found someone else with this problem on another site and the solution was related to net framework 4.6 and 4.7

Problem signature:
Problem Event Name: CLR20r3
Problem Signature 01: ISTA.exe
Problem Signature 02: 4.1.21.17412
Problem Signature 03: 57bef91b
Problem Signature 04: ISTAGUI
Problem Signature 05: 4.1.21.17412
Problem Signature 06: 57bef91b
Problem Signature 07: 4cd
Problem Signature 08: 2e
Problem Signature 09: System.MissingMethodException
OS Version: 6.1.7601.2.1.0.768.3
Locale ID: 1033
Additional Information 1: 0a9e
Additional Information 2: 0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789
Additional Information 3: 0a9e
Additional Information 4: 0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789

Read our privacy statement online:
http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?link...8&clcid=0x0409
__________________
E82 / Ver Red / Blk Boston L / BMWP Springs w/ Koni Yellows / M front control arms / M rear guide rods / AT / Sport seats & steering wheel + paddles
Appreciate 0
      02-10-2019, 01:40 PM   #10
gjm120
Lieutenant Colonel
United_States
963
Rep
1,719
Posts

Drives: 2013 128i
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: East Texas

iTrader: (0)

Oh and I unpacked with WinRar so maybe that's the problem?

I installed Net Framework 4.6 and 4.7 and ISTA now opens up. Put in the license and got to the VIN input page. Input VIN and get a VIN is invalid and/or had not been assigned.
__________________
E82 / Ver Red / Blk Boston L / BMWP Springs w/ Koni Yellows / M front control arms / M rear guide rods / AT / Sport seats & steering wheel + paddles

Last edited by gjm120; 02-10-2019 at 02:20 PM.. Reason: updated
Appreciate 0
      02-10-2019, 03:37 PM   #11
ctuna
Major General
928
Rep
9,279
Posts

Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca

iTrader: (0)

Ok you still have to tell it to use the K/D can cable.
To do this go to the tools icon in the top tool bar.
There are several tabs I believe it is that last one
Click on it and select use ediabas settings it's the top selection
I believe. Close the program.
Now go back and try to do the read test on your car.

Another irritating problem is if you have a High Res screen or I even
had this problem on my old PC where the display is such that you can not
move the window around and get to all the menu items or toolbars.
The way to solve it I have found is change your screen res during a ista
session such that all sides of the ista window are displayed and you can


move it around.

Another thing I have tried when I have problems with programs is compatibility
mode. Right click on exe file go to properties and try compatibility modes
for xp , win7 or whatever win you have to see if it makes a difference.

Last edited by ctuna; 02-10-2019 at 03:53 PM..
Appreciate 0
      02-10-2019, 03:44 PM   #12
gjm120
Lieutenant Colonel
United_States
963
Rep
1,719
Posts

Drives: 2013 128i
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: East Texas

iTrader: (0)

Already looked at that. Under the tab VCI config it has only two choices - Dealer Org....

I'm not connected to the car so will the ediabas.ini choice show up if I connect?
__________________
E82 / Ver Red / Blk Boston L / BMWP Springs w/ Koni Yellows / M front control arms / M rear guide rods / AT / Sport seats & steering wheel + paddles
Appreciate 0
      02-10-2019, 04:08 PM   #13
ctuna
Major General
928
Rep
9,279
Posts

Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca

iTrader: (0)

It should always be there.
You must select the VCI Config tab
Attached Images
 

Last edited by ctuna; 02-10-2019 at 04:13 PM..
Appreciate 0
      02-10-2019, 04:16 PM   #14
gjm120
Lieutenant Colonel
United_States
963
Rep
1,719
Posts

Drives: 2013 128i
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: East Texas

iTrader: (0)

I did and only have the 2 Dealer LAN choices and only the 3 boxes on the right side.
__________________
E82 / Ver Red / Blk Boston L / BMWP Springs w/ Koni Yellows / M front control arms / M rear guide rods / AT / Sport seats & steering wheel + paddles
Appreciate 0
      02-10-2019, 04:23 PM   #15
gjm120
Lieutenant Colonel
United_States
963
Rep
1,719
Posts

Drives: 2013 128i
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: East Texas

iTrader: (0)

When the program first opens I get a database connection error. Could this be related to the problem. Like I mentioned, there is a functioning Std Tools on the machine so there is the ediabas interface.
__________________
E82 / Ver Red / Blk Boston L / BMWP Springs w/ Koni Yellows / M front control arms / M rear guide rods / AT / Sport seats & steering wheel + paddles
Appreciate 0
      02-10-2019, 04:48 PM   #16
ctuna
Major General
928
Rep
9,279
Posts

Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca

iTrader: (0)

If you do not have those boxes as displayed, you must
not have the bimmergeeks download because there being
displayed almost has to be a direct function of which and
whose version you downloaded.

I would think any working version of the Inpa suite would work
but I could be wrong.

I got this up and going win 7 initially off a MHD auto board years ago but that should have nothing to do with it the version I have now is directly from
the Bimmergeeks.net downloads in its entirety with both Inpa and Ista
coming from the links. Also it was much easier to set up than earlier versions.
Are you sure the passcode got dropped in correctly.
If would keep bugging you if it didn't I think.

The database error is probably with the ista database I would guess.

Last edited by ctuna; 02-10-2019 at 08:30 PM..
Appreciate 0
      02-10-2019, 06:11 PM   #17
ctuna
Major General
928
Rep
9,279
Posts

Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca

iTrader: (0)

You could try this in entry 8 of this thread as an alternate
route.

https://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/sh....php?t=1316775

Let us know if it works.

After looking at this I would say the bimmergeeks ista setup
looks easier.

Last edited by ctuna; 02-10-2019 at 07:04 PM..
Appreciate 1
gjm120963.00

      02-10-2019, 08:19 PM   #18
gjm120
Lieutenant Colonel
United_States
963
Rep
1,719
Posts

Drives: 2013 128i
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: East Texas

iTrader: (0)

I definitely have the Bimmergeeks downloads for both Std Tools and ISTA. I might give the one you linked a try or download Bimmergeeks again in case something went wrong with the download.

I really appreciate your help on this.
__________________
E82 / Ver Red / Blk Boston L / BMWP Springs w/ Koni Yellows / M front control arms / M rear guide rods / AT / Sport seats & steering wheel + paddles
Appreciate 0
      02-10-2019, 11:32 PM   #19
ctuna
Major General
928
Rep
9,279
Posts

Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca

iTrader: (0)

Do you have enough space on you hardrive ?
why are you using Windows 7 when Win 10 is
a or was a free upgrade?
Appreciate 0
      02-11-2019, 07:50 AM   #20
gjm120
Lieutenant Colonel
United_States
963
Rep
1,719
Posts

Drives: 2013 128i
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: East Texas

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ctuna View Post
Do you have enough space on you hardrive ?
why are you using Windows 7 when Win 10 is
a or was a free upgrade?
Plenty of hard drive space.

I like Windows 7 much more than 10. I prefer the look and layout of 7. I've got a Windows 10 desktop and have finally gotten it laid out like I like but still would rather have Win 7.

The error I'm getting is fairly common but seems to be caused by a variety of issues.

** screen shot of my version. Shouldn't there be anything in the data fields?
Attached Images
 
__________________
E82 / Ver Red / Blk Boston L / BMWP Springs w/ Koni Yellows / M front control arms / M rear guide rods / AT / Sport seats & steering wheel + paddles

Last edited by gjm120; 02-11-2019 at 08:44 AM.. Reason: added info
Appreciate 0
      02-11-2019, 12:52 PM   #21
ctuna
Major General
928
Rep
9,279
Posts

Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca

iTrader: (0)

This is mine at

Looks the same and doesn't seem to be a version problem.
I didn't get the errors you did when running it only a refusal to
run it in non admin mode. I get Windows 10 to run pretty much with
the look and feel of 7 which I still like skipped vista entirely . Win 10
is much faster but every time they do and update it blows my old scanner
softeware out and I have to reinstall it.
Attached Images
  

Last edited by ctuna; 02-11-2019 at 12:59 PM..
Appreciate 0
      02-11-2019, 02:15 PM   #22
gjm120
Lieutenant Colonel
United_States
963
Rep
1,719
Posts

Drives: 2013 128i
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: East Texas

iTrader: (0)

Note that there is no version designated for Data, Global Data and Language Data.
This tells me the program doesn't know where to look for data. I have a Sqdlite folder which i think is the data file.
__________________
E82 / Ver Red / Blk Boston L / BMWP Springs w/ Koni Yellows / M front control arms / M rear guide rods / AT / Sport seats & steering wheel + paddles
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:47 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST