E90Post
 


The Tire Rack
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > NCS-Expert.com for Program Download?



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      08-24-2018, 04:39 AM   #1
M-sport-3
New Member
6
Rep
12
Posts

Drives: 3-series
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: ny

iTrader: (0)

NCS-Expert.com for Program Download?

I don't exactly understand the origin of the ncs-expert, but NCS-Expert.com seems to be the most reputable download site I have found online, and I'm considering paying $15 for their program download and guide.

Is that a reputable site? I have read about issues with malware on downloads of this program.
Appreciate 0
      08-24-2018, 06:49 AM   #2
LMB335IS
Sua Sponte
LMB335IS's Avatar
United_States
1168
Rep
2,720
Posts

Drives: 2013 LMB 335is
Join Date: May 2008
Location: FOB FL

iTrader: (18)

Garage List
2013 BMW 335is  [4.42]
Quote:
Originally Posted by M-sport-3 View Post
I don't exactly understand the origin of the ncs-expert, but NCS-Expert.com seems to be the most reputable download site I have found online, and I'm considering paying $15 for their program download and guide.

Is that a reputable site? I have read about issues with malware on downloads of this program.
Or you could go here, https://www.bimmergeeks.net/downloads and get it for free and it's probably a better setup. There's guides and Youtube videos by the dozens to show you how to use it. No need to pay for anything.
__________________

335is/DCT-M3 GTS software-M3 drivetrain-M3 GWS-KOMBI-DSC-SZL/MHD/BQ Tuning IG@ClustersandCoding
Appreciate 1
      08-27-2018, 11:12 AM   #3
Joe@TopGearSolutions
Major
Joe@TopGearSolutions's Avatar
United_States
243
Rep
1,164
Posts

Drives: 2009 335i M Sport
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Knoxville, TN

iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by M-sport-3 View Post
I don't exactly understand the origin of the ncs-expert, but NCS-Expert.com seems to be the most reputable download site I have found online, and I'm considering paying $15 for their program download and guide.

Is that a reputable site? I have read about issues with malware on downloads of this program.
You could also use our download.

https://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1204192
Appreciate 0
      04-22-2021, 12:55 AM   #4
TheKebabMan18
New Member
Australia
0
Rep
16
Posts

Drives: 2006 BMW e90 320D
Join Date: Nov 2020
Location: Melbourne

iTrader: (0)

habibi help lmao

Quote:
Originally Posted by LMB335IS View Post
Or you could go here, https://www.bimmergeeks.net/downloads and get it for free and it's probably a better setup. There's guides and Youtube videos by the dozens to show you how to use it. No need to pay for anything.

sorry if this isnt the right place but.

i downloaded that bimmer geeks software on my laptop but i dont have a com 1 port, is there a work around for this? or should ii find an old laptop and start again?
Appreciate 0
      04-22-2021, 02:12 AM   #5
sdbmwcoding
Captain
127
Rep
667
Posts

Drives: BMW M3
Join Date: May 2019
Location: socal

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheKebabMan18 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by LMB335IS View Post
Or you could go here, https://www.bimmergeeks.net/downloads and get it for free and it's probably a better setup. There's guides and Youtube videos by the dozens to show you how to use it. No need to pay for anything.

sorry if this isnt the right place but.

i downloaded that bimmer geeks software on my laptop but i dont have a com 1 port, is there a work around for this? or should ii find an old laptop and start again?
If you go to C drive > Ediabas > Bin > open Obd config file and you can manually change the com port to whatever you want as long as it matches the device manager com port setting.
Appreciate 0
      04-22-2021, 09:34 AM   #6
TheKebabMan18
New Member
Australia
0
Rep
16
Posts

Drives: 2006 BMW e90 320D
Join Date: Nov 2020
Location: Melbourne

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by sd********* View Post
If you go to C drive > Ediabas > Bin > open Obd config file and you can manually change the com port to whatever you want as long as it matches the device manager com port setting.
will be sure to give it a try as soon as i get an obd to usb in, cheers man
Appreciate 0
      04-22-2021, 10:36 PM   #7
ctuna
Lieutenant General
1342
Rep
11,202
Posts

Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca

iTrader: (0)

If you buy a K/d can cable with a usb connection and download the driver
for the cable the com lines will show up.
I don't know of a PC that has had an actual com port for a decade.
When you plug in the cable the com ports should appear.
Appreciate 0
      06-07-2021, 02:53 AM   #8
TheKebabMan18
New Member
Australia
0
Rep
16
Posts

Drives: 2006 BMW e90 320D
Join Date: Nov 2020
Location: Melbourne

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by sd********* View Post
If you go to C drive > Ediabas > Bin > open Obd config file and you can manually change the com port to whatever you want as long as it matches the device manager com port setting.

ive just gone through the obd config file but its still not registering my cable. do you have the exact name of the file and what you edited or could you send screenshots. its greatly apreciated!
Appreciate 0
      06-07-2021, 03:04 AM   #9
sdbmwcoding
Captain
127
Rep
667
Posts

Drives: BMW M3
Join Date: May 2019
Location: socal

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheKebabMan18 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by sd********* View Post
If you go to C drive > Ediabas > Bin > open Obd config file and you can manually change the com port to whatever you want as long as it matches the device manager com port setting.

ive just gone through the obd config file but its still not registering my cable. do you have the exact name of the file and what you edited or could you send screenshots. its greatly apreciated!
Ediabas > Bin > Obd

Second line says Port=Com1 by default. You can change it to whatever port matches your cable in device manager > com & ports > right click your cable and go to properties > advanced > make sure latency is 1 and com port matches whatever is in Obd file.

If you don't see anything under Com & Ports then that means your issue isn't related to Com port or any type of settings of ediabas, it's because your cable is faulty or your laptop isn't recognizing it. If it isn't recognizing it you'll usually see the cable labeled DCAN with a yellow triangle on it somewhere on the device manager list. Right click it up and press update > automatically search online for update.
Appreciate 0
      06-07-2021, 03:08 AM   #10
TheKebabMan18
New Member
Australia
0
Rep
16
Posts

Drives: 2006 BMW e90 320D
Join Date: Nov 2020
Location: Melbourne

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ctuna View Post
If you buy a K/d can cable with a usb connection and download the driver
for the cable the com lines will show up.
I don't know of a PC that has had an actual com port for a decade.
When you plug in the cable the com ports should appear.
the cable i just had delivered is not a k+ decan cable, am i still able to use some functionality of the softwares?
Appreciate 0
      06-07-2021, 03:45 AM   #11
TheKebabMan18
New Member
Australia
0
Rep
16
Posts

Drives: 2006 BMW e90 320D
Join Date: Nov 2020
Location: Melbourne

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by sd********* View Post
Ediabas > Bin > Obd

Second line says Port=Com1 by default. You can change it to whatever port matches your cable in device manager > com & ports > right click your cable and go to properties > advanced > make sure latency is 1 and com port matches whatever is in Obd file.

If you don't see anything under Com & Ports then that means your issue isn't related to Com port or any type of settings of ediabas, it's because your cable is faulty or your laptop isn't recognizing it. If it isn't recognizing it you'll usually see the cable labeled DCAN with a yellow triangle on it somewhere on the device manager list. Right click it up and press update > automatically search online for update.


yea ive just realised that the cable wont work with it, waited nearly 2 months for it to arrive , at this point i might just spend $50 on a K+ dcan cable from obd2 AUS
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:14 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST