E90Post

The Tire Rack

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > AUDIO/VIDEO + BLUETOOTH + Electronics/Alarm/Software > Need Some Advice on Fix

10-05-2018, 11:03 PM   #1
hybrid90
Captain
No_Country
Rep
Drives: 2021 X3 M40i

Garage List
2021 BMW X3 M40i  [10.00]
Need Some Advice on Fix

Hi All!!

Two weeks ago I picked up a 2013 335is w/60K. It wasn't until after I got it home that I realized that it had a few issues. Now, to my thinking (I'm not a mechanic), I"m thinking that a few of these problems are actually one problem with multiple symptoms. I'm trying to figure out the problem myself to make sure that I need help before I just hand it off to my indy (since I won't deal with my local dealership anymore). Here's the issue:

My car has the Premium Pkg and the Alarm. But the first thing I noticed was that my Adaptive Headlights don't turn off when in "Auto". They should be off during the day and then as it gets dim, the lights should come on, but they are ALWAYS on. So I started looking at the light sensor and that was when I realized that the compass on my mirror, the Garage Door buttons and the auto-dimming function on the mirror are all not working. And since I don't know exactly how the Alarm works, I don't think that it's turning on. If it is, then the "clown nose" on the underside of the mirror is not coming on (I'd heard that if you have the alarm, it will "chirp" or make some kind of noise when it's activated/deactivated, but since my 2011 E90 335i didn't have one, I don't know).

As stated, I had a 2011 E90 335i w/Sport Pkg & Premium Pkg, so I know about the Auto Adaptive Headlights, the Garage Door buttons, the Compass and the Auto-Dimming function on the mirrors.