E90Post

TNT Racewerks

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N57 / M57 Turbo Diesel Discussions - 335d > Recommendations for Chicago area shop that knows 335Ds!

12-05-2018, 08:26 PM   #1
tvran23
Rep
Drives: 2011 335d

Recommendations for Chicago area shop that knows 335Ds!

I have a 2011 335D and looking for a knowledgeable shop in the Chicago area. Car needs carbon buildup cleaning (done once under CPO by dealer at 45K) but needs again at 106K. Also, my DFP indicator just went on and need that done. Based on what I’ve seen it appears “deletes” is the way to go of EGR and DFP. I’m an admitted novice on this so thank you in advance. Looking for increased reliability as opposed to tuning it for high performance. Thanks!
Appreciate 0
      12-05-2018, 09:33 PM   #2
335dlci
Lieutenant Colonel
Rep
Drives: 335d

If you could get it to Denver. I could do it for you. If not there may be some closer places.
Appreciate 0
      12-11-2018, 10:51 AM   #3
ecarse
Registered
Rep
Drives: 2011 BMW 335d

I'd be cautious about removing the emissions equipment, as I'm not sure you will get the car thru IL emissions testing. Deleting all the emissions controls are for "off-road use only" for a reason.

If you're not looking for increased performance, my mechanic in Schaumburg (who is fantastic) did a cleaning when I got the clogged DPF warning at 89K. We used the Liqui Moly DPF cleaning system, and after use, the codes cleared and my engine performance returned. The kit is about $380, and it's a more eco-friendly and cheaper solution than deleting all the equipment (or replacing the DPF!).

I will keep the kit (I suspect I'll need to re-clean the DPF in the future), but if you're interested, I could loan you the equipment and my mechanic could do the work. That way, you'd just need to buy about $70 for the solvents and pay for the cleaning to be done, probably $250 total. PM me if you're interested.