E90Post

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > Tracking, Autocrossing, Dragstrip, Driving Techniques > Track suspension recommendations

01-05-2018, 03:26 PM   #1
SF335
Private
Rep
Drives: BMW 335i M-Sport

Track suspension recommendations

I am new to the e92 and would like to ask for some advice on suspension setup for a car that will see a lot of track time but should still be tolerable on the street as an occasional daily driver.

I am open to all suggestions on suspension but I would like to start with selecting a spring/shock combo or coilovers. I'd prefer not to spend more than $1.5k on this part and so am currently looking at options like the ST XTAs. I am fine without adjustable height as long as it sits a little below stock (currently M-Sport package). Generally, if I could spare the hassle and expense of coilovers, I would prefer that but I also don't want a setup that's too soft for the track.

I posted this on the suspension forum but didn't get as much feedback from the track crowd as I hoped.

Many thanks for the help.
Appreciate 0
      01-05-2018, 08:58 PM   #2
ajsmithvmi
Professional Hack
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2009 135i

Try to find a set of used KW V2's or V3's depending on how much mileage is on them. Used V2's will give you adjustable ride height and adjustable rebound.

The M3 front control arms will give you more negative camber in front, in which the stock e82/e90's are sorely lacking.

Also consider upgrading your rear subframe bushings to the more robust M3 versions.

Have you thought about changing out your tires to a track-oriented yet still road-worthy tire? (Are you still on run flats?)
Appreciate 0
      01-05-2018, 09:22 PM   #3
Cloud9blue
Brigadier General
United_States
Rep
Drives: around the potholes