E90Post
 


Coby Wheel
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > NA Engine (non-turbo) / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications > Bimmerlabs 330i Tune DIY Step by Step



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      03-26-2021, 06:26 PM   #441
mattpete13
First Lieutenant
81
Rep
350
Posts

Drives: 2011 e91 6mt
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: SE MA

iTrader: (2)

here's my current error, when I try to open WinKFP...

I wish I could just delete everything and start over. Has anyone done that? I feel like I made a mistake along the way and am now compounding the problem. I've unzipped the bimmergeeks files twice already trying to sort through it. Gosh I am so computer stupid sometimes!

any insight on these errors? All of your help is so greatly appreciated.
Attached Images
 
Appreciate 0
      03-26-2021, 07:09 PM   #442
bluewater328
Colonel
United_States
556
Rep
2,016
Posts

Drives: 2011 bluewater 328i LCI sedan
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Hawaii

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mattpete13 View Post
here's my current error, when I try to open WinKFP...

I wish I could just delete everything and start over. Has anyone done that? I feel like I made a mistake along the way and am now compounding the problem. I've unzipped the bimmergeeks files twice already trying to sort through it. Gosh I am so computer stupid sometimes!

any insight on these errors? All of your help is so greatly appreciated.
This is a setup issue. You have to load your files up/update. Look in the Bimmerlabs help section for setup instructions.
Appreciate 1
      03-27-2021, 01:27 PM   #443
eljay
Captain
318
Rep
950
Posts

Drives: ///M + E91
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: NS

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mattpete13 View Post
here's my current error, when I try to open WinKFP...

I wish I could just delete everything and start over. Has anyone done that? I feel like I made a mistake along the way and am now compounding the problem. I've unzipped the bimmergeeks files twice already trying to sort through it. Gosh I am so computer stupid sometimes!

any insight on these errors? All of your help is so greatly appreciated.
Yes, you should download a fresh copy od Datens from bimmergeeks link and use the update tool in the Standard Tools folder to load them into your installation. Then repeat the steps in Bimmerlabs instructions to load the files into WinKFP and you'll be set.
Appreciate 1
      03-27-2021, 02:18 PM   #444
mattpete13
First Lieutenant
81
Rep
350
Posts

Drives: 2011 e91 6mt
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: SE MA

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by eljay View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattpete13 View Post
here's my current error, when I try to open WinKFP...

I wish I could just delete everything and start over. Has anyone done that? I feel like I made a mistake along the way and am now compounding the problem. I've unzipped the bimmergeeks files twice already trying to sort through it. Gosh I am so computer stupid sometimes!

any insight on these errors? All of your help is so greatly appreciated.
Yes, you should download a fresh copy od Datens from bimmergeeks link and use the update tool in the Standard Tools folder to load them into your installation. Then repeat the steps in Bimmerlabs instructions to load the files into WinKFP and you'll be set.
Any idea which Datens files? There's like 20-30!
Appreciate 0
      03-27-2021, 04:34 PM   #445
bluewater328
Colonel
United_States
556
Rep
2,016
Posts

Drives: 2011 bluewater 328i LCI sedan
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Hawaii

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mattpete13 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by eljay View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattpete13 View Post
here's my current error, when I try to open WinKFP...

I wish I could just delete everything and start over. Has anyone done that? I feel like I made a mistake along the way and am now compounding the problem. I've unzipped the bimmergeeks files twice already trying to sort through it. Gosh I am so computer stupid sometimes!

any insight on these errors? All of your help is so greatly appreciated.
Yes, you should download a fresh copy od Datens from bimmergeeks link and use the update tool in the Standard Tools folder to load them into your installation. Then repeat the steps in Bimmerlabs instructions to load the files into WinKFP and you'll be set.
Any idea which Datens files? There's like 20-30!
The one with the largest number. You only have to load the profile of the car you're working on.
Appreciate 0
      03-27-2021, 04:53 PM   #446
mattpete13
First Lieutenant
81
Rep
350
Posts

Drives: 2011 e91 6mt
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: SE MA

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by bluewater328 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattpete13 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by eljay View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattpete13 View Post
here's my current error, when I try to open WinKFP...

I wish I could just delete everything and start over. Has anyone done that? I feel like I made a mistake along the way and am now compounding the problem. I've unzipped the bimmergeeks files twice already trying to sort through it. Gosh I am so computer stupid sometimes!

any insight on these errors? All of your help is so greatly appreciated.
Yes, you should download a fresh copy od Datens from bimmergeeks link and use the update tool in the Standard Tools folder to load them into your installation. Then repeat the steps in Bimmerlabs instructions to load the files into WinKFP and you'll be set.
Any idea which Datens files? There's like 20-30!
The one with the largest number. You only have to load the profile of the car you're working on.
Thanks man. Trying with all my patience and am so bloody stuck I want to scream. Sigh. Super frustrating but anything worth doing is sometimes.

My plan now is to back track, uninstall and reinstall. Barf.
Appreciate 0
      03-27-2021, 05:33 PM   #447
eljay
Captain
318
Rep
950
Posts

Drives: ///M + E91
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: NS

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mattpete13 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by eljay View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattpete13 View Post
here's my current error, when I try to open WinKFP...

I wish I could just delete everything and start over. Has anyone done that? I feel like I made a mistake along the way and am now compounding the problem. I've unzipped the bimmergeeks files twice already trying to sort through it. Gosh I am so computer stupid sometimes!

any insight on these errors? All of your help is so greatly appreciated.
Yes, you should download a fresh copy od Datens from bimmergeeks link and use the update tool in the Standard Tools folder to load them into your installation. Then repeat the steps in Bimmerlabs instructions to load the files into WinKFP and you'll be set.
Any idea which Datens files? There's like 20-30!
E89 folder
Appreciate 0
      03-30-2021, 05:51 AM   #448
Hotter
Second Lieutenant
Hotter's Avatar
15
Rep
252
Posts

Drives: BMW E92 328i
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Lithuania

iTrader: (0)

Video states that we wont be able to clear 2AA8 2AA9 2FA3 errors codes after mod? Is it possible to fix those errors?

Also will you be warned if DISA fails, because 2AA8 2AA9 errors already means that DISA valves are not working?

Last edited by Hotter; 03-31-2021 at 03:19 AM..
Appreciate 0
      04-01-2021, 02:25 PM   #449
Tacklewasher
Private
3
Rep
54
Posts

Drives: 2007 328i Conv
Join Date: Mar 2021
Location: BC

iTrader: (0)

So, not sure what I'm doing wrong. Just trying to get INPA working. It shows the cable connected, but shows ignition off when I've got the cable plugged in and the car running.
I've got a BimmerGeeks cable with just a button. Just received it this week. I've tried connecting with the button push in and out, but it still shows ignition off and does nothing.

I can plug in a cheap odb bluetooth connector and get Torque to read things, so the port should be fine.

What else can I maybe try or what might I be doing wrong?
Appreciate 0
      04-01-2021, 06:48 PM   #450
bluewater328
Colonel
United_States
556
Rep
2,016
Posts

Drives: 2011 bluewater 328i LCI sedan
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Hawaii

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hotter View Post
Video states that we wont be able to clear 2AA8 2AA9 2FA3 errors codes after mod? Is it possible to fix those errors?

Also will you be warned if DISA fails, because 2AA8 2AA9 errors already means that DISA valves are not working?
Not sure where you get that. 2FA3 is the one that you get but you can default code within 10k and you'll never see it again. You will not get DISA codes unless your DISAs are having issues.
Appreciate 1
Hotter15.00

      04-01-2021, 08:25 PM   #451
eljay
Captain
318
Rep
950
Posts

Drives: ///M + E91
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: NS

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by bluewater328 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hotter View Post
Video states that we wont be able to clear 2AA8 2AA9 2FA3 errors codes after mod? Is it possible to fix those errors?

Also will you be warned if DISA fails, because 2AA8 2AA9 errors already means that DISA valves are not working?
Not sure where you get that. 2FA3 is the one that you get but you can default code within 10k and you'll never see it again. You will not get DISA codes unless your DISAs are having issues.
Just a curious question... why does the default coding need to happen within 10k?

And any benefits to it besides getting rid of this error?
Appreciate 0
      04-02-2021, 12:49 AM   #452
Hotter
Second Lieutenant
Hotter's Avatar
15
Rep
252
Posts

Drives: BMW E92 328i
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Lithuania

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by bluewater328 View Post
Not sure where you get that. 2FA3 is the one that you get but you can default code within 10k and you'll never see it again. You will not get DISA codes unless your DISAs are having issues.
I get that from this video bellow at 21:34. Or is this because he flashed before doing the mod and was with default intake manifold?



Quote:
Originally Posted by eljay View Post
And any benefits to it besides getting rid of this error?
The benefit is only that there wont be an error and if you go to dealer or elsewhere they don't see that modification straight away.
Appreciate 0
      04-02-2021, 01:35 AM   #453
bluewater328
Colonel
United_States
556
Rep
2,016
Posts

Drives: 2011 bluewater 328i LCI sedan
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Hawaii

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by eljay View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluewater328 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hotter View Post
Video states that we wont be able to clear 2AA8 2AA9 2FA3 errors codes after mod? Is it possible to fix those errors?

Also will you be warned if DISA fails, because 2AA8 2AA9 errors already means that DISA valves are not working?
Not sure where you get that. 2FA3 is the one that you get but you can default code within 10k and you'll never see it again. You will not get DISA codes unless your DISAs are having issues.
Just a curious question... why does the default coding need to happen within 10k?

And any benefits to it besides getting rid of this error?
Just something that a few people found out or it could be permanent. It's a code that doesn't mean anything and yes, default coding only removes it.
Appreciate 0
      04-02-2021, 01:39 AM   #454
bluewater328
Colonel
United_States
556
Rep
2,016
Posts

Drives: 2011 bluewater 328i LCI sedan
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Hawaii

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hotter View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluewater328 View Post
Not sure where you get that. 2FA3 is the one that you get but you can default code within 10k and you'll never see it again. You will not get DISA codes unless your DISAs are having issues.
I get that from this video bellow at 21:34. Or is this because he flashed before doing the mod and was with default intake manifold?
Probably or he installed faulty DISAs. You will clear codes once after you have finished flashing. But you won't have DISA errors without DISA errors. You are in fact more likely to get a DISA that is failing that doesn't show an code than a DISA that shows a code for no reason.
Appreciate 0
      04-02-2021, 09:43 AM   #455
Hotter
Second Lieutenant
Hotter's Avatar
15
Rep
252
Posts

Drives: BMW E92 328i
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Lithuania

iTrader: (0)

Did anyone use regular ebay K-Dcan cable to flash this tune?
Appreciate 0
      04-02-2021, 11:02 AM   #456
Tacklewasher
Private
3
Rep
54
Posts

Drives: 2007 328i Conv
Join Date: Mar 2021
Location: BC

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tacklewasher View Post
So, not sure what I'm doing wrong. Just trying to get INPA working. It shows the cable connected, but shows ignition off when I've got the cable plugged in and the car running.
I've got a BimmerGeeks cable with just a button. Just received it this week. I've tried connecting with the button push in and out, but it still shows ignition off and does nothing.

I can plug in a cheap odb bluetooth connector and get Torque to read things, so the port should be fine.

What else can I maybe try or what might I be doing wrong?
Still fighting with this.
Using a Bimmergeeks cable, tried both switch positions but I can't connect to the car. Screen shows cable connected but ignition off with the cable plugged in and the car running.
Should there be any light on on the cable when plugged in?

My cheap BT connector works fine, just can't get this not cheap cable to work.
Appreciate 0
      04-02-2021, 12:21 PM   #457
eljay
Captain
318
Rep
950
Posts

Drives: ///M + E91
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: NS

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by bluewater328 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by eljay View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluewater328 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hotter View Post
Video states that we wont be able to clear 2AA8 2AA9 2FA3 errors codes after mod? Is it possible to fix those errors?

Also will you be warned if DISA fails, because 2AA8 2AA9 errors already means that DISA valves are not working?
Not sure where you get that. 2FA3 is the one that you get but you can default code within 10k and you'll never see it again. You will not get DISA codes unless your DISAs are having issues.
Just a curious question... why does the default coding need to happen within 10k?

And any benefits to it besides getting rid of this error?
Just something that a few people found out or it could be permanent. It's a code that doesn't mean anything and yes, default coding only removes it.
Good to know. Thanks.

I assume it's the RSA Delete that causes the error, correct? In other words, would loading a different tune reset the 10k interval before the DME makes the error permanent to tell the world the DME has been modified?
Appreciate 0
      04-02-2021, 12:37 PM   #458
bluewater328
Colonel
United_States
556
Rep
2,016
Posts

Drives: 2011 bluewater 328i LCI sedan
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Hawaii

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by eljay View Post
Good to know. Thanks.

I assume it's the RSA Delete that causes the error, correct? In other words, would loading a different tune reset the 10k interval before the DME makes the error permanent to tell the world the DME has been modified?
Probably. And only one person seemed to have a potential issue, so maybe not completely. But honestly, if you're in there flashing and then you're clearing codes, just take the extra 5 steps and you're done.
Appreciate 0
      04-04-2021, 03:35 PM   #459
eurocarfan100
Private
11
Rep
61
Posts

Drives: BMW 328i 2011
Join Date: Apr 2021
Location: Washington, DC

iTrader: (0)

How long can we run the tune without manifold?

I did the RSA delete and tune so far and running it without the manifold. Is it ok to run it for sometime without it? Any power increases anyone else felt?
Appreciate 0
      04-05-2021, 12:17 PM   #460
Hotter
Second Lieutenant
Hotter's Avatar
15
Rep
252
Posts

Drives: BMW E92 328i
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Lithuania

iTrader: (0)

Does this 330i tune with 3 stage intake manifold reach N52B30O1 specs (200 kW (272 PS) at 6600 U⁄min; 315 Nm at 2750 U⁄min) or it requires more hardware changes to do so?
Appreciate 0
      04-05-2021, 12:29 PM   #461
neilvan
Captain
neilvan's Avatar
Canada
530
Rep
906
Posts

Drives: 09 E90 335i M-Sport 6MT RWD
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Ontario, Canada

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hotter View Post
Does this 330i tune with 3 stage intake manifold reach N52B30O1 specs (200 kW (272 PS) at 6600 U⁄min; 315 Nm at 2750 U⁄min) or it requires more hardware changes to do so?
The factory N52 330i HP is 255hp/221tq; which is 258ps. I only know of the X3/X5 3.0SI which had 272ps/268hp(same tune but different intake/exhaust) and the Z4 3.0si/130i having 265ps/260hp (also apparently the same tune)

(the only other hardware difference is post resonator the 330i has 2.75" dia exhaust compared to 2.5" and a free-er flowing muffler.)
Appreciate 0
      04-07-2021, 01:13 AM   #462
Hotter
Second Lieutenant
Hotter's Avatar
15
Rep
252
Posts

Drives: BMW E92 328i
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Lithuania

iTrader: (0)

So this tune is from N52B30O0? So additionally to this mod we also need to change exhaust system to reach N52B30O0 performance correct?

And what about N52B30O1? does it have more hardware changes or just software?

Code:
1. N52B30U1 (2004 – 2011) has the following specs: power – 218 HP at 6,100 rpm, 270 Nm of torque at 2,400-4,200 rpm. The power is decreased with the help of new intake manifold and ECU. It was used for BMW models with 25i and 28i index.
2. N52B30M1 (2007 – 2011) is analogue of engine produced for the US market. The specs are as follows: power – 231 HP at 6,500 rpm, 270 Nm of torque at 2,750 rpm. It was used for BMW models with 28i index.
3. N52B30O0 (2004 – 2011) is a basic engine with 3-Stage DISA intake manifold. Power – 258 HP at 6,600 rpm, 300 Nm of torque at 2,550-4,000 rpm. It was used for BMW models with 30i index.
4. N52B30O1 (2006 – 2009) has the following specs: power – 265 HP at 6,600 rpm, 315 Nm of torque at 2,750-4,250 rpm. It was used for BMW models with 30i index.
5. N52B30O1 (2006 – 2010) has the following specs: power – 272 HP at 6,650 rpm, 312 Nm of torque at 2,750 rpm. It was used for BMW models with 30i index as well as in X3 and X5 crossovers.

Last edited by Hotter; 04-07-2021 at 08:44 AM..
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:36 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST