E90Post
 


Evolution of Speed
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > ConnectedDrive / I-Drive / Navigation Related Discussion > CIC Navigation Reset



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      01-09-2018, 05:46 AM   #23
Aus335iguy
Lieutenant Colonel
Aus335iguy's Avatar
413
Rep
1,629
Posts

Drives: 2009 e92 335i MSport DCT
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Sydney Aus

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2009 BMW 335i  [5.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by tacaza View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jagaer View Post
If Linux isn't giving you any problems reading the drive, and there are no smart errors, its likely not the drive. To rule it out, you could get a drive that is known compatible, and copy your disk to that drive.

I have personally confirmed that the amazon mSATA adapter (https://www.amazon.com/mSATA-SSD-con...5431391&sr=8-4) works with the CIC, and a number of forum users have confirmed that the Zheino SSD also works in the CIC (https://www.amazon.com/Zheino-128gb-...5431395&sr=8-1)

The list below is for the NBT, but to give you an idea of how picky the CIC/NBT are: http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/sho...44#post9878844



If you want to test your drive, mount it in a QNX VM and run the following to check consistency. If all of them come back clean, it likely isn't your image.

Code:
chkqnx6fs -v /dev/hd1t77
chkqnx6fs -v /dev/hd1t77.1
chkqnx6fs -v /dev/hd1t77.2
chkqnx6fs -v /dev/hd1t77.3
chkqnx6fs -v /dev/hd1t77.4
chkqnx6fs -v /dev/hd1t77.5
The CIC itself isn't difficult to disassemble, so prior to purchasing a new one, you could always try disassembling it and seeing if there are any loose connections or broken cables.

If your CIC does require replacement, you will need to code it for your vehicle, which will likely include: Changing the Vehicle Order on the CIC, updating the CIC FSC, and changing the region.
Tks guy, I'll try to figure out. If it's cable connection problem, this should be best news of the year

In case of CIC replacement, if I remove my original HDD and install it to the new CIC, do I need to code it?
I think you might need to Virginize or write your VIN and so on to it but im not sure.
__________________
There's no problem that 2 German turbos can't fix
Yes i know they're made by Mitsubishi and its always irrelevant.
Appreciate 1
tacaza0.00

      01-09-2018, 07:47 AM   #24
Jagaer
Private
Canada
65
Rep
72
Posts

Drives: 2011 E91 328xi 6MT
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Kingston, Ont

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by tacaza
In case of CIC replacement, if I remove my original HDD and install it to the new CIC, do I need to code it?
@Aus335iguy is correct, you will need to virginize it, which is simply connecting to the headunit via ftp and deleting a couple of files.

You will also need to code the headunit, which includes: Vehicle Order on the new CIC, new FSC to your VIN and changing the region (if the new CIC isn't from the same region as your vehicle)

EDIT: You don't need to pay for a new FSC to your VIN. You can always use Intel123s patching tool to change the cert on the CIC so you can generate your own FSC. http://cartechnology.co.uk/showthread.php?tid=23198
Appreciate 1
tacaza0.00

      01-09-2018, 09:20 PM   #25
tacaza
Private
0
Rep
72
Posts

Drives: Bmw 320i
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Viet nam

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jagaer View Post
@Aus335iguy is correct, you will need to virginize it, which is simply connecting to the headunit via ftp and deleting a couple of files.

You will also need to code the headunit, which includes: Vehicle Order on the new CIC, new FSC to your VIN and changing the region (if the new CIC isn't from the same region as your vehicle)

EDIT: You don't need to pay for a new FSC to your VIN. You can always use Intel123s patching tool to change the cert on the CIC so you can generate your own FSC. http://cartechnology.co.uk/showthread.php?tid=23198
In brief, I have 4 works to do:

1. FTP to the CIC via FTP and delete 2 files
- Need the Enet cable?
https://www.ebay.com/itm/For-BMW-ENE...p2047675.l2557


2. Change the VO
- OK. Many guidances on the internet

3. New FSC to my VIN
- OK with your tools

4. Change the region
- Pls show me the detailed steps
Appreciate 0
      01-10-2018, 11:09 PM   #26
Jagaer
Private
Canada
65
Rep
72
Posts

Drives: 2011 E91 328xi 6MT
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Kingston, Ont

iTrader: (0)

You can use that adapter to FTP into the CIC. Instructions for FTP here: https://www.motor-talk.de/forum/akti...hmentId=698293

You need to delete the "/mnt/HBpersistence/normal/generalPersistencyData_DiagnosticSWTController" file and you may need to replace it with a virgin one https://www.cartechnology.co.uk/show...6574#pid166574

Note: I haven't needed to do this myself, so I can only give info from other forums.

Changing the region of the CIC will only be necessary if you get a CIC from outside of your region. I've never needed to do this myself, since North American parts are easily found. I know FSC Code 0019 is for Europe Nav and 001B is for North American Nav.

Again this is only necessary if you need to fully replace a broken CIC, and it isnt' just a dead hard drive or a loose cable.
Appreciate 1
tacaza0.00

      01-12-2018, 06:43 AM   #27
tacaza
Private
0
Rep
72
Posts

Drives: Bmw 320i
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Viet nam

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jagaer View Post
You can use that adapter to FTP into the CIC. Instructions for FTP here: https://www.motor-talk.de/forum/akti...hmentId=698293

You need to delete the "/mnt/HBpersistence/normal/generalPersistencyData_DiagnosticSWTController" file and you may need to replace it with a virgin one https://www.cartechnology.co.uk/show...6574#pid166574

Note: I haven't needed to do this myself, so I can only give info from other forums.

Changing the region of the CIC will only be necessary if you get a CIC from outside of your region. I've never needed to do this myself, since North American parts are easily found. I know FSC Code 0019 is for Europe Nav and 001B is for North American Nav.

Again this is only necessary if you need to fully replace a broken CIC, and it isnt' just a dead hard drive or a loose cable.
My car was produced from Europe so I think FSC code is 0019. Do you know the Europe CIC part number?
Appreciate 0
      01-12-2018, 05:16 PM   #28
opjose
Captain
opjose's Avatar
112
Rep
662
Posts

Drives: 335xi
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Md

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by tacaza View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jagaer View Post
You can use that adapter to FTP into the CIC. Instructions for FTP here: https://www.motor-talk.de/forum/akti...hmentId=698293

You need to delete the "/mnt/HBpersistence/normal/generalPersistencyData_DiagnosticSWTController" file and you may need to replace it with a virgin one https://www.cartechnology.co.uk/show...6574#pid166574

Note: I haven't needed to do this myself, so I can only give info from other forums.

Changing the region of the CIC will only be necessary if you get a CIC from outside of your region. I've never needed to do this myself, since North American parts are easily found. I know FSC Code 0019 is for Europe Nav and 001B is for North American Nav.

Again this is only necessary if you need to fully replace a broken CIC, and it isnt' just a dead hard drive or a loose cable.
My car was produced from Europe so I think FSC code is 0019. Do you know the Europe CIC part number?
You are in Asia right?

You need the FSC code for Asia.
Appreciate 1
tacaza0.00

      01-12-2018, 11:54 PM   #29
tacaza
Private
0
Rep
72
Posts

Drives: Bmw 320i
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Viet nam

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by opjose View Post
You are in Asia right?

You need the FSC code for Asia.
Yes, I'm in Asia, but the car was imported from Germany. Not sure if needing Asia or Europe code?
Appreciate 0
      01-14-2018, 08:45 PM   #30
opjose
Captain
opjose's Avatar
112
Rep
662
Posts

Drives: 335xi
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Md

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by tacaza View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by opjose View Post
You are in Asia right?

You need the FSC code for Asia.
Yes, I'm in Asia, but the car was imported from Germany. Not sure if needing Asia or Europe code?
There are specific FSC codes for each of the "features" in the car.

E.g. One to enable voice recognition, another for Satellite radio, another for Navigation, another for the maps, etc.

Some of these codes are region specific.

Normally if your CIC unit was being replaced a BMW tech would regenerate the codes using a link to BMW servers. The servers get told the VIN and the software generates and downloads codes based upon their VIN database.

Having a backup of the drive would at least allow for the restoration of CIC codes via other means.

You should really start by mounting the original drive on a QNX VM and performing a read only surface test of all of the partitions.

The software you used may not be recognizing the existing partitions correctly.

If the drive shows no errors under Qnix, the CIC HU may be to blame and you may be able to swap the drive into a replacement.
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:02 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST