E90Post
 


ECS BMW
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > Programming Help



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      06-26-2019, 03:20 AM   #1
stevesingo
Private First Class
United Kingdom
30
Rep
126
Posts

Drives: E90 330i MSport 6MT
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Cumbria

iTrader: (0)

Programming Help

Hi all,

I'm in need of some help. I need to re-flash my DSC, Airbag and FRM modules. I updated the VIN on the units, but that caused them to drop their software and I'm unable to get my NCS expert (downloaded from Bimmergeeks) to re-flash them. I keep getting a VIN incorrect message.

Is there anyone who can point me in the direction of a good quality BMW Tools download and give me an iddiots guide?

Any help appreciated, otherwise it is the dealer for an Integration Level re-flash.

Thanks
Appreciate 0
      06-26-2019, 04:05 PM   #2
sdbmwcoding
Second Lieutenant
40
Rep
207
Posts

Drives: BMW M3
Join Date: May 2019
Location: San Diego

iTrader: (0)

Make sure to firstly uninstall your current download. Go to "application and programs" in control panel and uninstall standard tools. After go to Bimmergeeks.net/downloads and download bmw standard tools and e89.rar datens. Update daten after installation via bmw coding tool and then try flashing the modules via winkfp or writing the vin correctly in tool32
Appreciate 0
      06-26-2019, 04:25 PM   #3
Sensible_
Colonel
426
Rep
2,459
Posts

Drives: 2008 E90
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: London

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by stevesingo View Post
Hi all,

I'm in need of some help. I need to re-flash my DSC, Airbag and FRM modules. I updated the VIN on the units, but that caused them to drop their software and I'm unable to get my NCS expert (downloaded from Bimmergeeks) to re-flash them. I keep getting a VIN incorrect message.

Is there anyone who can point me in the direction of a good quality BMW Tools download and give me an iddiots guide?

Any help appreciated, otherwise it is the dealer for an Integration Level re-flash.

Thanks
Why are you using NCS EXPERT to flash? This is a coding software...

Winkfp updates modules.

I don't understand what you are aiming to do or why you need to flash these modules...

Please explain in detail what you are trying to do. What is your overall aim?
Appreciate 0
      06-26-2019, 04:31 PM   #4
stevesingo
Private First Class
United Kingdom
30
Rep
126
Posts

Drives: E90 330i MSport 6MT
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Cumbria

iTrader: (0)

I needed to replace my FRM as it was faulty. I used WinKFP to update the VIN. As I had noticed on INPA that my DSC and Airbag modules didn't have a VIN against them, I thought it would be a good idea to update the VIN. As it turns out, it wasn't! Now I have DCS and Airbag warnings and only basic FRM functionality.

So the question is, how do I restore them to functioning?

Thanks

VIN: WBAVB320X0AV67760

FA E90_#0307&LCSW%0354*VB32$1CA$249$2MF$392$321$337$4

FRM 9128184
Appreciate 0
      06-26-2019, 05:36 PM   #5
sdbmwcoding
Second Lieutenant
40
Rep
207
Posts

Drives: BMW M3
Join Date: May 2019
Location: San Diego

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by stevesingo View Post
I needed to replace my FRM as it was faulty. I used WinKFP to update the VIN. As I had noticed on INPA that my DSC and Airbag modules didn't have a VIN against them, I thought it would be a good idea to update the VIN. As it turns out, it wasn't! Now I have DCS and Airbag warnings and only basic FRM functionality.

So the question is, how do I restore them to functioning?

Thanks

VIN: WBAVB320X0AV67760

FA E90_#0307&LCSW%0354*VB32$1CA$249$2MF$392$321$33 7$4

FRM 9128184
In INPA UIF is it showing the correct time stamp for flash on DSC, ABG and FRM? The second part to frm replacement programming is to copy VO from CAS and FA write to FRM. Once that's done, default code FRM with blank MAN file. The frm should then be coded to the car correctly. As for DSC and ABG, default code those modules in NCS Expert and the faults should erase themselves, clear codes with inpa after. Make sure cable latency is set to 1 ms and com port 1. Make sure daten's are also updated if you are running into errors trying to code in ncs expert
Appreciate 0
      06-27-2019, 12:28 AM   #6
stevesingo
Private First Class
United Kingdom
30
Rep
126
Posts

Drives: E90 330i MSport 6MT
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Cumbria

iTrader: (0)

Thanks.

Quote:
Originally Posted by socalcoding View Post
In INPA UIF is it showing the correct time stamp for flash on DSC, ABG and FRM?
I'll check later. and also post error codes from INPA.

Quote:
Originally Posted by socalcoding View Post
The second part to frm replacement programming is to copy VO from CAS and FA write to FRM. Once that's done, default code FRM with blank MAN file. The frm should then be coded to the car correctly.
This is to be done on NCS Expert as below right?

Quote:
Originally Posted by socalcoding View Post
As for DSC and ABG, default code those modules in NCS Expert and the faults should erase themselves, clear codes with inpa after.
.

Quote:
Originally Posted by socalcoding View Post
Make sure cable latency is set to 1 ms and com port 1.
This I have checked and all OK.

Quote:
Originally Posted by socalcoding View Post
Make sure daten's are also updated if you are running into errors trying to code in ncs expert
I'm using the Bimmergeeks download and installed as per the instructions. I keep getting a VIN error COAPI-2000 Errors. I tried updating with the E89 Daten from Bimmergeeks through BMW coding tool using this guide and now get different errors.

I'll post up some screen shots tonight.

Thanks again.
Appreciate 0
      06-27-2019, 12:56 AM   #7
Sensible_
Colonel
426
Rep
2,459
Posts

Drives: 2008 E90
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: London

iTrader: (1)

So you should start by increasing your understanding of what's happening. Then things will be easy for you to correct.

When you say you wanted to update VIN. You actually flashed the modules. If you just want to update the VIN you use tool32.

Because you flashed the modules they now need coding.

As stated for an FRM replacement you should copy the VO from CAS with FA WRITE. Then default code. However the correct way is to use an expert profile in NCS and code with SG_CODERIEN. You shouldn't use blank MAN files for default coding.

Once coded your DSC may need to be recalibrated if you are still getting problems.
Appreciate 0
      06-27-2019, 01:25 AM   #8
stevesingo
Private First Class
United Kingdom
30
Rep
126
Posts

Drives: E90 330i MSport 6MT
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Cumbria

iTrader: (0)

Sensible,

Understood, I do need to increase my understanding, that is why I'm asking for help.

Your description of the FRM coding is how I understand the process. I think my issue is with NCS Expert. But I don't know what I don't know, if you know what I mean.
Appreciate 0
      06-27-2019, 04:14 AM   #9
Sensible_
Colonel
426
Rep
2,459
Posts

Drives: 2008 E90
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: London

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by stevesingo View Post
Sensible,

Understood, I do need to increase my understanding, that is why I'm asking for help.

Your description of the FRM coding is how I understand the process. I think my issue is with NCS Expert. But I don't know what I don't know, if you know what I mean.
No problem.

Please upload the screen shots so we can see the error.
Appreciate 0
      06-28-2019, 03:52 PM   #10
stevesingo
Private First Class
United Kingdom
30
Rep
126
Posts

Drives: E90 330i MSport 6MT
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Cumbria

iTrader: (0)

Sorry for the tardy reply. Life has a habit of getting in the way!

My UIF



Before anything else I need to correct this...



I think>
Appreciate 0
      06-29-2019, 02:49 AM   #11
Sensible_
Colonel
426
Rep
2,459
Posts

Drives: 2008 E90
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: London

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by stevesingo View Post
Sorry for the tardy reply. Life has a habit of getting in the way!

My UIF



Before anything else I need to correct this...



I think>
Your bottom screenshot is winkfp. This is not flashing modules...

If you do want to flash more modules - Are you choosing comfort mode and update zusb and letting winkfp choose the correct file. Or are you manually trying to select a file?

I thought you were wanting to code the modules? Use NCS Expert for that...
Appreciate 0
      07-01-2019, 03:33 PM   #12
stevesingo
Private First Class
United Kingdom
30
Rep
126
Posts

Drives: E90 330i MSport 6MT
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Cumbria

iTrader: (0)

Sorry for the tardy reply.

I don't have any fault codes on the FRM, so didn't see the need to post a screenshot.

When flashing the module I have tried manually inputting the module number and selecting from the dropdown.

This is the Module info from INPA



When I try to default code the FRM I get this error.



I notice that the files to be uploaded contain FRM_70.PRG

My FRM (new from BMW Dealer) is FRM_87 in the module info screenshot.

Is this an issue?

Last edited by stevesingo; 07-01-2019 at 04:34 PM..
Appreciate 0
      07-01-2019, 03:52 PM   #13
sdbmwcoding
Second Lieutenant
40
Rep
207
Posts

Drives: BMW M3
Join Date: May 2019
Location: San Diego

iTrader: (0)

What year and model is your car? Frm_87 is frm1, frm_70 is frm2 and frm3. Your screenshots aren't loading so I can't see what errors you're talking about but you need to successfully flash the frm before going into ncs expert if you're getting errors in winkfp. Post up your config of winkfp, has to be a config error or you're not doing the correct steps if you can't successfully flash the frm
Appreciate 0
      07-01-2019, 04:30 PM   #14
Sensible_
Colonel
426
Rep
2,459
Posts

Drives: 2008 E90
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: London

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by stevesingo View Post
Sorry for the tardy reply.

I don't have any fault codes on the FRM, so didn't see the need to post a screenshot.

When flashing the module I have tried manually inputting the module number and selecting from the dropdown.

This is the Module info from INPA



When I try to default code the FRM I get this error.



I notice that the files to be uploaded contain FRM_70.PRG

My FRM (new from BMW Dealer) is FRM_87 in the module info screenshot.

Is this an issue?
Images aren't loading for me either.

FYI to update / flash a module don't enter any numbers. Use comfort mode and select ecu family. Winkfp will auto select the correct files.
Appreciate 0
      07-01-2019, 04:47 PM   #15
stevesingo
Private First Class
United Kingdom
30
Rep
126
Posts

Drives: E90 330i MSport 6MT
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Cumbria

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by socalcoding View Post
What year and model is your car? Frm_87 is frm1, frm_70 is frm2 and frm3. Your screenshots aren't loading so I can't see what errors you're talking about but you need to successfully flash the frm before going into ncs expert if you're getting errors in winkfp. Post up your config of winkfp, has to be a config error or you're not doing the correct steps if you can't successfully flash the frm
2007 E90 330i.

It appears I can successfully flash via WinKFP.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sensible_ View Post
Images aren't loading for me either.

FYI to update / flash a module don't enter any numbers. Use comfort mode and select ecu family. Winkfp will auto select the correct files.
I will give this a go if I get chance tomorrow.

As I am a complete novice at this, could someone post a step by step idiot's guide so I can confirm I am doing to correctly?
Appreciate 0
      07-01-2019, 04:49 PM   #16
sdbmwcoding
Second Lieutenant
40
Rep
207
Posts

Drives: BMW M3
Join Date: May 2019
Location: San Diego

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by stevesingo View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by socalcoding View Post
What year and model is your car? Frm_87 is frm1, frm_70 is frm2 and frm3. Your screenshots aren't loading so I can't see what errors you're talking about but you need to successfully flash the frm before going into ncs expert if you're getting errors in winkfp. Post up your config of winkfp, has to be a config error or you're not doing the correct steps if you can't successfully flash the frm
2007 E90 330i.

It appears I can successfully flash via WinKFP.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sensible_ View Post
Images aren't loading for me either.

FYI to update / flash a module don't enter any numbers. Use comfort mode and select ecu family. Winkfp will auto select the correct files.
I will give this a go if I get chance tomorrow.

As I am a complete novice at this, could someone post a step by step idiot's guide so I can confirm I am doing to correctly?
F1 comfort mode
F3 update ecu, choose correct frm (if you replaced your frm1 with frm2 choose frm2, if you had frm2 and replaced with frm2 choose frm2)
F4 input vin
F8 done
F3 prog zb update
Appreciate 0
      07-02-2019, 01:16 PM   #17
stevesingo
Private First Class
United Kingdom
30
Rep
126
Posts

Drives: E90 330i MSport 6MT
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Cumbria

iTrader: (0)

OK, going back to what socalcoding stated that FRM_87 is FRM1, I decided to double check the part number:



It appears to be correct as per the ETK.

Following the iddots guide, when selecting F2-Update ECU, I don't see FRM1, only FRM2, FRMPL2 and FRMR3.



If I use F2-Choose ZUFB I find my FRM part no under FRMPL2.



So I hit I OK, enter the VIN (F4) and Done (F8). Then hit F3 prog zb update.

It goes through the motions and I get..



Am I correct in stating that this is OK? I still have no power windows, welcome lights, interior lights, parking sensors etc. All of which I believe are dependant on the FRM.
Appreciate 0
      07-02-2019, 02:13 PM   #18
sdbmwcoding
Second Lieutenant
40
Rep
207
Posts

Drives: BMW M3
Join Date: May 2019
Location: San Diego

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by stevesingo View Post
OK, going back to what socalcoding stated that FRM_87 is FRM1, I decided to double check the part number:

[IMG]https://forum.s14power.com/data/phot...f1d0d342c0.jpg[/IMG]

It appears to be correct as per the ETK.

Following the iddots guide, when selecting F2-Update ECU, I don't see FRM1, only FRM2, FRMPL2 and FRMR3.

[IMG]https://forum.s14power.com/data/phot...608d2b116e.jpg[/IMG]

If I use F2-Choose ZUFB I find my FRM part no under FRMPL2.

[IMG]https://forum.s14power.com/data/phot...780a98d9c7.jpg[/IMG]

So I hit I OK, enter the VIN (F4) and Done (F8). Then hit F3 prog zb update.

It goes through the motions and I get..

[IMG]https://forum.s14power.com/data/phot...bffa6b3475.jpg[/IMG]

Am I correct in stating that this is OK? I still have no power windows, welcome lights, interior lights, parking sensors etc. All of which I believe are dependant on the FRM.
Frmpl2 is frm1 or frmfa. You're not following my steps above though, you go into comfort mode, press f3 to update ecu, choose frmpl2, press f4 input vin, press f8 done, then f3 prog zb update. Why are you manually choosing a ZB number? Do the exact steps above. After it flashed you'll need to go to ncs expert to copy VO from CAS over to FRM. Then default code frm module
Appreciate 0
      07-02-2019, 02:18 PM   #19
stevesingo
Private First Class
United Kingdom
30
Rep
126
Posts

Drives: E90 330i MSport 6MT
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Cumbria

iTrader: (0)

I tried both but as I didn't see FRM1 as an option, I manually selected. I will try again at half time.

Sorry to ask, but can you post idiots guide for the NCS Expert procedure?
Appreciate 0
      07-02-2019, 02:59 PM   #20
Sensible_
Colonel
426
Rep
2,459
Posts

Drives: 2008 E90
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: London

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by stevesingo View Post
I tried both but as I didn't see FRM1 as an option, I manually selected. I will try again at half time.

Sorry to ask, but can you post idiots guide for the NCS Expert procedure?
http://blog.obdii365.com/2016/10/14/...et-update-frm/
Appreciate 0
      07-02-2019, 03:07 PM   #21
sdbmwcoding
Second Lieutenant
40
Rep
207
Posts

Drives: BMW M3
Join Date: May 2019
Location: San Diego

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by stevesingo View Post
I tried both but as I didn't see FRM1 as an option, I manually selected. I will try again at half time.

Sorry to ask, but can you post idiots guide for the NCS Expert procedure?
In the picture you posted you can see frmpl2 lol you need to choose frmpl2 in update ecu f3 and then input vin and then prog zb update. You don't manually choose a zb
Appreciate 0
      07-02-2019, 03:46 PM   #22
stevesingo
Private First Class
United Kingdom
30
Rep
126
Posts

Drives: E90 330i MSport 6MT
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Cumbria

iTrader: (0)

Thanks Sensible.

So the WinKFP went to plan.

When following the linked guide I get this error...

Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:22 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST