E90Post

Extreme Powerhouse

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > Suspension | Brakes | Chassis > 2009 E92 335i xDrive Brake question!

08-10-2012, 09:15 PM   #1
spabs
Rep
Drives: 2009 E92 335i xDrive

2009 E92 335i xDrive Brake question!

Looking for aftermarket (or BMW Performance) brakes, mostly for a cosmetic upgrade, but I definitely wouldn't mind an increase in braking power, of course. The issue is every time I see brakes I'd like, there's a nice little "excluding xi models" tag in the note lines. I'm seeing this so often it's becoming a taunt. Does anyone know of any brakes (cosmetically, I'd like red calipers) that I could throw on my beast? Additionally, can anyone give a rather simple (I'm still quite new to this whole modding thing and I'm probably trying to learn too much at once) explanation as to why the xi/xDrive models are so limited for their brake choices? I tried doing a search, and I've seen a few threads where people have put BMW Performance calipers on a 328xi and a 330xi, but not a 335 and I'm really iffy on the technical aspects of making that work and just how much risk is involved in doing so.

Thanks in advance!

(Apologies to those who saw this already posted in the wrong forum, that's the issue with having e90post open in 4 tabs and forget which tab is which forum section.)
Appreciate 0
      08-14-2012, 12:27 AM   #2
HP Autosport
Supreme Allied Commander
United_States
Rep
Drives: F80 M3
Location: Santa Barbara, AP, Brembo, GIAC, Koni, Ohlins, Performance Friction, www.hpautosport.com

Quote:
Originally Posted by spabs View Post