E90Post
 


VIBE Motorsports
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > AUDIO/VIDEO + BLUETOOTH + Electronics/Alarm/Software > Retrofit the automatic climate control panel?



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      06-30-2009, 06:26 PM   #1
adfhklkhkjrenwrw
New Member
4
Rep
12
Posts

Drives: ffhadsjkfhkldnj
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: adfhjklakdsjf

iTrader: (0)

Retrofit the automatic climate control panel?

Has anyone here successfully retrofitted the automatic climate control panel to a "manual" air con BMW e90?

I bought an auto climate control panel on ebay for 15, is it really as easy as swapping over the panels, "plug and play"?

I accept that I won't have full "dual climate control", which I don't really need - all I am after is the cosmetic improvement of the digital panel over the manual air con controls.

If anyone could tell me whether a) this will work, and b) whether the auto module will be able to control my "manual" air con - particularly which functions will/won't work, I would be *extremely* grateful.

Thanks,

Matt
Attached Images
 
Appreciate 0
      06-30-2009, 06:44 PM   #2
FotiosF80M3
Major General
FotiosF80M3's Avatar
United_States
251
Rep
6,850
Posts

Drives: 2015 F80 M3 AW/SO 2015 X5 Msp
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: South Shore BMW

iTrader: (61)

I think there is most likely a reason the other one is manual and I dont think it will work. On the one you have you are manually turning the knob and its mechanically changing where the air comes out of the vents.I think the electronic ones work differently.I think its an electronic signal that makes the changes to the air vents. Im not sure just thinking logically.maybe some buttons might work like defrost, recirculate or a/c symbol.good luck with this.
__________________

2018 M3 COMPETITION Mineral white, Black,
carbon roof, black 20's, Mperf splitters/Blade, carbon spoiler, mirrors, etc
Appreciate 0
      06-30-2009, 07:35 PM   #3
srcstc
Major
United_States
65
Rep
1,365
Posts

Drives: 2016 Camaro 2SS
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: NJ

iTrader: (9)

I would buy one on Ebay and try it. I think the connectors are the same.
Appreciate 0
      07-02-2009, 07:48 PM   #4
Bakoko
New Member
10
Rep
17
Posts

Drives: Black E-90
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Egypt

iTrader: (0)

the controls in both manual and automatic are electrical and not mechanical, so i assume fan speed, temperature setting & port selection will work , but dont know if this is enough? will the control unit require programming ?

but anyways it worth trying, and it should not be a big deal to try, no harm should be caused by just removing a connector from one module and placing in the other one
Appreciate 0
      07-02-2009, 08:12 PM   #5
srcstc
Major
United_States
65
Rep
1,365
Posts

Drives: 2016 Camaro 2SS
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: NJ

iTrader: (9)

Post a picture of the back of the controls. I'll tell you if the connections are the same. If they are, I'm sure it'll work. I'm sure BMW only makes one wiring harness for both manual and auto climate controls.


Rich
Appreciate 0
      07-05-2009, 03:38 PM   #6
adfhklkhkjrenwrw
New Member
4
Rep
12
Posts

Drives: ffhadsjkfhkldnj
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: adfhjklakdsjf

iTrader: (0)

Thanks for your help, I tried this last week and the connections are the same, and the LCD and backlights come on. The problem is, it sent the aircon absolutely haywire!! Fan speed control worked, but it was rotating the air distribution in a cycle from footwell, to front vents, to windscreen, and back again, and cycling up and down in speed.

Is this likely just to need reprogramming? If so, where can I get this done? I imagine BMW won't touch it?!
Appreciate 0
      11-15-2009, 03:00 PM   #7
shimano
New Member
Romania
0
Rep
28
Posts

Drives: 320d SparklingGraphiteMetallic
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Transylvania, Romania

iTrader: (0)

Guys if change my auto-climate 2005 model with a 2006 model (with chrome rings), do I need a reprograming ? I have a problem with old one "defrosting window" button was not working so I decide to buy a 2006 climate (it's more nice)
Appreciate 0
      11-15-2009, 04:18 PM   #8
amlebede
Guest
amlebede's Avatar
United_States
23
Rep
612
Posts

Drives: 2006 BMW 330i
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Chapel Hill, NC

iTrader: (0)

Send a message via AIM to amlebede Send a message via Skype™ to amlebede
It will take a lot. Automatic and manual are very different. I wouldn't personally do it, same with iDrive and Comfort access or any other major retrofit.
__________________
2006 Black BMW 330i, Black interior, ZSP, ZPP, Logic 7, Xenon, Ipod, Satellite Radio Preparation, Moonroof, 12'' 2 P2 subwoofers running on KAC-7204 amplifier, Hardwired Escort Passport 8500, Hardwired Garmin Nuvi 650 on Kuda Mount.
tutor,math tutoring,math tutoring,test prep,tutoring jobs,tutoring blog
Appreciate 0
      01-20-2010, 11:03 AM   #9
hattrick
Registered
0
Rep
1
Posts

Drives: e91
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Norway

iTrader: (0)

Anyone learned more on this topic?
How the reprogamming is done successfully etc?
Appreciate 0
      01-20-2010, 12:43 PM   #10
Technic
Lieutenant General
Technic's Avatar
United_States
1269
Rep
12,208
Posts

Drives: 2015 320i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

iTrader: (18)

I would check if all the climate control parts (mechanical or electronic) behind that panel are the same between the manual and the automatic versions. If they are the same then that could be an activation coding project for an Autologic shop in your locale.
Appreciate 0
      02-20-2010, 11:36 AM   #11
piggelin
First Lieutenant
piggelin's Avatar
18
Rep
355
Posts

Drives: BMW 320i E90 2005
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: -.-

iTrader: (0)

i will this thread, because im very interested about this topic. has anyone gotten this to work yet? or is there any other much more cosmetic option for the manual AC?
Appreciate 0
      02-21-2010, 12:21 AM   #12
fdriller9
Banned
United_States
193
Rep
7,090
Posts

Drives: '06 AW 330xi
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: North Jersey/Philly/NYC

iTrader: (4)

Garage List
2006 330xi  [3.22]
I didn't even know that these cars had manual control. Cool.
Appreciate 0
      06-05-2010, 05:03 PM   #13
MalM3
4 pot warrior
MalM3's Avatar
No_Country
26
Rep
1,308
Posts

Drives: E90 318I
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: DENMARK

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2006 e90  [5.00]
Bump topic ?
Any one know anything definite about the upgrade possibillities ?

Ive seen an car that was not born with the auto klima, but now has :?

Anyone manage the upgrade / coding ?
__________________

Been there, done that, wanna do it again
Appreciate 0
      06-06-2010, 11:35 AM   #14
SGxi
Major General
Canada
125
Rep
6,805
Posts

Drives: E90 328xi
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Toronto

iTrader: (17)

Garage List
2007 328xi  [0.00]
I remember someone in the Canada forum had the manual controls on their 323i and just did this same swap over to the automatic climate control. As far as I remember, the member said it requires dealer re-programming.
__________________
MY07 A22 E90 N52Nxi
Appreciate 0
      06-06-2010, 02:28 PM   #15
MalM3
4 pot warrior
MalM3's Avatar
No_Country
26
Rep
1,308
Posts

Drives: E90 318I
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: DENMARK

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2006 e90  [5.00]
Yeah , i read another who thought that reprogramming the car to think it had Automatic was enough,

I need to find someone who can confirm it though
__________________

Been there, done that, wanna do it again
Appreciate 0
      06-07-2010, 01:05 PM   #16
MalM3
4 pot warrior
MalM3's Avatar
No_Country
26
Rep
1,308
Posts

Drives: E90 318I
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: DENMARK

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2006 e90  [5.00]
bump for info ..
__________________

Been there, done that, wanna do it again
Appreciate 0
      11-08-2010, 08:58 PM   #17
e90titan
New Member
0
Rep
11
Posts

Drives: E90 320i
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Australia

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mallard View Post
Yeah , i read another who thought that reprogramming the car to think it had Automatic was enough,

I need to find someone who can confirm it though
You'll need coding to be done.

Even an automatic climate control which was replaced in one of my BM e90 needed recoding. A/C wouldn't work.
Appreciate 0
      12-13-2010, 07:35 PM   #18
Tredvesone
Private
0
Rep
92
Posts

Drives: E82
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Earth

iTrader: (0)

Hi,

could someone please tell me where I can recode this? Autologic? Is this 100% possible?

Thanks for helping!
Appreciate 0
      01-19-2011, 03:15 PM   #19
Tredvesone
Private
0
Rep
92
Posts

Drives: E82
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Earth

iTrader: (0)

Bump...
Appreciate 0
      01-19-2011, 04:26 PM   #20
piggelin
First Lieutenant
piggelin's Avatar
18
Rep
355
Posts

Drives: BMW 320i E90 2005
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: -.-

iTrader: (0)

I don't know how that could work. You still need to change alot of other things rather than just switching panels. ACC and AC are two different things
Appreciate 0
      05-03-2011, 12:19 AM   #21
mapleridge
Banned
108
Rep
2,681
Posts

Drives: E90 N52 AT
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Vancouver, BC

iTrader: (4)

Hi guys, my question is somewhat related. Is there a bracket for manual control so that it would take up the same amount of space as the auto. Mine is manual and the control bracket is one big piece that runs from underneath the headunit to the bottom of the console. A bracket that took up the same space as the auto unit would give me the option of fitting a dynavin hu or retrofit cic if I wanted. Right now I can only manage to fit a normal single din aftermarket unit in there.
Appreciate 0
      12-04-2011, 04:18 AM   #22
kooli9
Private
United Kingdom
5
Rep
68
Posts

Drives: E92 320d
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Herts UK

iTrader: (0)

hey, new to the forum but would really like to know whether this is possible and what is required. I was about to buy a D3 coupe but it had manual controls and the double din kits are all made for auto controls. If i cannot be done is there a kit for manual controls?
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:19 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST