E90Post
 


TNT Racewerks
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BMW E90/E92/E93 3-series General Forums > General E90 Sedan / E91 Wagon / E92 Coupe / E93 Cabrio > Kombi cluster bricked with ista



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      05-26-2018, 12:30 PM   #1
Doodle
New Member
0
Rep
5
Posts

Drives: E90 328ix
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Palm harbor Florida

iTrader: (0)

Kombi cluster bricked with ista

Really need some help if anyone could shed some light on my issue. I've been having a pervasive cluster issue with all the lights including the ABS coming on and off and even my tamper dot Comes on and then goes back off. I've had a few modules that I've replaced and programmed with no problem at all. Last night I tried to update the kombi module and it got stuck at 8% and now my cluster is unusable. The left and right blinker are just taking turns going on and off. I've tried clearing the codes and updating again with ISTA p with no luck. I'm in desperate need of figuring out something. I'm not an expert with this stuff but I've used it several times and it is a very new version. The car starts and drives but there's no dashboard or blinkers. I have to disconnect my battery cable to shut off the blinkers but that still doesn't help the problem. Please PM me as I'd really appreciate it. Also it's a 328 IX sedan base model 63k
Appreciate 0
      05-26-2018, 12:38 PM   #2
feuer
Major General
feuer's Avatar
United_States
2359
Rep
6,162
Posts

Drives: wife crazy!
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Chicago, IL

iTrader: (3)

I'm sorry I don't know how to fix your issue but I have 2013 328xi cluster with less than 15k for sale if you are interested. It has the oil temperature gauge.
Appreciate 0
      05-26-2018, 12:42 PM   #3
RocketSurgeon
Lieutenant
247
Rep
458
Posts

Drives: 2008 135i Manual, CBR650F
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: NC

iTrader: (0)

Did you use an ICOM with ISTA-P, or K+DCAN with an emulator? You might be able to reflash the KOMBI with WinKFP, then code with NCS Expert.
Appreciate 0
      05-26-2018, 01:15 PM   #4
tlow98
Colonel
786
Rep
2,585
Posts

Drives: 2009 E91
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Bay Area

iTrader: (1)

What cable we’re you using?
Appreciate 0
      05-26-2018, 09:51 PM   #5
Doodle
New Member
0
Rep
5
Posts

Drives: E90 328ix
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Palm harbor Florida

iTrader: (0)

Kcan usb. I was told the Kombi needs icom. Any ideas
Appreciate 0
      05-27-2018, 11:25 AM   #6
mxchris727
Lieutenant
mxchris727's Avatar
United_States
117
Rep
549
Posts

Drives: E93 335i, E39 (Both 6-speed)
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Wilton, CT/Boston, MA

iTrader: (0)

What version of ISTA are you running? Try with a later version.
__________________

BMW GT1 (INPA, DIS, WinKFP, ect..), ISTA/P & /D is up and running! PM me if you want to stop by and code your car.
Appreciate 0
      05-27-2018, 12:19 PM   #7
RocketSurgeon
Lieutenant
247
Rep
458
Posts

Drives: 2008 135i Manual, CBR650F
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: NC

iTrader: (0)

The emulators can get you in big trouble with programming. A good K+DCAN cable can almost certainly program the KOMBI successfully. The problem is ISTA-P and the emulator.
You can probably recover the KOMBI using WINKFP, as long as you have a good cable like the bimmergeeks one. Find the ZUSB of your KOMBI and flash that using WINKFP, comfort mode should work fine.
Appreciate 0
      05-27-2018, 06:15 PM   #8
Doodle
New Member
0
Rep
5
Posts

Drives: E90 328ix
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Palm harbor Florida

iTrader: (0)

Unfortunately I paid an expert who went in trying multiple tools and nothing. Now I desperately need to find someone to swap epromms after I buy a new cluster. I can't afford to have the tamper dot go on. Car has 63k. Any other suggestions?
Appreciate 0
      05-27-2018, 07:37 PM   #9
banglenot
New Member
8
Rep
13
Posts

Drives: 2007 328xiT
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: 2007 328xiT

iTrader: (0)

Contact bimmergeeks.net.

They offer remote coding and flashing. They also say they will virginize your Kombi so it can be reinstalled.

haven't used them for this, but it's an option Good luck.
Appreciate 1
Jim_B1.50

Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:49 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST