E90Post
 


ECS BMW
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > AUDIO/VIDEO + BLUETOOTH + Electronics/Alarm/Software > Aftermarket head unit.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      01-02-2014, 12:37 PM   #1
Dominic3262
Registered
0
Rep
3
Posts

Drives: 2006 325i
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: United States

iTrader: (0)

Aftermarket head unit.

I'm trying to install my pioneer head unit with metra harness 70-9003 but can't get it to turn on at all. I took my car to an installation shop, they looked at it and said the reason the head unit wasn't turning on is that I need to replace factory amplifier with an aftermarket amplifier in order to get the radio to work.

However, I read in another forum that if I don't have a L7 system then I don't need to replace the amp. I have no speaker in the middle of my dash and no rear door speakers so I'm assuming I don't have L7.

Do I need to replace the amp or not, will that solve my problem if I do?
Appreciate 0
      01-02-2014, 07:41 PM   #2
cdgatti
Colonel
cdgatti's Avatar
209
Rep
2,516
Posts

Drives: e90 328i
Join Date: May 2011
Location: KY

iTrader: (4)

That doesn't seem right. The fact that the head unit won't power up sounds more like either a constant 12V or ignition 12V source isn't correct. You should not have to replace the hifi amp.
Appreciate 0
      01-02-2014, 08:13 PM   #3
JerryK73
Second Lieutenant
17
Rep
286
Posts

Drives: 2009 LeMans Blue Coupe
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: New Jersey/New Orleans/Houston

iTrader: (3)

You don't need to replace the amp. If you do a search on here you should be able to find a diy or you could download the install guide for the dynavin head units.

Last edited by JerryK73; 01-02-2014 at 09:10 PM. Reason: Posted incorrect link
Appreciate 0
      01-02-2014, 09:05 PM   #4
Ali-323i
Lieutenant Colonel
Ali-323i's Avatar
Canada
260
Rep
1,978
Posts

Drives: 2007 E90 323i (Cdn)
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Toronto, Canada

iTrader: (3)

Garage List
2007 BMW 323i  [4.25]
Double check the wiring of your harness. I've read a post that says sometimes the harness isn't wired the way the documentation suggests it is.

I know I've seen a thread that discusses this and shows what wires are correct, so you can ensure it is wired correctly.

Agree that this must be an issue with either the 12V power, or Acc/Ignition wires.

Good luck!
__________________
Appreciate 0
      01-02-2014, 09:15 PM   #5
JerryK73
Second Lieutenant
17
Rep
286
Posts

Drives: 2009 LeMans Blue Coupe
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: New Jersey/New Orleans/Houston

iTrader: (3)

Found a thread with a wiring diagram on it.
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=809490
Appreciate 0
      01-03-2014, 09:28 AM   #6
Viktimize
First Lieutenant
Canada
5
Rep
375
Posts

Drives: 2007 335i, 2002 325i
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

iTrader: (0)

I don't understand why every time this comes up nobody has the answer to this? It should be pretty common knowledge here by now that the harness is useless. There is no true constant or switched power source. You have to tap fuses from the fuse box to get your power sources.

I had issues installing my head unit as well, because from what I read I thought I only needed constant power tapped from somewhere else. Unit still didn't work and I ended up having to tap both power sources from fuse box. Search around and you will find what you need.
Appreciate 0
      01-03-2014, 11:54 AM   #7
bmw325i
Major General
160
Rep
5,122
Posts

Drives: 2006 BMW 325i
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: United States

iTrader: (8)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Viktimize View Post
I don't understand why every time this comes up nobody has the answer to this? It should be pretty common knowledge here by now that the harness is useless. There is no true constant or switched power source. You have to tap fuses from the fuse box to get your power sources.

I had issues installing my head unit as well, because from what I read I thought I only needed constant power tapped from somewhere else. Unit still didn't work and I ended up having to tap both power sources from fuse box. Search around and you will find what you need.
The connects2 harness has a switched 12 volt wire. You just have to run a wire to the battery for the constant. It also has the adapter for the steering wheel controls built in.
Appreciate 0
      01-03-2014, 06:45 PM   #8
Viktimize
First Lieutenant
Canada
5
Rep
375
Posts

Drives: 2007 335i, 2002 325i
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by bmw325i View Post
The connects2 harness has a switched 12 volt wire. You just have to run a wire to the battery for the constant. It also has the adapter for the steering wheel controls built in.
Yes I have read up on that one. Tempted to tear out my Metra and Axxess harness' and switch to that just for the simplicity. I don't like having things tapped off other fuses to begin with.

But if OP does not want to buy a whole other much more expensive harness, he will have to tap his power sources from somewhere other than the Metra harness.
Appreciate 0
      01-03-2014, 07:02 PM   #9
bmw325i
Major General
160
Rep
5,122
Posts

Drives: 2006 BMW 325i
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: United States

iTrader: (8)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Viktimize View Post
Yes I have read up on that one. Tempted to tear out my Metra and Axxess harness' and switch to that just for the simplicity. I don't like having things tapped off other fuses to begin with.

But if OP does not want to buy a whole other much more expensive harness, he will have to tap his power sources from somewhere other than the Metra harness.
+1 I feel the same way about fuse taps, but it is necessary with the metra harness.

The other reason I went with the connects2 harness is because it has the reverse signal wire, speed pulse, and handbrake wires which are useful when installing a double din with navigation.
Appreciate 0
      01-04-2014, 10:13 AM   #10
Dominic3262
Registered
0
Rep
3
Posts

Drives: 2006 325i
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: United States

iTrader: (0)

I am going to keep the metra harness and do a fuse tap.
I saw that one wiring diagram before but thought I could still wire the radio straight to the wiring harness. Should have read the whole forum on that one.
Thanks
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
amplifier, head unit, help me, radio, wiring

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:24 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST