E90Post

The Tire Rack

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > All-Wheel-Drive (Xi / xDrive) Talk > 335XI 6AT Tuning options....

05-10-2019, 05:21 PM   #1
SyNtAxx
Rep
Drives: 2008 335xi

335XI 6AT Tuning options....

Hey all,

I'm wanting to tune my bone stock 08 335xi with 57k miles on it. I have the 6AT in it. I've not been able to find hard numbers on what the 'safe' limits of the XI/6AT setup is.

I was looking at MHD with the OTS maps. I'm assuming the car/trans/xfer case can handle all the way up to FBO/Stage 2+ ?

I'm not looking for a tuning war or vendor war. Just an an answer and preferably some numbers to go by HP/TQ *shrug* as I said Im new to the car...only have 3k miles under my belt in her.

Thanks,

Nick
Appreciate 0
      05-13-2019, 04:31 PM   #2
ewicky
Lieutenant
United_States
Rep
Drives: '07 335xi 4D AT

Short answer: Keep adding power until the tranny begins to slip. From what I've heard, probably around 500-550 HP, but with age that could be lower. 57kmi is the perfect time to drain&fill the transmission, as well as replace the pan/filter (if it hasn't been already). xHP claims to be able to squeeze a little more out of these trannies before slipping by immediately applying max available pressure to the clutches.