E90Post

The Tire Rack

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > NA Engine (non-turbo) / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications > My ordeal with the 2A87 Exhaust Vanos code - Long story

06-15-2018, 06:55 PM   #1
E91ME
Rep
Drives: 328i Sports Wagon

My ordeal with the 2A87 Exhaust Vanos code - Long story

Hi All. Long time reader, 1st time poster. I'm fairly new to BMWs, so have not had any info to share that's not already out there. I did, however, just had a recent experience that seem worthwhile to share, if only to help other new-to-BMW guys avoid the hassle that I went thru.

The car is a 2011 328i Wagon that was mainly driven by my wife. At about 80k miles a slew of problems popped up (with service engine soon light) that made me take over the car to take care of the issues. The first thing I tackled was a misfire that was tracked down to a fairly new ignition coil (13k miles old) that somehow went bad already. This coil was made by Delphi and I'm thinking I'm just freakishly unlucky to get a bad one that only lasted a year. Immediately after this the car started making a very loud whistling/loud hum while idling or coasting with the throttle off (The sound is very much like what UFOs sound like in old black and white movies). This was pinpointed to be a torn CCV diaphragm, so in went a new Valve Cover which solved the issue. Then after this I kept getting a 2A87 Exhaust Vanos mechanically jammed code. The car was driving pretty much normally, but the code would come back after 30-60 miles of driving like clockwork after I clear it. Since the car was driving okay I took my time and started researching all of the causes of the 2A87 code and found all of the usual recommendations...

1) Check oil filter cap and make sure center insert is intact. - Since I had done an oil change barely 4k miles ago I knew the insert was there, but checked it anyways.