E90Post
 


ECS BMW
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > All-Wheel-Drive (Xi / xDrive) Talk > Please Help , Communication Error , no awd-cruise-abs-dsc-red brake light-hill assist



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      12-09-2015, 11:57 AM   #23
WingMan42
New Member
United_States
3
Rep
27
Posts

Drives: 07 335xi
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Raleigh NC

iTrader: (0)

Sorry its 51B0 message (brake light switch) of DSC not plausible

Status brake pressure signal wrong
test condition fulfilled
error present now and already stored
error would not cause a warning lamp to light up…..
Appreciate 0
      12-09-2015, 02:09 PM   #24
frenchi
First Lieutenant
frenchi's Avatar
France
55
Rep
389
Posts

Drives: F30 340i M Performance
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: France

iTrader: (10)

Abs pressure sensor faulty,you need a new abs pump of full dsc module for sure
Appreciate 0
      12-09-2015, 02:13 PM   #25
WingMan42
New Member
United_States
3
Rep
27
Posts

Drives: 07 335xi
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Raleigh NC

iTrader: (0)

I can pick up a good used one for 250$ Id be happy if thats all i have to do.
My thing is learning how to code / program the one id be putting in, if theres anyway someone could point me in that direction haha!

Also its says that it will now cause a warning light, but all warning lights are on??
Appreciate 0
      12-09-2015, 02:42 PM   #26
frenchi
First Lieutenant
frenchi's Avatar
France
55
Rep
389
Posts

Drives: F30 340i M Performance
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: France

iTrader: (10)

Take it,unscrew the pump and replace with yours keeping your dsc control module so you won't need any coding
Appreciate 0
      12-10-2015, 08:10 AM   #27
WingMan42
New Member
United_States
3
Rep
27
Posts

Drives: 07 335xi
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Raleigh NC

iTrader: (0)

I will try this out, and report back as soon as I get the part in. Thanks everyone for the info and help , hopefully this will resolve my issue,!

Could someone point me in the right direction of coding a dcs/abs unit in case it's the module as well?
Appreciate 0
      12-13-2015, 02:19 PM   #28
WingMan42
New Member
United_States
3
Rep
27
Posts

Drives: 07 335xi
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Raleigh NC

iTrader: (0)

Replacing pump did not fix my problem...
Appreciate 0
      12-14-2015, 10:29 AM   #29
frenchi
First Lieutenant
frenchi's Avatar
France
55
Rep
389
Posts

Drives: F30 340i M Performance
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: France

iTrader: (10)

did you replace only the pump or full unit ? bleeding brake fluid ? can you scan again your dsc for errors that you got last time.
Appreciate 0
      12-14-2015, 12:53 PM   #30
matteblue3er
Captain
169
Rep
816
Posts

Drives: Racecar
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Philly

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by WingMan42 View Post
Ive got the 51BO Code.. Brake switch signal not plausible for DSC.

and yes i did the brake bleed procedure by accident, and the pump was running… definitely made noises…

there is a function to check the clutch too, when i do that, i can hear a thump noise from the unit and my red brake, ABS and DSC light goes off for a second and then comes back on.

after that test function is complete it say clutch function test not ok..
not sure if thats a test for some sort of clutch in the DSC unit, or for a manual vehicle, bc mine is an Automatic Trans.

Also had the Longitudinal sensor calibration
Same thing happens when i run that test too, lights off on dash , then back on…


what could cause this code?
Normal since you have an auto
Appreciate 0
      12-14-2015, 12:56 PM   #31
matteblue3er
Captain
169
Rep
816
Posts

Drives: Racecar
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Philly

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by WingMan42 View Post
Sorry its 51B0 message (brake light switch) of DSC not plausible

Status brake pressure signal wrong
test condition fulfilled
error present now and already stored
error would not cause a warning lamp to light up…..
Have you tried replacing the brake light switch?

If you go into FRM and under Status, you can see if the switch is working properly.

The circle should be blank. Then it should shade in when brakes are applied.

Typically, any time a component of the DSC system fails, the entire system is disabled.

Btw, all of these system rely on input from the steering angle sensor. I would try having the steering angle sensor recalibrated. You will need a scan tool to do this procedure. CALIBRATION is NOT turning the wheel lock to lock, that is INITIALIZATION, which needs to be done after the SAS is calibrated.
Quote:
Originally Posted by WingMan42 View Post
Currently not working:

ABS
DSC
AWD
Cruise Control
Adaptive Headlights(probably another issue in itself)
Start Assist
Appreciate 0
      12-16-2015, 08:17 AM   #32
WingMan42
New Member
United_States
3
Rep
27
Posts

Drives: 07 335xi
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Raleigh NC

iTrader: (0)

i replaced the pump and block, not the module. seems to have cleared up my brake pressure not plausible. Also testing brake light switch is good! I finally got dis57 to connect and calibrated my steering angle sensor successfully. cleared codes. also calibrated DSC sensor. wouldn't allow me to Calibrate DSC Unit? have not bled the brakes. didn't have time last night…will do that when i get home today, can that keep the light on? Also, tried to read my VTG Module, No response from unit, No Data transfer it says.. IDK!! Wish i had a pin out of the VTG harness, PT-Can diagram(Color coded to trace wires for shorts?)

I did notice when i test the DSC Pump through DIS57 the lights go off for a second then come back on(ABS,DSC,Red Brake)

but i have zero communication with VTG Module(replaced twice)-Module is good
Also after recalibrating and initializing SAS Signals cut off like then should, but then stop again, (It comes and goes)
Appreciate 0
      12-16-2015, 10:40 AM   #33
frenchi
First Lieutenant
frenchi's Avatar
France
55
Rep
389
Posts

Drives: F30 340i M Performance
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: France

iTrader: (10)

Replace and bleed brake fluid for sure,it seems that you got more then one problem on your car but at least one of them is solved now
Appreciate 0
      12-16-2015, 11:05 AM   #34
WingMan42
New Member
United_States
3
Rep
27
Posts

Drives: 07 335xi
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Raleigh NC

iTrader: (0)

true! baby steps! thanks for all the info and help. Im going to continue to try and resolve this issue!

Anyone know where i can obtain a PDF of the 335xi 3 Series Bentley Service Manual??!!
Appreciate 0
      12-22-2015, 08:28 AM   #35
WingMan42
New Member
United_States
3
Rep
27
Posts

Drives: 07 335xi
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Raleigh NC

iTrader: (0)

So i flushed the brake fluid, and bled the brakes. They feel very nice now! as for my communication issue with my VTG Module, its in the PT-Can from my diagnosis with DISv57 . I am going to splice into the Pt-can at the DSC Module and go directly from there to the VTG Module and see if i can't get communication back since i know i have communication with the DSC module! From all my research the PT-Can high and low are a twisted linear two wire system, One wire being blue(BL), and the other being blue with a red tracerBL/RT. At this point I'm trying anything bc i know the modules are good. and i am getting power to the module itself. Going to try this this afternoon and report back. If anyone thinks this is a NO NO , please advise haha!
Appreciate 0
      12-29-2015, 02:16 PM   #36
WingMan42
New Member
United_States
3
Rep
27
Posts

Drives: 07 335xi
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Raleigh NC

iTrader: (0)

^^..No luck with this…^^

the force is strong with this one……
maybe ill order another VTG module…. idk….
Appreciate 0
      07-21-2016, 12:52 AM   #37
nicka911
Registered
2
Rep
1
Posts

Drives: 2006 e90 xi
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Georgia, Tbilisi

iTrader: (0)

hi, i have the same issue. How did you fix it?
Appreciate 1
      07-22-2018, 05:26 PM   #38
JCP0521
New Member
0
Rep
8
Posts

Drives: 2006 BMW 325xi
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Levittown, Pa

iTrader: (0)

I am having the same VTG problem also, not able to connect. ABS, 4 x 4, red brake light bulb on the dash, replace transfer case actuator motor but didn't solve the problem, cleaned steering angle sensor and it reads fine on my scanner but didn't solve the problem either, Cannot connect to VTG. Has anyone found a fix for this yet
Appreciate 0
      01-25-2019, 10:04 PM   #39
chewson
Registered
0
Rep
1
Posts

Drives: 06 330xi
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Calgary, Canada

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by JCP0521 View Post
I am having the same VTG problem also, not able to connect. ABS, 4 x 4, red brake light bulb on the dash, replace transfer case actuator motor but didn't solve the problem, cleaned steering angle sensor and it reads fine on my scanner but didn't solve the problem either, Cannot connect to VTG. Has anyone found a fix for this yet
not sure if you fixed this or not, but I had the same issue (a bunch of transfer case related codes including faulty transfer box and no communication with the vtg, a few others). When I hooked my car up to ISTA/P it said I needed to replace the JBE module, did that then did a program/code with ISTA/P et voila, no more lights and communication with the VTG. Hope that helps.

EDIT I didn't have a jbe code in ISTA/D or INPA
Appreciate 0
      01-26-2019, 12:57 PM   #40
.RJ
Private First Class
43
Rep
198
Posts

Drives: Space Grey E91
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Washington, DC

iTrader: (1)

I dont know if its helpful here or not, but I just had a similar issue where the car was reading a ton of codes for comm faults in the canbus - the issue turned out to be a bad RDC/TPMS module. They found the issue by unplugging each module in the car, clearing codes, and then seeing if they came back. With the RDC/TPMS unplugged the codes would clear.
Appreciate 0
      05-12-2019, 06:08 PM   #41
asiemers
New Member
2
Rep
24
Posts

Drives: E90 325i
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: New York

iTrader: (0)

Did you ever find a solution to this, I have the same issue and pulled these two codes also;
D36A
D36B
Appreciate 0
      05-14-2019, 11:22 PM   #42
squaredphoto
Private
61
Rep
94
Posts

Drives: E91
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Chicago

iTrader: (2)

Garage List
FRM?
__________________
Appreciate 0
      05-15-2019, 10:19 PM   #43
zhuk90
Registered
0
Rep
1
Posts

Drives: 328i
Join Date: May 2019
Location: michigan

iTrader: (0)

Also having the same problem and inpa is pulling D36A

comes back right away after clearing
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:59 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST