E90Post
 


TNT Racewerks
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > MHD Flasher for N54 - general discussion



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      05-09-2019, 10:14 PM   #11991
Aus335iguy
Lieutenant Colonel
Aus335iguy's Avatar
512
Rep
1,907
Posts

Drives: 2009 e92 335i MSport DCT
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Sydney Aus

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2009 BMW 335i  [5.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by IllSic_Design View Post
No, the app/software Xhp does that.
On a DCT car it kinda does
__________________
When you doppelkaplung you doppel your fun.
Appreciate 0
      05-10-2019, 08:52 AM   #11992
MEN54
Private First Class
MEN54's Avatar
61
Rep
145
Posts

Drives: BMW 335i
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: New York

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by IllSic_Design View Post
No, the app/software Xhp does that.
can i run Xhp and mhd at same time?
Appreciate 0
      05-10-2019, 09:57 AM   #11993
BM3Rrrr
Crunchy Peanut Butter
BM3Rrrr's Avatar
No_Country
125
Rep
568
Posts

Drives: a Pirate Ship
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: The Isle of Tortuga

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by MEN54 View Post
can i run Xhp and mhd at same time?
Yes you can
__________________
2010 e90 335i LCI - xHP - Mishimoto - BMS - CPe - Turbosmart - MHD - Eibach - Koni - VMR - LUX
Appreciate 0
      05-10-2019, 10:02 AM   #11994
riczon.335i
Private First Class
riczon.335i's Avatar
United_States
28
Rep
197
Posts

Drives: 2007 BMW 335i Coupe
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Kennewick, WA

iTrader: (1)

Remember to select XPH when your going through the MHD flashing options you will see a list of other TCU flash options as well.

Quote:
Originally Posted by MEN54 View Post
can i run Xhp and mhd at same time?
Appreciate 0
      05-12-2019, 09:18 PM   #11995
MEN54
Private First Class
MEN54's Avatar
61
Rep
145
Posts

Drives: BMW 335i
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: New York

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by riczon.335i View Post
Remember to select XPH when your going through the MHD flashing options you will see a list of other TCU flash options as well.
i dont see that within builtin MHD maps
Appreciate 0
      05-12-2019, 09:47 PM   #11996
riczon.335i
Private First Class
riczon.335i's Avatar
United_States
28
Rep
197
Posts

Drives: 2007 BMW 335i Coupe
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Kennewick, WA

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by MEN54 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by riczon.335i View Post
Remember to select XPH when your going through the MHD flashing options you will see a list of other TCU flash options as well.
i dont see that within builtin MHD maps
The option should pop up after you select which stage map your flashing once you do that it should take you to the next screen will give you transmission flashing options in order like this...Manual, DCT, Auto (AT) standard, Auto (AT) Alpina Mod, and XPH flash. If you need a screenshot I can upload one.
Appreciate 0
      05-13-2019, 07:03 AM   #11997
MEN54
Private First Class
MEN54's Avatar
61
Rep
145
Posts

Drives: BMW 335i
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: New York

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by riczon.335i View Post
The option should pop up after you select which stage map your flashing once you do that it should take you to the next screen will give you transmission flashing options in order like this...Manual, DCT, Auto (AT) standard, Auto (AT) Alpina Mod, and XPH flash. If you need a screenshot I can upload one.
Thanks, i got it,so how does it work if i flash my car with XPH?
Appreciate 0
      05-13-2019, 07:13 AM   #11998
RoughKnight
Enlisted Member
Canada
9
Rep
48
Posts

Drives: BMW 335xi
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Ottawa Ontario

iTrader: (0)

You should do the XHP flash first, but it doesn't matter to be honest. Just to be safe, everytime I do a xhp flash I always reflash with mhd right after. But once u install a stage 3 xhp flash, you'll probably never touch xhp again anyways. It's really good, manual mode is just toooo good
Appreciate 1
      05-15-2019, 10:35 PM   #11999
GotBoost007
New Member
2
Rep
13
Posts

Drives: 2008 335i
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Charlotte NC

iTrader: (0)

Just flashed stage 1+ today and logs are good. Question I have is the transmission isn't able to shift quite as well when going about 40-50% throttle. Any recommendations on helping the AT adjust to the tune or does it adapt to the added power over time..after all the tune is fresh to the car. I haven't reset any adaptations yet and no flash on the AT. Thanks for any input.
Appreciate 0
      05-16-2019, 05:34 PM   #12000
RoughKnight
Enlisted Member
Canada
9
Rep
48
Posts

Drives: BMW 335xi
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Ottawa Ontario

iTrader: (0)

Do not reset adaptations without doing work to the transmission. I believe that (from my research) until you replace the solenoids in the zf adaptation reset will do more damage than good. I have the same problem as you with the half throttle shifting but I think that may be due to lack of maintenance. Start with the tranny fluids and diff fluids and see if that doesn't make a world of difference.
Appreciate 0
      05-16-2019, 09:55 PM   #12001
GotBoost007
New Member
2
Rep
13
Posts

Drives: 2008 335i
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Charlotte NC

iTrader: (0)

I agree. Changed the fluid, filter, and tranny pan about 2 months ago and decided not to reset the adaptations. Still haven't done the diff yet. When driving aggressive it seems like it shifts gears then has a little boost surge and small jump in rpms for a sec before smoothing out for the next gear. It may just be the effect of double the boost, increase in power..torque etc.. Man its fast. I drove an M4 today at a local M Performance event and it didn't even surprise me after tuning the N54. My VRSF charge pipe coupler popped off the lower charge pipe at WOT in manual shift mode today. Wondering if that may have been causing some problems with boost pressure that made shifts a little rough since I didn't install the clamp and coupler 100% right. No codes. Car was pulling strong up until the pipe popped out of the coupler.
Appreciate 0
      05-17-2019, 05:22 AM   #12002
johnscales
Private First Class
13
Rep
117
Posts

Drives: 335i MSport
Join Date: May 2013
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Noob to meth question since I can't find a definitive anywhere online.
I have my meth install set up, tested and ready to go.
I will be getting an individual tune but in the mean time have been told that it would be fine to run an e40 map and log to see how the car handles it.
My question is that even if the log shows that the car is fine during WOT with meth flowing how is the e40 map likely to affect the car the other 90% of the time during normal and say 50% throttle where no meth is spraying since this general use isn't logged?

Some learning as to what the difference is for timing/psi changes between the stage 2+ 93 map and e40 map would be welcomed.
Appreciate 0
      05-17-2019, 05:25 AM   #12003
johnscales
Private First Class
13
Rep
117
Posts

Drives: 335i MSport
Join Date: May 2013
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Will be doing a 50/50, mix btw with DO12 nozzle
Appreciate 0
      05-17-2019, 06:43 AM   #12004
type-dRew
Captain
type-dRew's Avatar
265
Rep
628
Posts

Drives: 2009 335i xDrive
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Newport MI

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnscales View Post
Noob to meth question since I can't find a definitive anywhere online.
I have my meth install set up, tested and ready to go.
I will be getting an individual tune but in the mean time have been told that it would be fine to run an e40 map and log to see how the car handles it.
My question is that even if the log shows that the car is fine during WOT with meth flowing how is the e40 map likely to affect the car the other 90% of the time during normal and say 50% throttle where no meth is spraying since this general use isn't logged?

Some learning as to what the difference is for timing/psi changes between the stage 2+ 93 map and e40 map would be welcomed.
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnscales View Post
Will be doing a 50/50, mix btw with DO12 nozzle
Do not run an ethanol map for meth. Run your standard map until you get it lined out. You can run a map for slightly higher octane if you feel comfortable with how the kit is working after testing but not an ethanol map.

Ethanol blend maps adjust the fueling at all times and targets a much leaner lambda wide open, its not built for meth spraying wide open strictly.
__________________
PSP 750ic / BMS CP / XHP / xDelete+ / MHD
Appreciate 0
      05-17-2019, 09:14 AM   #12005
johnscales
Private First Class
13
Rep
117
Posts

Drives: 335i MSport
Join Date: May 2013
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Thanks type-dRew. Was pretty sure that something could potentially be upset outside of the meth spraying. Just wasn't clear what it would be.
I'll try for the 95 octane map, try a lowish boost setting (8 psi) and see what someone thinks of my logs though I think the DO12 nozzle might cause an issue low down (i've a basic on/off setup).
Can you just clarify if a similar issue might occur when running a higher octane map given that the meth will only be spraying when called for by boost.
Again this is a band aid until I get a fit for purpose tune for my car. Am still hunting for someone who can do this without me needing a JB4.
Appreciate 0
      05-17-2019, 09:25 AM   #12006
type-dRew
Captain
type-dRew's Avatar
265
Rep
628
Posts

Drives: 2009 335i xDrive
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Newport MI

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnscales View Post
Thanks type-dRew. Was pretty sure that something could potentially be upset outside of the meth spraying. Just wasn't clear what it would be.
I'll try for the 95 octane map, try a lowish boost setting (8 psi) and see what someone thinks of my logs though I think the DO12 nozzle might cause an issue low down (i've a basic on/off setup).
Can you just clarify if a similar issue might occur when running a higher octane map given that the meth will only be spraying when called for by boost.
Again this is a band aid until I get a fit for purpose tune for my car. Am still hunting for someone who can do this without me needing a JB4.
Pre order the meth flow integration from twisted tuning, it will allow you to run split maps through the DME and will measure meth flow to determine what tune the car should be on at the time.

https://twistedtuning.com/collection...fg-1-pre-order

Until then I would set the car up with the tune that its currently on. You will see an improvement in power simply from the meth and lower intake temps, after you set it up and verify its working properly, then move to a hotter higher octane map.
__________________
PSP 750ic / BMS CP / XHP / xDelete+ / MHD
Appreciate 0
      05-17-2019, 09:33 AM   #12007
johnscales
Private First Class
13
Rep
117
Posts

Drives: 335i MSport
Join Date: May 2013
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Re meth flow integration. Amazing. This is absolutely what I want and had no idea was available outside of a JB4 (but arrrrgggghhh more money ). Definitely going to get this.

When you say set the car up with the tune it's currently on do you mean that I should introduce the meth from now without a tune and grab some logs to see how it performs? Also is this 'as is' or going 95 octane since i'm currently running 93?

Thanks again.
Appreciate 0
      05-17-2019, 09:35 AM   #12008
johnscales
Private First Class
13
Rep
117
Posts

Drives: 335i MSport
Join Date: May 2013
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Just re read your reply. You mean 'as is' i.e the 93 octain which I'm currently running right?
In which case what do I do to 'set the car up' (without tuning)?
Appreciate 0
      05-17-2019, 09:58 AM   #12009
MooreBoost
Stand-up Philosopher
MooreBoost's Avatar
39
Rep
137
Posts

Drives: '10 E90 335i
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Bradenton, Florida

iTrader: (0)

Has anyone used a jump box connected to the jumping locations under the hood to keep voltage up during a flash?

My battery was on the fritz and my CTEK couldn't keep up during a recent flash, causing problems. Now I'm gunshy.
Appreciate 0
      05-17-2019, 10:02 AM   #12010
type-dRew
Captain
type-dRew's Avatar
265
Rep
628
Posts

Drives: 2009 335i xDrive
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Newport MI

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnscales View Post
Re meth flow integration. Amazing. This is absolutely what I want and had no idea was available outside of a JB4 (but arrrrgggghhh more money ). Definitely going to get this.

When you say set the car up with the tune it's currently on do you mean that I should introduce the meth from now without a tune and grab some logs to see how it performs? Also is this 'as is' or going 95 octane since i'm currently running 93?

Thanks again.
It is more money, but for what it is, actually pretty cheap. Way less money than a jb4 and with actual tuning behind the map variation, not just more or less boost. Plus you were going to get a tune anyway, so it works out.

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnscales View Post
Just re read your reply. You mean 'as is' i.e the 93 octain which I'm currently running right?
In which case what do I do to 'set the car up' (without tuning)?
Yes, I mean just install your meth and run it as is. You want to make sure the kit is working correctly before swapping to a hotter map.
__________________
PSP 750ic / BMS CP / XHP / xDelete+ / MHD
Appreciate 0
      05-19-2019, 09:28 AM   #12011
dublin14
Lieutenant
dublin14's Avatar
131
Rep
416
Posts

Drives: A4 S-line -330 next
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Toronto-Canada

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheMidnightNarwhal View Post
Wow that's fantastic. I was thinking E30 would be 400whp.
Not really. Its actually low. Etune with stage 2+ should be 400whp at least.
Appreciate 0
      05-19-2019, 01:06 PM   #12012
JunkyardDogg
Lieutenant
33
Rep
510
Posts

Drives: E92 BSM 335is
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Jersey

iTrader: (0)

What's the procedure for registering a new battery?

I just replaced my oem battery with a replacement. PLugged in MHD, and went to reset adaptations and then register battery. But I only got this screen that battery register has been reset. This doesn't mean it was registered right?



Last edited by JunkyardDogg; 05-19-2019 at 01:13 PM..
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:58 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST