E90Post
 


Extreme Powerhouse
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > ConnectedDrive / I-Drive / Navigation Related Discussion > ~DIY: $130 Rear View Camera with OEM integration (vendors will hate me)~



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      11-20-2018, 11:22 PM   #903
smassey321
Captain
117
Rep
730
Posts

Drives: 2009 X5d - 2006 325i
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Ponte Vedra Beach, FL

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by lnxguy View Post
Correct. Without PDC you'll need to select different values and see what works.
Made some progress. PDC menu is now coming up when reverse is selected but no camera image yet. After about 5 seconds a box darker than the rest of the background appears where the camera image goes. But no camera despite selecting a bunch of different RVC_wert values. Is this dark box a clue of any kind? thanks
Appreciate 0
      11-21-2018, 10:42 AM   #904
smassey321
Captain
117
Rep
730
Posts

Drives: 2009 X5d - 2006 325i
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Ponte Vedra Beach, FL

iTrader: (1)

Pictures of the 2 different screens below. Black box appears after 5 seconds on all werts except ones that end in 4. (04, 14, 24, 34 and 44)
Attached Images
  
Appreciate 0
      11-21-2018, 10:45 AM   #905
brettcp
Private First Class
United_States
37
Rep
168
Posts

Drives: 2012 E93 M3
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: So Cal

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by smassey321 View Post
Pictures of the 2 different screens below. Black box appears after 5 seconds on all werts except ones that end in 4. (04, 14, 24, 34 and 44)
You may want to double check your camera wiring.. it looks like its wanting to display the video feed.
Appreciate 0
      11-24-2018, 04:53 PM   #906
smassey321
Captain
117
Rep
730
Posts

Drives: 2009 X5d - 2006 325i
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Ponte Vedra Beach, FL

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by brettcp View Post
You may want to double check your camera wiring.. it looks like its wanting to display the video feed.
I double checked the wiring and the rca on the long camera cord was actually bad. I cut it off and soldered on a new wire. Now I am thinking I am home free but unfortunately still getting the same results. I even removed my BimmerRetrofit emulator from my E70 and switched that to E90 mode without PDC and still no image.
Appreciate 0
      11-28-2018, 01:25 AM   #907
christoepurrr
Private First Class
6
Rep
108
Posts

Drives: BMW
Join Date: May 2015
Location: So. Cal

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by smassey321 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by brettcp View Post
You may want to double check your camera wiring.. it looks like its wanting to display the video feed.
I double checked the wiring and the rca on the long camera cord was actually bad. I cut it off and soldered on a new wire. Now I am thinking I am home free but unfortunately still getting the same results. I even removed my BimmerRetrofit emulator from my E70 and switched that to E90 mode without PDC and still no image.
I was having the same issue and was looking to narrow down my problem to either the camera, emulator, wiring, or coding.

I ended up plugging an old camcorder into the yellow RCA input plug and was able to receive a video signal, therefore concluding that my camera was the issue.

I have ordered a replacement camera. Will update with results.

EDIT:
Replaced camera today and received the same results. Connected the camera directly to 12v on battery and received video signal. Is my emulator bad? Possibly incorrect wiring from emulator to quad lock harness?

Emulator seems to be functioning correctly as iDrive switches into reverse camera when putting the gear selector into reverse which makes me believe the wiring is correct.
Appreciate 0
      12-03-2018, 08:00 PM   #908
smassey321
Captain
117
Rep
730
Posts

Drives: 2009 X5d - 2006 325i
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Ponte Vedra Beach, FL

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by christoepurrr View Post
I was having the same issue and was looking to narrow down my problem to either the camera, emulator, wiring, or coding.

I ended up plugging an old camcorder into the yellow RCA input plug and was able to receive a video signal, therefore concluding that my camera was the issue.

I have ordered a replacement camera. Will update with results.

EDIT:
Replaced camera today and received the same results. Connected the camera directly to 12v on battery and received video signal. Is my emulator bad? Possibly incorrect wiring from emulator to quad lock harness?

Emulator seems to be functioning correctly as iDrive switches into reverse camera when putting the gear selector into reverse which makes me believe the wiring is correct.
I am at the same point as you. Replacement camera has arrived and still won't display on cic screen. What is frustrating is I can get my dash cam to display on the CIC via the same input but not either of the backup cameras. I just tested the new camera on my X5 CIC and it displays there so that tells me it may be something related to coding. My next test will be to remove the "top view active" and see if that helps. If that does not work I will try the other inputs and wert settings. I tried to compare the config files but there are to many differences between an E70 and E90 plus the CIC are on different software updates. The E90 is on the latest version.
Appreciate 0
      12-03-2018, 08:32 PM   #909
christoepurrr
Private First Class
6
Rep
108
Posts

Drives: BMW
Join Date: May 2015
Location: So. Cal

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by smassey321 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by christoepurrr View Post
I was having the same issue and was looking to narrow down my problem to either the camera, emulator, wiring, or coding.

I ended up plugging an old camcorder into the yellow RCA input plug and was able to receive a video signal, therefore concluding that my camera was the issue.

I have ordered a replacement camera. Will update with results.

EDIT:
Replaced camera today and received the same results. Connected the camera directly to 12v on battery and received video signal. Is my emulator bad? Possibly incorrect wiring from emulator to quad lock harness?

Emulator seems to be functioning correctly as iDrive switches into reverse camera when putting the gear selector into reverse which makes me believe the wiring is correct.
I am at the same point as you. Replacement camera has arrived and still won't display on cic screen. What is frustrating is I can get my dash cam to display on the CIC via the same input but not either of the backup cameras. I just tested the new camera on my X5 CIC and it displays there so that tells me it may be something related to coding. My next test will be to remove the "top view active" and see if that helps. If that does not work I will try the other inputs and wert settings. I tried to compare the config files but there are to many differences between an E70 and E90 plus the CIC are on different software updates. The E90 is on the latest version.
I believe the issue is with the white/12v trigger wire from the emulator. I tested the camera by connecting the 12v wire from the camera
directly into the battery and the camera functioned as it should.

I'll be removing the quad lock harness and double checking all wiring. If the problem still persists, I'll probably just use a relay to trigger the camera.
Appreciate 0
      12-03-2018, 09:17 PM   #910
smassey321
Captain
117
Rep
730
Posts

Drives: 2009 X5d - 2006 325i
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Ponte Vedra Beach, FL

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by christoepurrr View Post
I believe the issue is with the white/12v trigger wire from the emulator. I tested the camera by connecting the 12v wire from the camera
directly into the battery and the camera functioned as it should.

I'll be removing the quad lock harness and double checking all wiring. If the problem still persists, I'll probably just use a relay to trigger the camera.
I have my camera wired to a switched 12 volt source. My emulator does not have any camera power wires.
Appreciate 0
      12-17-2018, 01:49 PM   #911
Br4M
Registered
0
Rep
2
Posts

Drives: E91 325D LCI
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: NL

iTrader: (0)

Emulator works only once every CIC startup?

Hi there, I have succesfully connected everything. However.. the image is only shown when I select reverse the first time.. When I drive for a bit and then select reverse again, the options for the camera are greyed out and no image is displayed..

I have read that a lot of people have this problem, and the possible solution might be winding the CAN wires more tightly. This however does not solve the problem.

Is there something else I can try? Like update the CIC software? Anyone else who had this problem and fixed it??
Appreciate 0
      12-17-2018, 04:47 PM   #912
smassey321
Captain
117
Rep
730
Posts

Drives: 2009 X5d - 2006 325i
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Ponte Vedra Beach, FL

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Br4M View Post
Hi there, I have succesfully connected everything. However.. the image is only shown when I select reverse the first time.. When I drive for a bit and then select reverse again, the options for the camera are greyed out and no image is displayed..

I have read that a lot of people have this problem, and the possible solution might be winding the CAN wires more tightly. This however does not solve the problem.

Is there something else I can try? Like update the CIC software? Anyone else who had this problem and fixed it??
Which emulator are you using? And are you getting the full 12v power to the camera? Reverse lights are 11ish volts and can thrown off the camera signal. The CIC is picky about video signal. I used my dash cam video output hooked to the CIC video input to confirm coding and emulator was good.
Appreciate 0
      12-17-2018, 05:10 PM   #913
Br4M
Registered
0
Rep
2
Posts

Drives: E91 325D LCI
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: NL

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by smassey321 View Post
Which emulator are you using? And are you getting the full 12v power to the camera? Reverse lights are 11ish volts and can thrown off the camera signal. The CIC is picky about video signal. I used my dash cam video output hooked to the CIC video input to confirm coding and emulator was good.

https://nl.aliexpress.com/item/Voor-...fffa4c4d9hkR7u

I have the 12V + hooked up to the rear light (so not the reverse light), - to chassis.
If the power from this light would be inferior, then how do you explain it working every first time I reboot the CIC??
Appreciate 0
      12-17-2018, 05:20 PM   #914
Supra2k6
Lieutenant
96
Rep
544
Posts

Drives: 335i
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: The District

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by smassey321 View Post
Made some progress. PDC menu is now coming up when reverse is selected but no camera image yet. After about 5 seconds a box darker than the rest of the background appears where the camera image goes. But no camera despite selecting a bunch of different RVC_wert values. Is this dark box a clue of any kind? thanks


Where you able to show your issue? Has anyone messed with this emulator plus adding a front camera too?
Appreciate 0
      12-22-2018, 07:47 AM   #915
smassey321
Captain
117
Rep
730
Posts

Drives: 2009 X5d - 2006 325i
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Ponte Vedra Beach, FL

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Supra2k6 View Post
Where you able to show your issue? Has anyone messed with this emulator plus adding a front camera too?
My camera is working now without PDC. I had multiple issues up to this point. The camera wire was broken at the last RCA plug so I had to cut it shorter and re-wire. My CIC retrofit is my 2nd display device in this car so the camera was 2 years old. The wiring for the ebay camera is super thin.

I then had a bad ground in the trunk. Once again, super thin wire. Both my test monitor and the previous dash display would ground the camera to power it up however the CIC inputs does not ground so it was not powering up when hooked to the new CIC. If you are having issues, test the power for +12v and make sure your ground is reliable.

I used my dash cam as a test video source connected to the CIC inputs. It has it's own screen and allows you to troubleshoot the CIC wert with fewer variables.

I don't have a front camera. The high end emulators have a separate box that allows multiple inputs. While the CIC has multiple inputs, I think only one can be used for backing up.

The emulator I used looked like the one linked below. If you open the box, there are jumpers you can solder to enable different versions of the PDC or RVC. That may be why some users have trouble when they don't have PDC. I played around with the jumpers and got an old E70 emulator to work in my E90.

https://www.ebay.com/itm/Retrofit-Ad...ii5:rk:15:pf:0

And finally not all ebay cameras are the same. I am on my 4th one now. Not only do you need the tiny connector to fit through the tube into the trunk, but the wire needs to be long enough on the camera to connector to make it all the way. This one has the small connector and also enough wire length. https://www.ebay.com/itm/281474833928

Last edited by smassey321; 12-29-2018 at 11:41 AM.
Appreciate 0
      12-28-2018, 05:28 PM   #916
lnxguy
Captain
153
Rep
859
Posts

Drives: 2009 335D
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Barrie

iTrader: (1)

So just an FYI to those guys without rear PDC. I installed this in my parents 2010 335d (without PDC) today and everything went off without a hitch. Before I installed the camera itself I pulled the NAV unit and spliced in all the connections to make sure that the emulator and the camera worked. I did all the coding beforehand as well. I used the same coding as I did for my car with PDC. It's all outlined in the very first post. RVC value also stayed the same at 23 and worked fine. One thing I did do was solder all my connections and made sure to keep the CANBUS wires nice and twisted.. I really didn't find a need for that harness some people use.

Pro tip, red wire coming from the long cable that you snaked underneath the moulding to the rear and connected to the camera itself is NOT USED. Behind the passenger side bolster (Of a e90 sedan anyhow) there is a grounding block as well. Use this for your ground wire on that same cable. For the rubber accordion connection from the trunk lid to the car, use a coat hanger with a bit of soap. Disconnect the accordian hose at both ends and make sure it's straight when passing the camera cable through. You can also pinch the middle of the accordion hose which will create a little pocket at the top which makes pushing through your wire + connector even easier. This took me all of 2 mins.
__________________
'09 335D

Last edited by lnxguy; 12-28-2018 at 05:33 PM.
Appreciate 0
      01-11-2019, 09:24 AM   #917
Bmw330
Private First Class
6
Rep
116
Posts

Drives: Bmw 330d
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Uk

iTrader: (0)

Has anyone got any experience with a decent camera?, eBay has them listed from £15 to £60, they look identical!

Is there a quad lock harness adaptor that is long enough to position the connector block away from behind the HU, they seem to be slightly too short (30cm ones) and restrict pushing HU back into place.

Last edited by Bmw330; 01-11-2019 at 10:14 AM.
Appreciate 0
      01-11-2019, 10:26 AM   #918
smassey321
Captain
117
Rep
730
Posts

Drives: 2009 X5d - 2006 325i
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Ponte Vedra Beach, FL

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bmw330 View Post
Has anyone got any experience with a decent camera?, eBay has them listed from £15 to £60, they look identical!

Is there a quad lock harness adaptor that is long enough to position the connector block away from behind the HU, they seem to be slightly too short (30cm ones) and restrict pushing HU back into place.
I bought 3 cameras and returned the ones I did not like. This is the one I ended up on. https://www.ebay.com/itm/281474833928

Regarding the quadlock adapter, when properly installed, one end will be at each each end of the CIC. The CIC will slide in because the quadlock plugs will be to the right and left of the rear of the CIC and only with wires will be behind it.
Appreciate 0
      01-11-2019, 03:30 PM   #919
Bmw330
Private First Class
6
Rep
116
Posts

Drives: Bmw 330d
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Uk

iTrader: (0)

Ah thanks, ill get the adaptor harness, they seem to be about £15, Iím assuming any 40 pin quad lock will do?, some do say nbt and some donít, are they wired to the same pins?

The autofocus camera one has recently gone up from £28 to £38 over the last few days, I did enquire with them and the price went up! Typical

Did you get their emulator too? I think itís around £42 at the minute. Did you have any issue with yours?, it appears some are hit and miss.

Thanks

Last edited by Bmw330; 01-11-2019 at 03:53 PM.
Appreciate 0
      01-11-2019, 05:21 PM   #920
smassey321
Captain
117
Rep
730
Posts

Drives: 2009 X5d - 2006 325i
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Ponte Vedra Beach, FL

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bmw330 View Post
Ah thanks, ill get the adaptor harness, they seem to be about £15, Iím assuming any 40 pin quad lock will do?, some do say nbt and some donít, are they wired to the same pins?

The autofocus camera one has recently gone up from £28 to £38 over the last few days, I did enquire with them and the price went up! Typical

Did you get their emulator too? I think itís around £42 at the minute. Did you have any issue with yours?, it appears some are hit and miss.

Thanks
If I were to do it again, I would just get the emulator and tap into the wiring. You need to cut 2 wires. https://www.ebay.com/itm/CIC-Retrofi...AyK:rk:12:pf:0

If you don't want to cut wires. Get this. https://www.ebay.com/itm/CIC-Retrofi...frcectupt=true

I did not buy my emulator from them however it looks exactly like what they are selling. They reply to emails which is better than other China ebay vendors.
Appreciate 0
      01-12-2019, 03:46 AM   #921
Bmw330
Private First Class
6
Rep
116
Posts

Drives: Bmw 330d
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Uk

iTrader: (0)

Thanks,

Iíve just dropped them an email to confirm that this will fit as it says no returns, iíve also noticed that combined harness/emulator has two blue clips in the quad lock connector (as per nbt adaptor harnesses) ?, and some other adaptor harnesses donít.


Iíve just confirmed with them (very quick at getting back to the customer) and it will fit, so ordered that and the camera £98......thanks

Last edited by Bmw330; 01-12-2019 at 08:44 AM.
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
reverse camera

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:47 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST