E90Post

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BMW E90/E92/E93 3-series General Forums > Regional Forums > UK > UK Off-Topic Discussions > Ask a CBT therapist anything...

11-17-2016, 01:32 PM   #1
Soul_Glo
Major General
United_States
Rep
Drives: G20

Ask a CBT therapist anything...

I have worked for the NHS as a Cognitive Behavioural Therapist for more than 10 years now. Prior to that I also worked as a counsellor in the voluntary sector. Even a Mental Health Nurse.

I have even suffered from depression myself way back as a teenager.

Feel free to ask me any questions about depression, anxiety etc. I will do my best to answer them.

Rules. Don't air your personal mental health on here if you don't feel comfortable doing so. No competition with anyone else as pain is subjective. If you use examples don't make anyone identifiable and try not to use personal examples.

I can offer advice/answer general questions the best I can but no quick fix or cures. For a personal response drop a PM - sorry I can't provide online counselling. I am sure that would be against forum rules anyway.
Appreciate 0
      11-17-2016, 03:04 PM   #2
mob17
Major General
United Kingdom
Rep
Drives: E92 335D

Whats the most depressing story you've heard from a patient?
Appreciate 0
      11-18-2016, 12:47 AM   #3
Soul_Glo
Major General
United_States
Rep

This one lady I worked with last year suffered from PTSD. She had fled Syria and sought refuge in the UK. On her journey to the UK she was trafficked as a sex slave. She eventually broke away from the gang by moving to a different part of the Germany and then making it across the French border. She reported that in prison in Syria she was made to watch her daughter being raped (12 year old). The next day her daughter was sold in a sex trade market for $5,000. She was separated from her family when she fled - the family became split when the village was under attack. She managed to escape from prison.